We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, wonderful holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, wonderful holiday.”
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We have just returned from a one week holiday with friends which was thoroughly enjoyed by all of us. We arrived after the all inclusive had closed but the Hotel had laid on salad and cold meats along with bottles of wine which was much appreciated. Our bedroom was very nice, clean and had a balcony with a beautiful view over the mountains and a partial view of the sea. We were amazed to find that all drinks were included on the all inclusive, even though the brochure stated 'local beers, wines etc'. All premium brands were available, almost everything you could ask for, including an excellent cocktail list, no flavoured syrups used at all, they were made as they should be. The food was excellent, breakfast was a bit basic, bacon etc if you wanted a hot breakfast or croissants, cakes, breads, jams, cheeses, cold meat. Breakfast was eaten on a terrace with beautiful views, what better start to the day could you ask for. Lunch was taken at the poolside restaurant, a wide choice available, pastas, pizzas, chicken, hot or cold sandwiches, salads etc. If you wanted wine you got a bottle and it was nice wine too. The evening meal was taken in the main restaurant which was a beautiful place to eat, there was a buffet for salad / vegetables and a choice of 4 starters and 4 main courses, desserts were from a buffet. The main courses always included 1 fish dish and 1 vegetarian option. Every meal we ate was really nice, well cooked and very tasty. All the waiters were very friendly and helpful, we could not fault anything at all throughout our stay. We have stayed all over the world in all inclusive hotels and this has to be one of the 'best value for money' ones there is. The only thing we think which could be improved is the pool area, this could probably do with sprucing up a bit, it was a bit dated, new toilets needed there. We did see the pool being cleaned each morning when we sat there for a while before we went for breakfast. The water was very clean to swim in, I have been in far worse pools than this in the Caribbean. The pool area was a very peaceful area to sunbathe, the only sound to be heard was the church bells from the local village and the crickets/birds, absolute bliss! Also the evening entertainment could be better, the music was geared up towards the elderly Italian guests. Our Rep Sam was excellent, always seemed to be there, she was very helpful. We took the shuttle bus into Sorrento a couple of times with no problem at all, just had to book the times you wanted at reception the day before. It runs from 7am to after 11pm - so plenty of scope. All in all an excellent choice of Hotel - doing half board in the present climate is a definite No. We will most certainly go back, but stay for 2 weeks next time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jandrYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,312
    327
    90
    28
    22
See reviews for
62
1,455
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

we loved it, what a fantastic package we booked a 1 week break with first choice and we have to say it was great value for money, drinks 10am till 10pm, wine and beers given by the bottle,any cocktail (all very nice i have to say), the food was exceptionally good, the pool bar had the snacks at lunch time, and the main restaurant in the hotel is where you sat and had your dinner in the evening, the service was fantastic and the food was to a very high standard, we never had the same meal twice. people did tend to get dressed up some more than others!, but you are on holiday so you can please yourself, (men did have to wear long trouser, they will not let you in if you have shorts or cropped pants on)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyhomemanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

This is a very remote hotel up in the mountains 15-20 min drive out of Sorento it is very clean and very pleasant. I would not rush back as it was sold to me as an Adult only holiday, yet it was full of Italian children as well as some English children, I've nothing against children however it was just that I fancied to get away from them for one holiday of the year, having got three of my own. This hotel boasts All inclusive yet on arrival we were told the bar is prescriptive to times and insists you pay full price for any drinks after 10pm, a rum and coke for example is 8 euro's 50 so not cheap after 10pm, they do not seem to unerstand the concept of A.I as make you sign for everything as well as wear a wrist band. If you are wanting Wi Fi or to use a mobile phone do not go here as getting a signal is very difficult and usually your phone says 'no net work'. The meals are not buffett and there isn't much choice, Its the first time I have lost weight on an A.I holiday. The shuttle bus has to be booked the night before you want to go to Town and some times its not available, so take plent of money for taxi journeys to and from Town the relaxed feeling of pottering about is taken aways from you when you have to catch their bus at their times. The swimming pool would not meet our normal health and saftey standards, its made of concrete and has a wide tide mark round it, never saw it being cleaned during the whole stay. At least no one was aloud to save sun beds, if anyone did, the manager removed the towel and took away the bed, he often told people off for this. There is no shop in the hotel either so please make sure you have everything, as it could be days before you can get it. We, as well as many others were bitten to bits so make sure you have mozzi repellent. Not good entertainment in the evening the man playing the organ knows 4 cords, so take an ipod or other DVD device, and cards, books ect. You don't need beach towels they are supplied in the hotel, so you can save on baggage weight, they are very strict with it so if you plan to buy souveneers fly out lighter than you need as they will charge you for 1oz over weight. The airport is really poor, its not organised as most. This holiday is not for the faint hearted or the claustraphobic, I am very claustraphobic and I think this is why I felt trapped and opressed here, if you are going here research it fully as I think its over priced and over rated, give me a Greek Island any day of the week, where you feel really welcome by the people.....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oriflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Nastro Azzuro for 1 week at the end of June on the First Choice all inclusive package. We booked this hotel after reading the many positive reviews from other on this site and can only echo their findings.
The hotel is excellent, spotlessly clean with efficient helpful staff, food was varied with full choice of hot and cold buffet breakfast served on the outside terrace if you wanted and a choice of starter and main course with buffet salad and desert in the main restaurant each evening. A lunch menu of pizzas and pasta was served in the open air poolside restaurant each day if required. A full range of local drinks was available each day from 10am to 10pm from each of the bars and restaurants included in the all inclusive package which is essential with a simple lunch for two costing around 30 euros and most alcoholic drinks costing approx 7 euros.
The mini bus into Sorrento ran frequently and was always on time and also part of the all inclusive package which again makes it a must as we came back from Pompei early one day and were quoted 25 euros for the same journey in a taxi!
The only negative point is that if like us you like to go for a walk in the evening after dinner this is pretty impossible as the hotel is situated in very rural country above the main town and the roads are not really safe for walking especially after dusk so you can feel a little trapped in the evening.
Overall an excellent relaxing hotel but the First Choice all inclusive package is a must.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaldonsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Set in the mountains away from the noise and bustle of Sorrento is this haven.Mini bus will take you to town if you desire, and always prompt, just book your travel time the day before.
Food is very good and all inclusive is amazing,(considering the cost now of drinks and lunch)The staff are helpful and nothing is too much trouble.Especially Carmine , head barman.
On a main bus route for Positano and Amalfi (if you purchase your tickets in advance)
We have stayed in the Capodimonte, The Royal. Villa Maria and the Bristol for the last 20 years but none of them compare to the value and serenity of the Nastro Azzuro. we are sold on this hotel and have booked for another 2 weeks in september. Can't wait !!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindyloucoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

It's the first time I've ever written one of these reviews but I felt that this hotel deserved praise overall and that others should know what good value for money it represents. We travelled with First Choice on an all-inclusive package. Although we arrived after midnight, we were made very welcome. The reception staff were friendly, efficient and very helpful. While our bags were being taken to our room, we sat down to a meal of cold meats, etc and wine.
Throughout the week the meals were consistently good; breakfast has a wide choice, hot and cold; lunch were served by the pool and consisted of hot and cold(pizzas, pastas, sandwiches, salads, etc). Dinner in the evening had a buffet followed by pasta and meat.
We had a good-sized room with four poster and sea view balcony.
All-inclusive ran from 10.00am to 10.00p.m. when all additional food and drinks were free.
The reception staff continued to provide an excellent service throughout the week. They genuinely enjoy it when guests attempt to speak Italian, but their English is sufficiently good to deal with all enquiries.
Travel to and from Sorrento can take up to 30 minutes, depending on traffic. The shuttle is regular and reliable.
If we return to this part of Italy we will stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cnewman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

I travelled with my husband for a weeks holiday. We had never been all inclusive before and thought it was great value for money considering the quality of the food and the local prices being expensive. we upgraded to a sea view and had an amazing room with 3 balconies in the newer building, it was worth the money to sit out with a glass of wine early evening!
The location was stunning with a beautiful view of the mountains and sea. however, when the weather wasn't so good we were right in the clouds because it was so high up. The shuttle bus was a good service but you had to book it the day before or early morning otherwise it would be full at the popular times.
We took the Pompeii excursion and Herculaneum full day trip which were both well worth the money and the tour guide was extremely knowledgable. We also took the amalfi drive day exursion which they call the mama mia tour as its so high wth winding roads, but is beautiful!
We only came across one miserable staff member all the rest were friendly and polite. The hotel food was very good and there was plenty of it. Diner is served in a lovely dining room and main two courses were waitor service which is unusal for all inclusive.
overall, a lovely holiday and I would recommend this hotel and resort to my friends and family. The only thing i would say is that I would be reluctant to go out of season due to the weather being so high up.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoltonClayworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
3.3 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
2.4 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
2.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,055 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#19 of 100 in Sorrento
1,256 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro

Property: Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 20, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro And Occhio Marino Resort
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Piano Di Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing