We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and through the Thomson website and we stayed for 11 days. I have to say we were delighted with our choice. The hotel is about an hour and half from Naples airport by coach transfer. The transfer is not for the faint-hearted though as the roads leading to Sorrento are very narrow at places. The hotel reception on arrival was excellent. We were greeted by the hotel staff who asked us for our names and then handed us some champagne and invited us through for dinner. Service and food is where this hotel really excels. All the staff were helpful, friendly and took a real interest in making sure we were looked after. For example, there were none of the pizzas left at the lunch buffet that I'd taken a fancy to. A few mins later, a freshly made pizza arrived on our table. On another occasion, completely out of the blue, we were handed a freshly made calzone to try by the chefs. The relationship between the staff and the hotel residents was excellent throughout and these little attentions to detail made the whole experience feel very special. There was never any shortage of food and the quality never dipped at any point. The dinner was part buffet for the antipasti and deserts, but a more traditional sit down meal for the primi pasti and secondi pasti. The bar was well stocked and being all inclusive we overall never felt hungry or dissatisifed like we have done on other all inclsives. Our room was very Italian with intricate tiling and a four-poster bed. We think this is two hotels put together and we were in the Occhio Marino part, so we can't comment on the main hotel rooms, but we liked our room which had a nice view of the sea from the balcony. The walls are just about thick enough, but the bed was comfy. The poolside was fairly typical of most resorts but being adults only it was much quieter than other resorts we've been to. There is a bus that heads to Sorrento on a regular basis and we would definately recommend visiting, especially after hours as they shut the roads to traffic and kept the shops open late. Not sure if it was for a festival or a regular occurance but nevertheless enjoyable. Overall, we loved this place and had an amazing time. We truly believe it is worth 5 stars and can thoroughly recommend it. We have said that one day we would like to go back.

Room Tip: Occhio Marino rooms seemed to have a better view of the sea, were closer to the pool and away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashishakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,026 - 1,032 of 1,857 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

this is a thomson's all inclusive couples resort,the value for money is excellent, the quality of food
is outstanding and the staff really do go the extra mile. We have been twice this year which speaks for itself and found the standards consistently high..Wonderful views from the hotel terrace and sunset bar, endless superbly made cocktails and refreshing draught peroni, excellent resident bands and wonderful theme nights all add up to a great break

Room Tip: choose a room with a large balcony and a chosen view, but to be honest you spend such a small propor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Having read so many excellent reviews on here I was slightly worried that we would be disappointed as our expectations were rather high, however we have nothing but praise. The highest praise has to go to the staff - very friendly, very helpful but also very professional. Special mention to Angelo, Gio, James, Carmine, Giovanni, Jo and Daniella! Not only that but that there were always plenty of staff around so you never waited around to get service and they certainly weren't stingy with the food or drink! We liked the fact that most nights the first and second courses were served to you although there was always plenty of extras, buffet-style, should you want it. We did have one or two meals (in two weeks) with which we were underwhelmed but generally enjoyed it.
Although the hotel is quite a way from Sorrento itself, the free hotel minibus was very reliable. The number of attractions to which there is easy access (eg Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius, Amalfi Coast and, our particular favourite, Capri) means that a week is not long enough - go for longer if you can possibly manage it!
The standard rooms are quite small but they are nicely decorated with very large beds. The rooms in the Occhio Marino annex are spacious.
We met several people who were return guests and didn't hear anyone with any real grumbles.
It was the first time we had been on a package holiday with Thomsons and were impressed with everything. Jane (rep) and Georgia (activities) seemed to always be on hand and were happy to give advice on all sorts including how to get to places under your own steam, ie not just pushing the Thomsons' excursions.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have read most reviews about the Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro, first impressions on the hotel were good, we were allocated our room that we asked to be changed as it was situated next to the lift so we were upgraded to the annexe as the main hotel was apparently full.We felt happy there so settled in to our holiday. Visitors to the hotel give it great reviews but I have got to say generally there is a great deal that can be improved there. I found the staff around the pool bar very good and attentive.Food on the lunch buffet was ok, salads unimaginative, the pasta was undercooked and tasteless and some of the cooked meat/fish was overcooked by a young chef. Dining room experience, nice to have the waiter service on an A/I but menu quite repetitive, meat and fish often overcooked and dry and very little vegetables / potato choice. Desserts seemed to be fresh fruit or cake based desserts. Wine offered was abysmal except for the dry prosecco. The evening entertainment was in the outside terrace that had side covers as it was quite cold. It was very draughty in the bar area and music from the terrace loud which made having a chat with friends difficult. There was no area just to relax in if you felt like it.
Breakfast on the other hand was very good with plenty of choice. Do take your own coffee though as the hotels is undrinkable.
Our room/bathroom was kept very clean throughout our stay with linen & towels changed regularly. Not sure about the main hotel but in the annexe the walls / ceilings are not sound proofed so we were disturbed quite often.
Overall a friendly, nice hotel but probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hakoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay and had the most relaxing, wonderful hospitality. Aside from the nearby attractions and beautiful scenery, the hotel is set apart from the town, perched high up in a peaceful location, but on a local bus route enabling you to get to Positano, Amalfi etc without too much strain. The bars are well stocked and the food was heaven, it was particularly nice to be seated and have a meal served to your table in the evening rather than the usual buffet rush. It seemed everything worked seamlessly with care and attention to detail but without being stuffy. It is a very special type of hotel, made nicer by the fact that locals come to enjoy the cuisine as well, surely that is recommendation in itself?

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Sarahandthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed in the Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro at the end of May 2013, not much more to add from previous reviewers. I would say that I won't necessarily recommend upgrading to a room in the annex, we had every sort of weather, rain, hail and sunshine so walking between the two buildings you had to have a coat or an umbrella, also the path ways are a bit uneven if you are wearing heels.
Despite the weather we still enjoyed ourselves, Sorrento is lovely and the mini bus between the hotel and Sorrento is an added bonus. We came back on a Monday and we thought it would be nice to be able to go to Sorrento in the morning as we didn't fly back until late evening, but there is a restricted service on a Monday so were unable to do so unless we got a very expensive taxi.
We would go back to Sorrento, but wouldn't necessarily stay at the Nastro Azzzuro only beause of the location, which for us was a bit limiting.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkyandtheBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel for 2 weeks in July for our honeymoon, and it was truely amazing. The hotel itself is stunning with beautiful gardens views over the Bay of Naples and amazing food. Loved the bar area in the hotel too. Drinks were of good quality and you had plenty to choose from, if your cocktail of choice wasnt on the menu the staff were more than happy to make it for you. I really couldnt recommend a hotel more and we will definatley be returning in the future!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe_Newell1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
3.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
2.3 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
3.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Hills
Hotel Royal Hills
#5 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
167 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,366 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro

Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 20, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range: $113 - $1,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro And Occhio Marino Resort
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Piano Di Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing