We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, fantastic staff = best holiday we have had!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Where to begin?......We had been trying to decide for sometime where to go on holiday. Whilst looking through brochures we came across Nastro Azzuro and from that moment on we were sold on booking our holiday, our only reservation was that we are used to holidays where we go walking up mountains for 6hrs or more so we were not quite sure how we would find Nastro Azzuro due to location but the more we thought about it the more we wanted to go. So we booked our holiday, kept reading reviews and got a few mixed messages about the hotel but as we always say everybody has different opinions.

After what felt like forever our holiday to Italy finally arrived and as previous reviewers have mentioned Naopli airport is nothing special but our experience was fine and didn’t have to wait long for luggage. From there we had a problem free journey on the coach with Thompson rep Ben pointing out various landmarks & providing information about the area. We arrived at Nastro Azzuro and was over whelmed! Fantastic first impressions of the hotel, reception / terrace area. Once we had checked in we were advised our luggage would be taken to our room, which would be ready at 2pm but in the meantime we were presented with a complimentary drink and then we were taken to the area by the swimming pool for lunch where we were greeted by the charming Carmine.

Once we had lunch we returned to reception and was given key & directions to our room. Not knowing what to expect as we paid for standard double with balcony, we were so pleased with our room, it had mountain view, was very clean, we couldn’t have asked for better. Some reviews have mentioned not clean and small but we didn’t find this at all.
So once unpacked (one point I will make is not many hangers in wardrobes) we decided to have a look around the hotel & the grounds and it was amazing.

Some reviewers have mentioned that the sunloungers by the pool & the towels are worn, we did not feel there were any problems with either of these and as for weeds by the pool (which I did not see), when I go on holiday I do not look closely for things like that I am there to enjoy my holiday. It has been previously mentioned that the pool is cold, we went end of September/beginning of October and yes it was cold when you first get in but once you have done a few lengths (I of which done 60 most days) you overcome the cold, then you can either lay in the sun or pop to the garden area where there are 3 lovely hot tubs!

I didn’t want to make this review too long, but there is so much to say about this brilliant hotel: the food is fantastic, so be warned you will put on weight! The drinks are lovely, especially the cocktails, Peroni & Prosecco. What really amazed us about this hotel was the hours that the staff work, they are all amazing, hard working, polite and are a credit to the hotel. They all know how to treat you with respect and make you feel welcome & relaxed. The service at evening meal time was something we have never experienced, being greeted by Angelo or Giovanni and escorted to our table and then there is the most fantastic waiter we have ever met, Claudio, who really made our mealtimes a joyous occasion and lit up the room with his smile, charm & sense of humour.

Another thing we experienced which we hadn’t done before was that the Thompson rep Jane was at the hotel nearly everyday to answer any questions you have that the hotel staff are not able to help with and then there is lovely Georiga who is at the hotel nearly all the time and does a fab job with organising things such as the theme nights, boules, dance class, tai chi, yoga, Italian lessons, Pizza making and a brilliant photography walk to name just a few things!

There have been a few comments about the entertainment – Harry & Ellie we thought were brilliant and we wish them every success with their new adventure! There was also local Italian singer’s who were good and then not forgetting the lovely waiter Gio who treated us to some brilliant singing.

So to sum this holiday up after our initial doubts about if we would enjoy such a relaxing holiday – the answer is YES, we cannot fault this amazing hotel and especially the staff who made our holiday so special. For those of you that are wondering if to book your holiday at Nastro Azzuro, do not hesitate! We enjoyed it that much we are going back next year for our 15th wedding anniversary, but this time we are going for 11 nights and not just 7 nights because we loved it. Thank you very much to all the staff you are best!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barsamsoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,858)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,858 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week from the 7th October. The weather was variable and we encountered some very heavy rain & thunder storms throughout the week which literally put a damper on some days! If you choose to stay in the hotel on rainy days there is limited indoor space, so it's either the hotel lobby or your room. It felt as if the patio heaters could have been used more as they are under a covered terrace!
The pool has some lovely views but was simply too cold to swim in (although a few people braved it)! Food at the poolside bar is fab, especially the pizzas and pear ice cream.
Staff throughout the hotel are friendly and helpful and always have a welcoming smile.
Our room was in the annexe, spotlessly clean with beautiful views out to sea. It's a shame the weather wasn't a bit better as we could have made use of the balcony with table and chairs.
There is a free mini bus running into Sorrento at various times throughout the day which is great as it is a 20 minute drive into town and not walkable. The only draw back is it needs to booked in advance which leaves you little room for spur of the moment plans!
There is plenty to see and do in the area from shopping in Capri to a historical tour of Pompeii.
We met a group of great people in the hotel which made the evenings fun and very enjoyable. Entertainment is put on every evening as well as activities during the day. 'Switch' were pretty good, however the other evening band left a lot to be desired (so good I can't even remember their name)!
Overall a good week away with some highs and lows due to the weather which I fully understand is not in the hotels control. I would therefore recommend a holiday here early in the season.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Roose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Set high up a mountain side that gives you views of the bay of Naples and the bay of Salerno, the position is superb if not a bit isolated.
The Hotel runs up to 2 courtesy buses, Free during the day, 1 euro in the evening. These will take you to a central point in Sorrento, at regular times on a 7day a week basis.
The Hotel ( which started life as a Convalescent Home) is set in extensive grounds, there is a large swimming pool which is surrounded by numerous sun beds and a large covered area with pool bar. this doubles up as the area were Lunch is served on a daily basis. Talking about food, Breakfast ( 7 to 10.30 am ) consists of various cold meats, cheese and various other fare, including, Bacon -Sausage-Beans- Mushrooms. Eggs are cooked to order.
Lunch ( 12 noon to 2.30pm ) has a vast array of BBQ`d meats and fish, pasta, salads, freshly made Pizza and yes Chips, Yippee !!,
Dinner ( 7 to 9.30pm ) is a far more formal affair you can choose from around 5 starters ( or serve your self from the salad bar ) and around 6 main courses which are served by the waiters.
The Hotel is a Thomson Couples Hotel and therefore there are no children.
The staff, on the whole, are pleasant and very friendly.
All the bedrooms are modern and are kept by the cleaning staff in top condition. You may want to take note that the rooms are of different sizes and in one respect we were surprised, after paying for a Superior Room, it was small and only had a shower in a very small `bathroom`.
All together it is a Very Good Hotel, just 2 things to take into consideration.
A. It realy is `Out of the way` up a mountain.
B. The average age of the guest`s when we were there were around 50.
Would we go again, Yes without doubt.

Room Tip: Rooms 138 - 238 and 338 are the smallest. But other bigger rooms still only have a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SteveHLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel is set in the Sorrento mountains, with beautiful views. All the hotel staff were very friendly and the food in restaurant was excellent. If you fancy a change of scene the hotel runs a shuttle bus into the centre of Sorrento (1 euro each), which we used on a couple of occasions as the hotel entertainment did get repetitive.

My only complaint was the room. We upgraded to a superior room, however after checking in we thought the hotel had made a mistake by allocating us a standard room. The room was quite small, with a tiny balcony that backed onto a path with a couple of shrubs. We contacted reception and they confirmed that our room was a superior as it had "garden views and a coffee machine" I wouldn't recommend booking a superior room, as it was a waste of money. Apart from that we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Booked through Thomson website after having personally received very good reports. Stayed Friday 4th through 10th October so the weather is always going to be a gamble anywhere in the Med at that time. Flights fine, Naples airport is an experience, especially the Terminal 2 hangar baggage reclaim with the interesting "mobiles". Transfer fine and as good as the roads allow.

Welcome and check in fine although you have to wait until 2pm for entry to the rooms. Room (142) despite the contemporary, stylish décor was simply too small, the door almost opened onto the corner of the bed (I've stayed in bigger budget chain hotel rooms) in parts dirty especially the heater. Huge balcony over the main reception area with rattan table & two chairs, however single plant pot full of weeds. Despite the fantastic views afforded it just did not feel 4 star. Complained and was moved on the Monday after consulting floor plan and being allowed to view the room first to 226 which was fine, despite tiny balcony.

All the social spaces were totally fine with good quality décor, the furniture and artworks in the corridors and lift lobbies, albeit period worked in well with the contemporary update the hotel has received.
Having spent last two Thomson breaks in Sensatori Mexico and Tenerife we did not expect this to be anything like the same standard but in many aspects the little things could all have been made much better with not a lot of additional effort or expense.

The bad - price of the Thomson excursions, the limited international drinks choices, pool towels all worn and seen better days, as were the poolside bed covers, grounds looking tatty in many places, lichen and moss growing on paved areas in gardens, rattan beds with visible mould on covers and soil splashed from heavy rain and cloud cover (you are at 300m altitude after all), no flowers among the general greenery, the flies around the pool area, various areas under utilised or not used at all.

The good - food generally was of a good standard and wide choice, the pizzas at poolside are to die for and they will make your preference if you ask, the views are simply stunning, the entertainment Switch, Lello & Carlo (and bar staff),

The Very Good - the staff, (restaurant, poolside restaurant, bar staff) seriously they really make it feel as if you have known them for years, they are very attentive and the service is just spot on, you are never made to feel as if you should tip them and throughout they were an absolute pleasure, in no particular order we salute them.

Angelo, Carmine, Giovanni, Gio, James, Jo, Massimo, Pina, Valeria, Stefano, and the remainder who are too many to mention however last but certainly not least Georgia who single handed provided the Thomson events team service, despite the poor weather (mostly cloudy) she kept a good vibe going throughout with her friendly and energetic programme of events (Italian lesson recommended)

Room Tip: The rooms overall were a bugbear with many guests due to the significant variants on offer so advice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12dart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have just returned from the best holiday we have ever had, celebrating wedding anniversary & aspecial birthday & we could not have asked for anything better - it was beyond all expectations. The food was always beautifully presented, plentiful & of a very high quality at both lunch & dinner. We had room 508 in the main building which was huge & kept exceptionally clean by our delightful chambermaid. But our thanks must really go to the staff who really pull out all the stops to make sure everyone is made to feel special - especially Giovanni & James, & a very special thank you to Georgia, down to her encouragement I did Tsai Chi, Zumba & boules for the very 1st time. We will never forget what a wonderful time we had.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie17_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for our wedding back in September 2012.
The hotel staff were very accommodating - i needed to re-print my table plan due to a last minute change and reception were happy for me to use their computre and printer, my maid of honour spent the night before the wedding with me and my husband to be stayed elsewhere, my mum joined us for breakfast in the morning and our wedding planner Rosaria (Thomson) was lovely.
The hotel is set in very picturesque surroundings and we enjoyed every evening. The singers were great, the waiters provided table service for evening drinks and i liked that everyone made an effort in the evening.
The age group was more 40+ and we are late twenties but it meant that it wasn’t rowdy and people knew how to behave.
My mum used the spa for a pedicure on the morning of the wedding and enjoyed the experience.
Our room was a little small espcially when i had to get ready for my wedding in it and it would have been nice if the Thomson wedding package included an upgrade but that is not a reflection of the hotel.
Not a massive hotel but i think this is what made it so perfect.
We plan on returning for an anniversary in the future :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building with the modern rooms and a huge balcony - which was acutally bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsN1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
3.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
2.3 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
3.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Hills
Hotel Royal Hills
#5 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
167 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,366 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro

Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 20, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range: $112 - $1,117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro And Occhio Marino Resort
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Piano Di Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing