We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Nearby Hotels
Fiori d'Arancio(Piano di Sorrento)
$65
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Royal Hills(Piano di Sorrento)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Antico Casale Russo(Piano di Sorrento)(Great Value!)
$95
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Albatros(Piano di Sorrento)
$111
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Klein Wien(Piano di Sorrento)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Hotel Cosmomare(Piano di Sorrento)(Great Value!)
$96
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Soleluna(Piano di Sorrento)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,880)
Filter reviews
1,880 results
Traveler rating
1,379
347
98
33
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,379
347
98
33
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset barwaiter servicepool areacourtesy busthomson repthe main hotelevening entertainmentpizzasuperior roommood lightingour honeymoongreat holidaysaladfantastic hotelall inclusive hoteltwo weeksa la carte
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,094 - 1,099 of 1,880 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have just read the review on the Nastro Azzurro by Angelpod. He/she refers to the hotel being better suited to "oldies"! Well, I gotta say that my wife and I are both in our early fifties and do not consider ourselves to be "old and grey". Quite insulting actually because we could certainly give these guys a run for their money! We have been to this hotel three times over the last five years and are in no way ready for the slippers and cardigans just yet!!! We love this hotel and if Messrs Angelpod had done their research correctly, they may have decided that they would have preferred to stay in Sorrento. The whole point of the Nastro Azzurro is to give the best of both worlds....If you want to relax and chill, no problem. If you want to go into Sorrento or on trips, these are easily arranged. You can't please everybody but really, you just cannot fault the Nastro Azzuro and all the staff. We are certainly going back there next year!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wishbonegaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband & I have just returned from a two week holiday at this hotel and I can honestly say that I don't think we have ever felt quite as chilled out and relaxed any where else before. We had done a great deal of research into the hotel and the area before we booked, so we did know exactly what we were going to get - we wanted complete relaxation and we got it.
For convenience I'll break up the review into sections...
1. Thomson flight - well worth paying for extra legroom, makes the journey much more comfortable. Flight out was approx 2hrs 15, flight back 2 hrs 50. Naples airport is unique!! Arrivals are into a large aircraft hanger type building with only passport control, toilet and luggage belts within. All very adequate, but basic. I'd advise you to use the loos before you head for the coaches as transfer times can be long depending on the traffic. We took 1.5 hours to reach the hotel. Departures are very different and as other reviewers have said, they do limit the number of coaches arriving at any one time and you will wait your turn in a 'holding area' for anything up to 1.5 hours depending on how busy the airport is - there are bathroom facilities here whilst you're waiting with your coach. Large departure area with numerous shops, eateries etc. very modern and a stark contrast to arrivals!!!
2. Hotel is about 15 mins above Sorrento and does benefit from some glorious views. Good views from the sunset bar, but if you're staying in the main building and have use of the sun terrace, the views from up there are spectacular and are well worth seeing.
3. Hotel is split into two main parts and we stayed in the main block on the 3rd floor. Our room was of an average hotel room size, partitioned area with good wardrobe and draw space which then led into a good size twin sink bathroom. Large twin shower with waterfall shower heads. All tastefully decorated with a modern feel in creams and pale blue. Flat screen tv with 4 English language channels, safe (free), and fridge which was replenished with bottled water every day. We did find the aircon a bit loud at night so generally turned it off overnight and opened the window instead. If you do this, make sure your nets cover the window as the Mosquitos are ferocious!! I would advise taking a plug in mosquito killer for your room. We didn't have a balcony and although initially we would have liked one, we were glad in the end as it meant we could keep the mossies under control!!! You will need to use insect repellent yourself in the evenings, or if you decide to sit in the outside bar by the lobby if it is damp during the day. Most people we saw had a number of insect bites.
4. Food - you really could eat yourself into oblivion!! Breakfast was buffet style and had all the usual fare you would expect. We ate breakfast just one day before realising we were never hungry in the mornings after the food the night before. Lunch - served in the pool side out door restaurant and consisted of a different meat each day cooked on the spit, a variety of lovely pizzas, hot and cold pasta, salads , grilled meats and fish, with gelato and a variety of cakes or fruit if you still had room. All of an excellent quality and taste.
4pm each day afternoon tea is available in the lobby with a selection of cakes to choose from. You can also have a toastie in the afternoons from the lounge bar.
Evening meals- the hotel make a huge effort for the evening with a number of themed nights each week. These were a lovely touch which we both thoroughly enjoyed. Food is in two parts with a buffet and menu service. You ordered your starters and main meal from the menu which changed every day, then whilst waiting for them to arrive you could have whatever you wanted from the buffet. Desserts were also buffet style. Every night we ended up having 4 courses and I am certainly paying for it on my waist line!!! The waiter service in the evenings is such a difference from other all inclusive hotels and does make it feel more of an occasion. Men must wear trousers for the evening, but any type of trouser will do, some gents wore jeans. Ladies tended to dress up which was lovely, but again some did and some didn't.
5. Staff - for me, the staff are the highlight of the hotel. They really do seem to go out of their way to make sure you have everything you want or need. Angelo and his restaurant staff are excellent - the waiters are extremely efficient and friendly and we particularly enjoyed being looked after by Claudio who liked to have a laugh and clearly seemed to love his job. Genaro was a new waiter who started while we were there and after a few days he was excellent too. All the staff speak good English and do appreciate it if you try a little Italian - even if its only reading the menu to them whilst ordering!! The bar staff work extremely hard and our thanks go to Gio and James who looked after us so well. The lady who cleaned our room each day was lovely and always gave us a wave when she saw us; Roberto who lended the pool worked tirelessly and always had time to say hello. Every member of staff really do look like they enjoy what they do, they all make a huge effort and are a credit to the hotel and management team.
Jane the Thomson rep was always visible and chatty, and Georgia the entertainments lady was hilarious and really tried to make sure everyone enjoyed, but without putting any pressure to join in any of the activities.
6. Evening entertainment - this was the only bit I would change a little. Resident duo Switch were talented and could sing etc, but they did get a little repetitive after 14 days. Our favourite were the two Italian gents who sang twice a week. They were excellent and generated a real party feel where everyone was up on their feet. I would have preferred to have seen more of them during our stay.
7. Trips - we only did two Thomson trips; the Amalfi Select trip, and the half day Herculaneum trip. We thoroughly enjoyed the Amalfi Select day. It was expensive at £108 each but well worth it. Positano was breathtaking, Amalfi was spectacular but our favourite stop was Ravello which felt like a medieval film set. You will see views that will stop you in your tracks. A day worth doing, and much more comfortable as a small group instead of being on a large coach - worth noting that the big coaches are unable to stop in positano. Herculanium half day was interesting, but we would have preferred longer at the site. It's half day as it takes 1.5 hours to get there each way, plus you have pick ups from their hotels enroute. We only had 1.5 hours at Herculaneum and after the guided tour, which was good, we would have liked some time to wander around on our own. You have to pay 11 euros each to enter the site on top of what you pay Thomsons so really the £70 we paid was for transport and the guide.

All in all this was an excellent holiday and I would recommend it to those wanting complete relaxation, good service and great food and drink. There is plenty to do for those that want it, both in and out of the hotel, but if you want to chill, read and do nothing, this hotel is ideal. I know some people have not been happy with the size of their rooms, but in all honesty, how long do you actually spend in them? This is not a hotel like those you see in the Caribbean. In this part of Italy space is a premium and anyone who did any kind of research would know that the hotel is on the site of an old monastery which does kind of dictate the lay out. Whilst we were there there was a good mix of age ranges, from those in their 20's to those in their 70's. There were a number of weddings whilst we were there and although the hotel is branded as a couples hotel, it should really be branded as 'adults' as these large wedding groups were anything but couples. Just before we left a large wedding group arrived with a number of young girls in their late teens, early 20's, which was fine, but we had chosen this resort partly as it was a couples only hotel.

To summarise.... Fantastic location, fantastic staff, great hotel and great food!!!
Take mosquito repellent.
Take Travel sickness pills for any trips - Amalfi coastline roads are VERY VERY twisty. You will need them!!!
Hotel has LOTS of steps so may not be ideal for those who have mobility issues.
Just go - you will not be disappointed!!!!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank walesholidayaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I had an amazing week staying at the Nastro Azzuro in April.

The hotel is set in the hills above Sorrento so has an idyllic hideaway feel to it but there's a regular shuttle bus when you want to visit Sorrento.

The food was fantastic, unlike most all inclusives you get a menu and dishes served to you at your table. However there is also a buffet of other dishes to try. The only thing that let the food down was the choice of desserts that weren't really my cup of tea. But I did enjoy the tiramisu and there was always fresh fruit. The highlight of the food was the night the chef served a whole leg of beef and carved it at the table, very impressive!

The pizzas and BBQ at the pool side was also really enjoyable and they had delicious gelato for dessert. Breakfast was the usual buffet type food, which I'm not too bothered about, but they also had a chef making pancakes and omelettes to order which were really good. There was fresh blood orange juice to drink which was amazing!

The staff were amazing, all of the waiters and waitresses were really helpful and friendly. There were quite a few staff with quite quirky personalities and they all seemed to be having fun so there was a really good atmosphere.

The bar was a really nice place to hang out and the cocktails were really good. There were plenty of waiters serving and all of the cocktails were included in the all inclusive.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic holiday or a relaxing break.

Room Tip: I stayed in the annex, it felt a bit deserted and weird in the foyer of the annex but the room was really big with two big balconies with nice views. I didn't see the room in the main hotel. There is a walk from the annex to the main hotel with quite a few steps, but this meant it was quiter away from the bar were there was usually a band on.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RexThompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

What more can I say except that this has to be one of the best hotels to stay at if you want to get away from all the hassle and noise. It has first class staff who will do whatever it takes to make your stay the best it can be, from Angelo and his team at the restaurants to the informative and friendly staff on the front desk, to the staff who clean the rooms and keep the gardens looking like paradise, nothing is too much trouble and you are made to feel like visiting royalty. This is a place for those who hate the thought of nightclubs and would rather while away a day with a good book or a quiet chat. It is relaxed and well away from any nightlife. Be warned, there are steps to the pool, the whole complex is on the side of a hill giving commanding views of two coastlines, not suitable for those with walking difficulties. You will put on a few pounds, the food is some of the best I have ever tasted, and the wine flows like water. Well done Nastro Azzurro you get the blue ribbon award from us.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annex appear to have large balcony's, but then you need to be fit to manage the steps for breakfast and evening meals
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SwindonTiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed for the third time in August ....what can I say except that it just gets better and better. The staff go to so much trouble ...especially on the theme nights...Italian night where the whole restaurant is moved to the pool and moved back again...Food was fab, service from all the staff from reception to the cleaners was outstanding! Entertainment was excellent....The only criticism is that people were reserving sun beds with towels, despite a notice stating this was not allowed. On several occasions beds were covered with towels for hours on end with no sign of the owners! We did several trips and although very expensive were excellent! The cruise around Capri highly recommended. The sunset bar is wonderful with stunning views..I can't wait for my fourth visit!

Room Tip: Occio Marino is nearer to the pool and the rooftop bar is a wonderful start to the evening before dinner.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackieortega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews