We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week at the Nastro Azzuro... what a wonderful experience. This hotel has exceptional views, superb facilities and the most incredibly attentive and experienced staff. This was our first experience of all inclusive and it couldn't have been better... the food was outstanding and the service impeccable. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here - they're so friendly and work incredibly hard to make sure your holiday experience is a memorable one. The rooms are well equipped, large and comfortable, with lovely little touches, like a complete espresso maker and towels shaped into swans and hearts by the maid! We stayed in the annexe, which has a lovely Sunset Bar on the roof providing pre-dinner drinks to music and is closer to the pool and gardens - although we would have been just as happy staying in the main building because the whole resort was beautiful. The provision of a regular shuttle bus to Sorrento town ensures you don't feel too far away from the action - the journey is about 20 minutes and you have fabulous views all the way there. Will definitely return to the Nastro as we couldn't fault anything about it.... SUPERB!

Room Tip: Annexe is quieter than main hotel - evening entertainment on the terrace goes on until 11.30ish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,241
    318
    85
    28
    22
See reviews for
59
1,381
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great location, high up in the hills above Sorrento (the photographs really don't do it justice!). Our first holiday without the children (a couples only hotel), also our first ever 'all inclusive' experience. Did we enjoy it?....yes we did! No screaming children (and their parents) larking about, in and around the pool, with lovely Italian food and drink available all day which resulted in a super atmosphere in a super setting! Would we return to this hotel?....yes, definitely! Difficult to single out any one member of staff (they were all so good), but Georgia (part of the Thomson's entertainment team) really stood out from the crowd. Well done!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardHU17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I returned to the Nastro from the second year in a row, the first time we have ever returned to a Hotel. This is without doubt one of the best hotels either of us have stayed in. The food is very good and plentiful. The staff are probably the best I have experienced anywhere, very friendly and extremely hard working.
On our first visit we were on the ground floor of the annex and our room was large and airy with a large patio area. This we were again in the annex but up on the second floor. The room was again of a good standard and spotlessly clean, however it was much smaller. I think if we had been staying longer than 7 days, we would have asked to move. Our balcony made up for any disappointment with views to die for. On our last day we used a courtesy room in the main Hotel and I have to say it was even better. Should we return again we will be requesting a room in the main building.
The average age of guests is easily over 40 but in my opinion this makes it all the better. If you are after loud music and rowdy nights of drinking, then the Nastro certainly is not for you. The whole idea here is relaxation.
This years singing duo were not quite to our taste, but you can't please everyone!
Thompsons offer a wide variety of excursions, but be warned they are in my opinion over priced. If you can be bothered to sort out your own trips you will save a small fortune.
The Hotel is a little way outside of Sorrento in the hills, an absolutely great spot. Travelling into town is by courtesy bus which you have to book, which can sometimes make it a little difficult if you fancy a spontaneous trip into town. Taxis are allegedly very expensive.
Overall we enjoyed our second trip very much. We would return but probably in a few years time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandSharon62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have just returned from our third visit to this hotel. The setting is beautiful and perfect for those who wish to relax. We stayed in the Annex and our room was large and airy. The cleaning staff did an excellent job every day and cleaning standards were excellent. As we had been before we knew what we were getting. However, there were some changes since last year.

The main entertainment was shocking, TNT, singing most of the same songs day after day, one in particular shouted the lyrics constantly even though it was obvious he had a good voice. It seemed they had been thrown together, I am sure as individual entertainers they would be fine but they just didn't 'go together. The nights local singers Lelo and Carlo came in were much better.

The food was always presented beautifully but the quality was not as good as last year and was generally the same every day but served slightly differently, food was generally better when they had pool side events in the evening.

Staff have always been friendly and helpful on all our visits but this year some staff were friendly to the point of it being an embarrassment. There is a difference between being friendly and efficient and being 'over the top' to the point of trying to avoid them. Normally waiters would serve you drinks and I have to say Fabio, James and Gio were great and kept us all supplied with what we needed, however, when busy, we went to the bar ourselves to get drinks. Sadly, sometimes, we were left waiting despite being at the bar before other guests who were served first, why? because we saw certain guests tip the barman each time!

This is an absolutely amazing hotel, in a beautiful setting and with dedicated staff, but may be losing their identity. We feel they are trying to cater to the expectations of what they think English holiday makers want rather than what we have experienced previously, genuine Italian hospitality!

Will we go again? probably not, time for pastures new.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whippy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here June 2013 for 2 weeks .... pure bliss!
The hotel is fabulous, decor,food,location.........but best of all the staff are fantastic.
Carmine,Giovanni,Angelo,Pina,Stefano,Georgia ...the hotel owner should be very proud of you guys(too many fantastic staff to mention ...especially in the main restaurant). You are the main reason we have already booked again for next year.
There has not been a hotel i've been to who's staff ensure your every need is catered for.
From Giovanni and Angelo greeting you each meal time,ensuring everything is perfect...to the staff at the pool area and bars ensuring yr glass never hits empty!! Fab :))))
Have to say this place feels like a 2nd home....actually chill 1000% .

Thomsons.....really hope Georgia is here 2014.....real credit to yr company.
Already counting down to 2014......

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alfie20122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from the Nastro Azzurro, we only stayed for one week, it was not long enough. We had a brilliant time, from the moment we entered the reception to the moment we left, we were treated so well. Our room was lovely (a little dark) we had a garden from in the annexe. Room 406. The food was more than plentiful,as was the drink. The staff could not have done more for us, they knew exactly what we drank, so we didn't need to ask. Carmine and Angelo stood out above everyone. Georgia who organised the entertainment went about her job with a lot of enthusiasm. We went on 2 organised trips, both were the select ones, the one to Pompeii and Herkulanium was well organised, the guide was well informed and enjoyed her job. The Amalfi select was so good, our guide was very entertaining and the meal was delicious. We have never come home and booked our next years holiday straight away, but we have done just that this morning, but this time we are going for 10 days.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank WraithEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I spent a week here in early July, we don't usually do "package" holidays but for value and the reviews we decided this hotel would be the exception.

The location is out of the way, which we like - I don't like being in the hustle and bustle but close enough to dip in and out as I please. The shuttle bus service is excellent, and as others have said, it was always a pleasure returning to the hotel after a busy day out sightseeing or visiting Sorrento.

We arrived late on a Friday evening, checked in within minutes and was swept off to dinner with a glass of prosecco before we really had time to take in our bearings, not a bad start!

After a peaceful night's sleep, we spent the first day round the pool. Don't think the brochure photos are made up, it really is as it is shown. It did get quite busy, and despite us Brits usually blaming the reserving of sun beds on other European nationalities, you would usually find a queue in the mornings if you were up early enough to care that much about where you sat!

The pool area was immaculate and the staff fantastic, especially Roberto, who always helped me with my badly spoken Italian requests for an umbrella. Lunch round the pool was always superb, really spoilt for choice, roasted meats, barbecue, fresh pizzas, salads and hot choices there really was everything you could want, as well as all the fresh fruit and gelato - yum! We found we often skipped breakfast on our "in" days to have a nice lunch by the pool. The atmosphere is what you would expect, calm and quite, but friendly. The sunset bar is a real must before dinner, a lovely way to spend the end of the day before night time begins!

We arranged some trips via Thomson, they are a tad expensive - The Amalfi select drive actually worked out cheaper for us to have a private chauffeur for the day and a much more personal service for less money was always a winner, we had a lovely driver of a nice black mercedes, much more comfortable than a minibus! We have never been before but found everything we wanted to see in Positano, Amalfi and Ravello without a guide. Pompeii and Vesuvius are a must too!

We also did the Capri day and night trip - definitely recommended - for an extra special treat I would highly recommend dinner on Capri at the Villa Verde - which was recommended to us by the lovely Georgia, Thomsons entertainment rep - it was amazing and a celeb haven by account of the hundreds of photos of its famous visitors outside!

The evening entertainment at the hotel was both original and fantastic - if you are expecting a little cabaret you might be disappointed, Adam and Seb both play and sing and compliment each other's style perfectly. They will take requests and even learn new material not in their current repertoire for guests, I don't think you can ask for more than that. Peforming at the hotel 6 days out of 7, they keep the performances varied, sometimes energetic, sometimes chilled and acoustic, lots of dancing, smiling and singing along from guests of all ages.

It was really refreshing to have evening entertainment as part of a package trip that was appreciated by everyone, I for one shy away from package holidays usually because of the cheesey cabaret style performances - these guys are great, anything from Bruno Mars (Adam sings his songs beautifully), Chris de Burgh to Frankie Valli and U2 they do it all and are happy to have a drink and chat with the guests afterwards - top top guys.

In the daytime Georgia organises all sorts of activities which all guests are invited to attend, it's not rammed down your throat but you are made to feel welcome if you wanted to take part.

Overall what makes this hotel stand out from the rest is the staff, from the maid to the manager they were all exceptional. Angelo and Carmine are charming and attentive, you will lack for nothing in the service department from them or their staff. The bar guys were fab, James, Gio, Gennaro and Arturo always kept the drinks flowing with a smile and a joke.

I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat, as a usually hard to please hardened independent traveller this hotel ticks all the boxes and then some - thanks all of you for making our holiday so special - we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LGB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
3.3 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
2.4 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
Mar Hotel Alimuri
#1 of 7 in Meta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#17 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#10 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro

Property: Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 20, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Piano Di Sorrento
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro And Occhio Marino Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing