We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great hotel, lovely staff”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed two weeks in July. Had a great time. Hotel Room in main block was clean and modern, with good views.

Buffet breakfast and lunch great - the three course evening dinner wasn't so good but still had a buffet also.

Theme nights were good - staff went to a lot of trouble.

The staff were all helpful and friendly - and all had good sense of humour.

The band T'N'T was a bit grating on the nerves - same songs shouted by them daily.

Courtesy bus would have been good if it was frequent - it made things difficult fitting into their limited timetable and by the fact you have to book the bus. Sometimes you don't want to plan every day what time do things. But you will need to plan if you want to use bus - which you have to because hotel is quite far from Sorrento.

Really enjoyed ourselves - lovely holiday xxx

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallye519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,332
    334
    92
    29
    22
See reviews for
64
1,479
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

11 relaxing days here in July. The reviews are absolutely correct...outstanding staff and service; spotless hotel; very good food etc etc.
Just a few points: although there were a few couples in their 20s or 30s, most couples are older. (Not that thus is a negative!). The hotel is very much off the beaten track, so make good use of the excellent Courtesy bus service.
We were in the main hotel in an upgrade room and our flight home wasn't until late evening so we asked for a late checkout. We were offered a free courtesy room (limited time) or €40 to keep our room all day. We chose this option, saving been told we would gave o move to a different room, but we would have it all day. So, we packed up in the morning and took our cases to reception and asked them to look after them until we wanted to use our new room later in the day. When we went to collect them, along with our new room key, mid-afternoon, the staff had helpfully taken our bags up to our new room for s. it ad been cleaned thoroughly with fresh water left or us in be fridge. Not only that, but a pair of shoes I had inadvertently left behind had been put in our new room what service!!
However, it also be us a chance to see a room that was not an upgrade. It was really quite small with a small ensuite. I wouldn't have wanted that room for our entire holiday. Our upgraded room was, however, a ver good size with twin sinks and a huge shower. Definitely worth an upgrade!!
The evening singers "TNT" actually can sing...BUT one of them tends to shout instead of sing! I don't mind the volume, but the shouting was not good!
However, I have to say that I am nitpicking!
Overall, this is a superb hotel for peace and relaxation and I recommend it.

Room Tip: An upgrade is a must-have and if you want a view, try the annex or a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTwoDs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one week at the end of July.We couldn't fault the hotel, the service or the food in any way as all were 5* but the thing we did notice were that the majority of couples were 55+. There were no activities in the day that made you want to get up and go so as an active couple in their forties we were very bored. What would make it perfect would be the inclusion of a gym and maybe some daily activity around the pool to prevent the beached whale syndrome from taking over.

Room Tip: higher the floor means you can't hear the singing duo after 10pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week at the Nastro - first time in all inclusive and couples only hotel - what more could u want! All staff are extremely helpful and friendly, can't do enough for you, they all work so hard to make sure your holiday is perfect in every way. Pool bar and food is great, Sunset Bar is perfect but not open for long enough, only 2 hours in the evening. Main restaurant and reception very good too, especially views from the patio area. Our room was in the Occhio Marino annexe, lovely big room, spotlessly clean but no sea view as it was on the ground floor and the trees were too tall! Only other small critisism is not much vegetarian choice for main meal in restaurant, but there is so much else to eat you certainly didn't go hungry. Several different areas to relax in sun or shade if you don't want to lay by the pool. Hope we can return very soon but for longer next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Northants
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from our honeymoon at this hotel and there aren't enough word to explain how good it is. It has a 4 star rating, but the food and service are 5 star. The service is impeccable and all members of staff cannot do enough for you. The food is amazing with incredible variety. The surroundings are beautiful and the whole setting has a wonderfully serene and relaxing atmosphere. The other reviews sum this hotel up and I echo them all. I cannot rate this hotel and their staff highly enough!

Room Tip: Tell them in advance if you are on honeymoon and if you are lucky you may have a little treat on you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Packman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I'd like to be telling readers that this hotel is mediocre - that way my wife and I can keep it to ourselves. But, can't do that. In any case, the Tripadvisor award for 2012 is a bit of a giveaway.

We arrived late (10pm) after a long day fully expecting not to be able to eat that evening given the lateness of the hour. However, the restaurant staff had stayed on and provided a cold buffet meal (with plenty of wine!) which was much appreciated. It set the tone for the rest of our week's stay as both service and food were excellent.

We had a room in the Garden annex which was away from the main hotel and restaurant but, on the plus side, was closer to the pool facilities. Having looked at some of the rooms in the main hotel, we also thought our own room was more spacious. If we had a criticism of the room it was that it had a noisy air conditioning unit but then we have yet to stay in an hotel that has a quiet one!

Breakfasts were of the usual buffet style supplemented by the omelette station for those who preferred. Lunch, served by the poolside, again, was buffet style but very good indeed. The evening meals provided a changed menu each evening but could also be supplemented with the buffet if so inclined: it could extend a 3-course meal to 5-course with a salad dish and cheese and biscuits. Again, food, service and attentiveness were of very high standards.

The hotel provided a free shuttle bus to Sorrento running at various times throughout the day. The journey time could vary between 15 and 30 minutes depending upon the time and traffic.

Musical entertainment was provided and was of a good standard although not necessarily reflecting the generations of the clientele. At the same time, it was not overdone - in duration or intensity.

Drinks included in the “All inclusive” package were of an acceptable quality (given that they did not include premium brands). Drinks service around the pool (as elsewhere) was good. Perhaps a little more work on the balance of cocktail ingredients would help to moderate the overly sweet taste of many of them (and spare the waist line!)

We’ve stayed in many hotels on holiday and we found the overall attentiveness and level of service at this one to be remarkable. Everyone is considered a special friend/guest and nothing appears too much trouble. We shall be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junctiontwentynine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I and and our best friends were lucky to spend a fabulous week at the Nastro in June.It was a fabulous holiday from start to finish.
Guests return year after year and are treated like family.The returning guest rarely to trip reports apparently due to the fact the hotel will get too popular and accomadation not be available.
We arrived late at the hotel on the Manchester flight.We were met with a glass of champagne and canapes.We were then shown to our room.Then we were taken to the dinning room where a meal had been prepared, cold meats and wonderful salad and breads, along with several bottles of both red and white wine.
Our room was lovely overlooking the garden.The main bedroom area was modern, comfy nad lovely and clean.The bathroom was some what dated and was devoid of grout in places.The shower was over the bath and there was not much room in it I have to say.My hubby is over six foot and medium build but found the shower small.Our room was 122 our friends had 109 and theres had a double walk in shower..
The breakfast in the dinning room were fab, everything you could wish for.In fact all the dinning experiences were first class.Angelo and Giovanni the Maitre D,s were fabulous.They made us feel so welcome.Nothing was too much trouble.
My friend and I even had a boogie with Angelo at the italian experience around the pool one evening.That evening the staff went to so much trouble to decorate around the pool and there was a fabulous buffet with wonderful hot and cold food.Live music was also playing hence the dancing.
We went down to Sorrento on the hotel bus, be advised you need to book in advance and the bus does get booked up.
My only regret was the fact we only went to the Nastro for a week it was not long enough and I was not ready to return home.Oh and the fact we didnt go to the places we wanted as we were enjoying the hotel so much.
All drinks are good quality, the white wine was pleasant.My favourite though being a bloody mary at the bar on top of the Occhio building, the scenery was stunning but sadly the bar only opened for two hours a night.
All in all it was fabulous and yes we are pricing up next year but for a longer stay.
I musnt forget to mention a fabulous little duo called T and T that had arrived a couple of days before we left.We really enjoyed listening to them.
Finally must mention it was my husbands birthday whilst we were there, Angelo organised a cake and a bottle of Champagne for our room and a birthday cake.Our friends also got the same delivered to there room, thought it was a lovely gesture.
Thank you so very much to all the wonderful staff at the Nastro who made our holiday so wonderful

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissylolsuepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
3.3 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
2.4 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
3.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,376 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#7 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro

Property: Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 20, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro And Occhio Marino Resort
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Piano Di Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing