We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont think about it, just go!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dont think about it, just go!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Where to start! this was our second trip here with Thomsons, this time for two weeks, it hasn't changed since we last came in October.

The staff: the staff are what make it here, they are incredible, nothing is too much trouble, always smiling, happy and with a great sense of humour! The rep Georgia is new this year and she is lovely, there are lots of activities etc during the day but we are pool lizards so we didnt partake, we did hear lots of good feedback from other guests on italian lessons, pizza/pasta making and boules. Georgia is very approachable so you if want anything just ask her! she will always try her best to help.

Carmaine is the bar and restaurant manager and runs the show superbly, again nothing is too much trouble and he is always on the go wandering around talking to people, he takes his job to heart and tries to make everything as perfect as he can. Angelo and Giovanni run the main restaurant and are exactly the same, always around working away. The bar staff and waiters are also a great bunch and are always winding each other up despite the fact they all work very hard!

The food: well this place was the death of my waistline and despite being gluten free (this usually spells disaster and bathroom time abroad) i was treated to everything that everyone else got! a real novelty :)
All the food is fresh, well prepared and amazing but Ill break it down just in case you don't believe me ;)
breakfast is bacon, eggs, beans, mushrooms, pastries, an omelette station, meats cheeses, fruit, joghurt, cereal, toast, jams, in short everything! and if they havent got it they will get you it.
lunch is served beside the pool, there is a huge grill and bbq with different stuff every day, meat on spits, fish, salads,veg, pastas, fresh pizza is made, breads, ice cream (all day)
dinner is served in the main restaurant and there is a big buffet which is as well as the three course menu which is on every night! starters are usually pasta dishes or risotto, mains are fish, meat and veg but it varies, there wasnt one night that I didnt find something I liked though. The buffet is also varied but again gorgeous, potato gratin, all sorts of veg, prawn cocktails, salads and lots of puddings just meant there was literally too much every night! (I hope you have willpower, I failed miserably!)

The drinks: the bars are open in the lobby and beside the pool from 10am till midnight, coffees are served all day and so is water, coke etc. served by the glass and whereever you are they do waiter service! a nice touch especially beside the pool :)
The local wine is prosecco and its lovely at night in the restaurant all wine is served by the bottle and we also got a bottle of still water every night. We took the wine out to the lobby or the terrace if we didnt finish it in the restaurant and the staff were fine with it, they replaced it once it was empty as well which was lethal some nights! All spirits here are branded, no cheap stuff! its smirnoff vodka, beefeater gin etc they also do cocktails which we fell foul to, the day after was a hangover pool day! the bar staff are brilliant, mixing it up, dancing away (there is a few impromptu congas!) and generally having fun.

We are 30 and 32 and we had a great time, however although this is a great place its not a 'party' place by any means, its nice and quiet during the day (no music beside pool etc) and the average age is 50 odd, which isnt a bad thing at all but we did see some young couples who thought it was going to be livelier so just in case! there is entertainment at night a really good duo who play some great acoustic sets and some old favourites, a bit of something for everyone and they get people up and dancing.

The hotel runs a free bus down to sorrento which goes regularly, you can book on at reception and it takes you right to the centre, its about 15 mins each way. Sorrento itself is lovely and there are some good restaurants if you choose to eat out, we visited the foreigners club and Di Ginos which were really nice although watch out for service charges! The supermarket also does pretty good bits and bobs (especially if your gluten free) and is reasonably priced, we only bought snacks etc as we rented a car and had a few days out, if you order the night before though the hotel will put you up a great packed lunch.

We had a double room in the main block which was nice, just a standard room with double showers, double sinks etc and a tv with news and sport for the other half. awesome electronic blackout blinds which were controlled by a button, set an alarm these things are lethal! we woke up at 1pm on our first day haha! no problems with it and it did the job for us, you can pay extra to stay in the occhio marino block which we did last year and tbh we liked the main block better as we had noise from the pool last night which woke us up at 7am and there was no blackout blinds over there. Tbh if you want a specific type of room then email ahead and ask and there are different ones and its luck of the draw in some cases, we also got a nice bottle of wine on arrival as they knew it was our second time there:)

We didnt use the spa but again heard good things about it, the pool is also nice and clean and ok to swim in but isnt heated!! it became daily entertainment watching people getting in and the staff also tend to throw each other in now and again!

If anyone has any questions feel free to inbox me I think I have covered most things, like the title says, dont think about it, just go! you wont regret it.

Room Tip: email ahead or its luck of the draw
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank bellewoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,221
    313
    84
    27
    18
See reviews for
56
1,357
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was not disappointed with the quality of the hotel. The accommodation was spacious and in good order.The efficiency and friendliness of the staff was second to none. There were themed nights in the restaurant which were excellent and guests were encouraged to participate. The choice of food was good but I have had better.
The hotel was very remote from civilisation and although courtesy buses were provided, these did not run often enough and the return times were very limited.
We did have a room which was situated under reception terrace. This was quiet apart from early in the morning when all the tables and chairs were rearranged!!
it was disappointing that on departure day, the Spa was closed and because of the pick up time from the hotel, it was not possible to use the courtesy bus into Sorrento. Consequently, this made the last day drag rather.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The reviews for the Grand Hotel Nastro Assurro do not disappoint! From the minute you enter the hotel to the minute you leave you are treated exceptionally well. Our arrival at the hotel was delayed due to horrendous traffic (didn't realise it was a Bank Holiday in Sorrento). However full lunch was still provided with nothing being too much trouble and that set the scene for the rest of the week.

Our room (in the main building) was of excellent quality and very clean and comfortable resulting in the best night's sleep we'd had in several weeks! The food was exceptional and the drinks (particularly the sparking wine and coffee) of excellent quality. The staff couldn't do enough for you and we loved every minute of our holiday.

My only 'gripes' were (1) the extortionate prices that Thomson were charging for the trips; £81 per person to be put on a mini bus to the port and loaded onto a ferry to Capri was unbelievably expensive, particularly when the mini bus is free and the round trip if you do it yourself is around £35 and (2) the hotel is secluded and not really in a location where you can walk to anywhere.

If you're after a holiday full of cultural and culinary delights (and no children) this is definitely for you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leahnarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Current
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were searching for a special holiday for a special birthday treat !

We stumbled on this hotel with the help of a travel agent with only a week to organise

So delighted with the last minute choice

Our room was so special, so contemporary which we loved with the most amazing huge outdoor area & stunning views.

Clean rooms with high quality beds, good bathroom which was also contemporary

Interesting mood bedroom lighting which we liked but still hadn't mastered the switches by the end of our holiday. But entertained us trying to get the hang of it ! TV channels not good tho.

Huge wardrobe space which is ideal

One of the best pools & dining area. . So easy to use. Attractive pool design which I loved & although the water was cold I enjoy that especially when I got so hot sunbathing & it's so helpful with my ucky joints to swim in cold water.

The restaurant was so different to others we have experienced in that it was both buffet & waiter service which we enjoyed, a bit of special treatment. The food was good but not special but plenty of variety to make choices & flexible timings. The bar was attractive & we enjoyed the all inclusive aspect

The evening & day time entertainers were exceptional.. . . So enjoyable & talented!

The roof top bar is an absolute must, the views are outstanding

The bus service into Sorrento was very good free & easy to use

The only negative was my trip to the spa, I didn't enjoy & struggled with the language barrier & didn't rate the facilities as compared to other spas . A real let down compared to the rest of the holiday

But enjoyed the outdoors Pilates classes in gorgeous surroundings. Plenty of relaxation areas including excellent outdoor pool spas.

The Thomson rep was brilliant a local Italian although maybe too chatty if you feeling tired !

Only experienced one excursion to Capri which was a tad costly

Would highly recommend & would relish a return visit

Room Tip: Request a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peoniesat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is one of the best hotels I've stayed in. Situated in the mountains above Sorrento, it offers amazing views from the terrace. I could not find anything to fault. The staff are fantastic and do their best to make sure you have a great holiday. Everyone we spoke to just loved this place. The food was excellent whether it was breakfast, lunch at the poolside or dinner in the restaurant (with lovely theme nights as well.) The grounds, pool and terrace areas are all kept spotless. You can easily get out and about with the use of the hotel courtesy bus which you book the night before or on the day if they are not full .We went to Pompeii and Capri and went down to Sorrento nearly every morning. We had a standard room which was very comfortable. But to be honest we were hardly in our room as the hotel lounge bar and grounds were just beautiful. Evening entertainment by Emma and Pete was excellent with chill out accoustic sets by the pool at lunchtime on several days also. Finding it really hard to think about going anywhere else next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScotlandTulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have recently returned from a stay at this fabulous hotel,so good that we almost don't want to tell everyone for fear that we won't get in next time!
What can we say, an absolutely fantastic location, a team of staff who really are there to make sure that you have the best holiday ever and a really wonderful hotel.
We are not usually people who go back to the same place twice (there is a whole world to discover), but for the first time ever we have found ourselves back on the Internet booking to go back again. Really. It's that good.
We have been on a few cruises, we love the service and have to say that this is the first hotel that we have ever been to that the staff were of the same standard. They are on hand literally every time you look up, whether you fancy a cup of coffee, a gin and tonic, whatever. And they smile, a lot! The Management team make you feel as if you are the most important guests at the hotel, they are warm and friendly, remember who you are from day 1, and touch base with you regularly to make sure that everything is perfect for you.
The rooms are immaculate, the balconies enormous and the views from every aspect absolutely amazing.
The food is beautiful, we travelled with my parents and my Dad isn't a huge lover of Italian food but he found something on the menu every night that he loved. The buffets which are there as appetisers are so incredible that you have to be very restrained, you want to try everything!
I don't think we could stay for more that a week as we would put on a stone without batting an eyelid.
We read about the pizzas at lunch and had high expectations. We were not disappointed, they are fantastic and very highly recommended! If pizza isn't your thing there are grills, salad, you won't go hungry.
Hopefully if you were hesitating about booking, this review will help to convince you. If you want to get away from it all, experience a little bit of luxury for a few days and enjoy great cuisine and incredible service this is the hotel for you. It's incredibly tranquil and all of the guests seem to appreciate that everyone is there for the same reason, to relax and enjoy the peace.
If its nightlife and pool games that you want this is not the place for you!

Room Tip: We opted for a standard double with limited sea view, the view was actually incredible, 180 degrees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LYD12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks at the Nastro Azzurro.
This Hotel sets the bench mark that all other holiday hotels should strive to achieve
If you have booked you are going to have a wonderful holiday
If you are thinking about booking don’t hesitate you will miss a treat.
I would like to thank every member of staff for making it a holiday to remember see you all next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidPendleton08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
3.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
2.3 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
Mar Hotel Alimuri
#1 of 7 in Meta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#17 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro

Property: Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 20, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Piano Di Sorrento
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro And Occhio Marino Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing