We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wet but lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
cornwall
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“wet but lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just returned from a very wet week in beautiful Sorrento. Thought that we would get some late sunshine in during the half term but no such luck!!!! However noone can guarantee the weather but I will definately return earlier in the year to hopefully see the area at it's best. We weren't able to appreciate sitting outside drinking coffee in the pretty streets due to the thunderstorms lol.
We did however mange to see Vesuvius and Pompei on the one dry day and they are both well worth a visit, amazing view of Naples from Vesuvious.
We went with Thompsons and the guide was really infornative but we were very rushed. We found out later that it is very easy to get around Naples by bus and the train from Sorrento takes you directly to Popmei, it is also very cheap. Even though we paid Thompsons for the trip, it doesnt include entro so you have to pay that on top.
The hotel was amazing we had a room in the main buliding no 226 it has a partial sea view. We really liked it as we had a view of the mountain in front of us and a sea view on the side.The balcony was very small but as it was raining we didn't sit out there,
I have to say I loved being able to change the ambience of our room by choosing the different colour sequence of the lights,a real novelty.
We did manage a couple of visits to the hot tubs very early in the morning,,,,so worth it.
The staff at the hotel were so obliging and we wanted for nothing,always service with a smile and they work so hard at all times.
There is a complimentary bus to take you into the town, personally we liked being in a very quiet area but able to go into town if we felt like it.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and I would definately go back. I would like to take this opportunity to thank all staff for a lovely holiday

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kernow52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,221
    313
    84
    27
    18
See reviews for
56
1,357
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Went to this hotel and found that it was like heaven on earth. The food and the staff were out of this world. They spoil you from the minute you arrive to the minute you leave. They are very helpful with any advice on trips or places to see.

Room Tip: Any room is amazing with fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maggiesstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked for half term in the hope of getting some late sunshine and didn't.
The hotel is very good and an honest four star. The location is not great for walks or strolls and it is a bit out of the way too. We found the food excellent with an amazing range of choice at every meal time, the service in the restaurant was superb, polished and relaxed. The drinks were good with Peroni as the de fault beer and Harvey Wallbangers all inclusive, the bar staff would do well to copy the friendliness of the other staff, the seemed aloof and a little disdainful.
Plenty to do and ,although expensive, Contanza made it a memorable trip to Pompei and Hurculeaneaum. We endorse all the good things about Alessandro but also found Clemtine kind and helpful throughout. Her advice regarding Naples and the train was excellent too.
It poured with rain, or thundered and lightened, or blew a gale and we saw the sun twice - for two hours but as the hotel was good ; it compensated. Though late season the hotel staff kept their momentum and their standards.
Our room was a little diasppointing with an indisputable garden view but somewhat sub terranean.Cleanliness was excellent throughout the hotel at all times. We found it relaxing and amicable with nice folk to chat to. I felt abit sorry for the younger folk as the 50 plus were in the majority. We hope we didn't spoil it for you.
Good value for a rare all inclusive in Italy

Room Tip: Go higher up for a better view or pay the up grade if desparate. Tomsons said there were no rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScarboroughRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhu, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here 15 Sep - 1 Oct and it was more than we ever expected.

Our arrival at the hotel was great with food and all types of wine and a lovely welcome from Angelo.

We planned to do pretty much everything that is recommended with the Amalfi Coast and we did it all by public transport; it never let us down and saved huge amounts of money in comparison to the Thomson trips. E.g. Pompeii was 50 euros for the two of us for travel and entry, Thomson was more than this per person. We also did Vesuvius, Herculaneum, Capri, Anacapri, Amalfi and a boat trip which stopped in Positano. I would recommend all of them, although Capri was expensive and disappointing. Anacapri is absolutely the best thing about taking a boat to Capri (definitely take the chairlift!)

The food at the hotel was great at breakfast and lunch, dinner was sometimes not brilliant but perfectly edible and the drinks at the hotel were all excellent.

Our room was genuinely a real let down. The shower was over a tiny bath and really difficult to keep the water within the bath, we were really jealous seeing other rooms with nice big walk in showers! Still, it didn't really mar our honeymoon.

Onto the best thing about the hotel: Carmine. He made the place what it was to us and we were sad to say goodbye. He deserves all the praise he gets, such a warm kind man and alot of fun!

Don't hesitate to book - just do it. Thank you Nastro Azzurro for some wonderful memories.

Room Tip: Anything but 218!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldstream, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed for a week with my husband 22-29th October 2012. Hotel is beautiful, lovely terrace for relaxing in the evening, bar and grounds beautiful. Stayed in Occhio Marrino annexe - had a huge room, with four poster and terrace - we couldn't believe we had a terrace that size to ourselves! Staff very friendly. Great shuttle bus service to Sorrento - which my husband and I used on a regular basis. Met some lovely people at hotel. Only downside is found in restaurant could be a bit bland - could so with a bit more sauce. Lunch at pool bar fantastic, in particular the pizza and breakfast good too. Done a few trips with thomson, capri, amalfi coast and vesuvias/herculaneum - felt a bit rushed and watch for guides trying to take you on boat trips you need to pay extra for! Boat trip round Capri well worth it though! Also, on trips if you take the lunch option you have to sit at table with other people on tour which can be a bit awkward. Just a couple of moans - but on a whole had a fantastic time and would definitely recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and stay in occhio marino block - rooms and terraces are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed for two weeks 10 Aug - 24 Aug had fantastic weather not a cloud in the sky the whole time we were there. We agree totally with everyones positive review of this hotel the service is excellent food is fantastic in the evening with very attentive waiter service and good choice on the menu. The only negative point would be lunch - the pizzas are great but unfortunately the food at lunch time is very repetative the same dishes are out every day! Our room was not hugh (in the main building) but nicely decorated very clean and apart from one occasion the chambermaid always cleaned the room before lunch, unfortunately the patio was not private but the view from the 3rd floor was great. The shuttle to Sorrento was easily booked and Allesandro (thompson rep) tour of Sorrento is a must. We did miss the fact that there was nowhere to walk after dinner but it would not stop us from staying here again. We definately would return to this hotel its a little gem in Italy with fantastic all inclusive food and drink.

Room Tip: No need to pay for a superior room but pay for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalmBayTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here from 19 Oct to 2 Nov, in a superior limited sea-view room in the main block. We booked with Thomson, but flew with First Choice, which was hideously cramped. I don't think I've ever flown on a plane where my knees touched the seat in front of me before, and I'm only 5' 3". It's worth upgrading to extra leg room seats, or ask for adjoining aisle seats so you can at least stretch out one leg.

Guests seemed to all be Thomson guests from the UK, and the age range was 50s and 60s. There were a few younger couples, but not many. The entertainment was okay, but not really our sort of thing, so we tended to migrate to quieter areas in the evenings.

I was very pleased with the room at Nastro Azzuro. The modern decor is really nice, the room overall was a very good size, and it had a balcony facing the front of the hotel with a nice view overlooking the hills in front and the sea to the side. Other rooms in the main block are described as garden view, and these are at the back of the hotel. We only upgraded because we were staying for two weeks, but if I was only going for a week then I'd have been more than happy with a standard room. I wouldn't have wanted to be in the Occhio Marino block, which is separate to the main building and up several steps. It means that when it's raining or dark you have to go outside to get to the only bar open at night and to the dining room. In our second week it rained a lot so it was nice to be in the main block and not have to go outside in the dark and rain to get to our room.

The bathroom comes with shampoo, soap and body lotion (no conditioner). There is also a hairdryer provided. Using the highest setting on the hairdryer you can re-enact what it was like for the citizens of Pompei in AD79. I'd recommend the slower middle setting if you don't want your scalp to melt.

The staff are wonderful in this hotel and provide an excellent service. Housekeeping replenish things like shampoo every day and keep the rooms very clean. The bar staff are very attentive and keep your glasses topped up, and the dining staff likewise - always keeping an eye on when you finish each course and removing dirty plates quickly. Allessandro, the Thomson rep is also really good - I'd recommend his walkabout of Sorrento, which is held on Saturdays and Tuesdays. We didn't have much to do with Clementine, the activities organiser, as hotel activities aren't really our sort of thing, but she seemed very pleasant from what we saw. However, one evening we overheard her commenting to some guests about other guests wearing jeans for dinner. The dress code for this hotel is "gentlemen are kindly requested to wear full-length trousers for dinner". Now last time I looked, jeans are full-length, and the guests who were wearing jeans wore them with shirts/smart tops, so they certainly didn't look scruffy. And let's not get above ourselves here - while this is a very nice hotel, it is just a 4-star holiday resport; not the Hilton. Anyway, don't worry - people didn't get overly dressed up for dinner so don't stress about bringing anything formal.

Usually I research getting around an area before going away and do sightseeing independently. But I had an exam a couple of days before I went away and was also working right up to the day before, so I didn't have chance (or the energy). I just wanted someone to pop me on a coach, give me some lunch, and ferry me around everywhere, so on this holiday we most of our sightseeing through Thomson tours. Don't make the mistake of booking tours before you go away because if you change your mind when in resort, Allessandro can't help you - you have to phone Thomson directly. But if you book once you're in resort then if you change your mind Allessandro can cancel for you. The tours were excellent and the tour guides were all very knowledgable. But I did feel that Thomson were pretty misleading because it's not until you get your tour details from Allessandro that you find out you have to pay extras such as entry costs into whatever site you're visiting. We particularly enjoyed Capri, Pompei and Rome - all had excellent guides. However, if you want to do it indepently, the hydrofoils looked particularly easy to book. And I believe the buses and trains are very easy too.

We had a couples back massage in the spa, which was terrific - I'd really recommend this. The price was good at E50 for a couple, but the paying system is very inflexible. The hotel should revise this. You can't charge to your room, you can't pay by card - you can only pay in cash and it has to be the exact amount as they don't have change.

All in all, a wonderful holiday, a great hotel - highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JTM1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
3.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
2.3 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
Mar Hotel Alimuri
#1 of 7 in Meta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#15 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro

Property: Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 20, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Piano Di Sorrento
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro And Occhio Marino Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing