We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous!!-From Irby Legend(ask Naomi!)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We returned home yesterday(16th Sept) after two weeks-This hotel is just wonderful, from arrival to departure the staff,with NO exceptions, were polite friendly and efficient.The food was excellent and plentiful and varied and the drink flowed freely-all branded! We would not hesitate to recommend this oasis of calm on a frantic, manic coastline to anybody!
Well done Thomson for bringing this hotel up to scratch, keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Sorry, can't comment, we only had one room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank irbylegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,557 - 1,563 of 1,862 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2011

My husband and I have travelled the world and this must be one of the best hotels that we have ever experienced. On arrival at 10.30pm we were tired and hungry and as soon as we arrived at the hotel we were met by very friendly staff, quick check-in and told to leave our bags and that the staff would take them to our room and we were then escorted to the restaurant where they had laid on a beautiful platter of food, bottle red wine, bottle white wine, bottle of water and lovely bowl of fresh fruit - this was such a surprise, we were told just to relax and enjoy and make our way to our room whenever we were ready. All I can say is from the moment I arrived I felt very welcome and chilled out. Our room was also fantastic we were on level 3 in the main building, we did not have a balcony but was given access to a private terrace to which there was a fridge with beer, juice and water fully stocked. The room was bright and airy and kept very clean at all times. The pool was lovely and overlooked the bay with great views, there was waiter service at the pool and nothing was a problem for the waiters. Beside the pool there are lovely gardens to which you can retreat to if you want to get out of the sun and in a shaded area. During the day there are various activities which you can participate in from, aqua gym (take part it is great fun), French Boules, Table Tennis, Wine Tasting, Pasta making Class, Italian Lessons - all great fun. The restaurants were also lovely, there was a downstairs restaurant for early breakfast which opened at 7am for those who had early trips - they also opened early on the days of the change overs so that guests could have breakfast before heading to the airport. The main restaurant also served breakfast from 8am. Lunches were served and were buffet style at the Pool Bar, what a selection from hot meals, freshly baked pizza, pasta and salads and a large range of desserts. Dinner was in the main restaurant in the evening (note men required to wear long trousers) and again the array of food on offer was outstanding, I did not have a repeat menu in the 2 weeks I was there. In the evenings it is very relaxing sitting out on the terrace and listening to the resident gentleman singing some of your favourite tunes. On a Saturday evening they tranform around the pool table to have a barbeque which is a great night againt he food is fantastic. The hotel is in a great location about 15 minutes outside the centre of Sorrento but the hotel runs a free shuttle bus from 8am till late in the evening which was brilliant. Sometimes on holiday you cannot be bothered with welcome meetins but do attend as Allessandro is great together with Nicole who is the events manager as they only take up 1/2 hour of your time. You are then invited to do a walkabout at 3pm in the afternoon again do this as Allessandro takes you round Sorrento with a few treats in store and this gives you your bearings for when you want to go into Sorrento on your own. While in Sorrento we visited Capri, Pompeii which were great trips. My husband was keen to see Naples we had heard that it was unsafe and Allessandro informed us that they did not do any organised trip there but he did say that we could take the boat which takes 35 minutes at a cost of 11 Euros each and then there is only a small walk to the centre - my husband and I decided to do this and it was great, no problems at all as long as you keep to the main streets and do not go off the beaten track. I could go on and on about this holiday as it is one of the best holidays that I have ever had. The staff at this hotel could not do enough for you and every single one of them were always pleasant and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Guests leaving after a week were so disappointed that they had not booked for 2 weeks that they were going back to the UK to rebook for next year. I do not tend to go back to the same hotel as the world is a big place and there are far too many places to see but I shall definitely go back to this hotel as I could not fault anything at all - my husband and I had a wonderful holiday

Room Tip: Level 3 in the main building - some guests who were in the Annexe block complained that there rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank PerthCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We arrived at the hotel to the most fantastic welcome with Naomi and the waiter Daniel, presenting us with spumante and canopes. This was followed by a welcome to the lunch time pool meal and drinks. It was the most awesome of welcomes we have experienced and we have travelled all over the world! We had a very small room (212) which was adjacent to my family. As it was too small we were moved to fantastic rooms. From the word go, the rooms, meals, service, entertainment, cleanliness was excellent. The staff are the most proffessional and freindliest I have ever experienced (nothing is too much trouble). There are fabulous panoramic views from most areas of the hotel. The large terrace is superb to sit before and after the evening meal or even after breakfast. There is a courtesy bus which is a bit hit and miss as we would have liked it ever hour but, there were big gaps between pick up and drop off! Make sure you get to pick up at least 10 mins before as it leaves early on many occassions.
The pool area is superb and only spoilt by a few very loud english northerners that had no manners or consideration to others as did the english wedding party that seemed to forget not everyone was celebrating their wedding (which hadn't even taken palce before we left)! On Saturday nights they had the most superb bar bbq's around the pool with an Italian band, fab food and first class service,
Points to remeber:
Fantastic: Service, food, cleanliness, views, friendliness,pool area, restaurant, staff, weather, if one glass of wine is ordered, you receive a bottle, waiters are brill (except the one that pinched our umbrella whilst we went to lunch, but added to the enjoyment), jacussi's in the wooded area as well as sun loungers and seating for those who can't take the sun, kettles and tea/coffee in the rooms, fantastic showers etc, etc. Also, take in the views on the sunset bar between 4pm and 7.45pm. WOW!
Not such good points: Because of the location some of you would be bothered that you couldn't get out and about without assistance. The Italians are dangerous, mad drivers and the scooters are also a problem. Do NOT step out onto a Zebra crossing without plenty of time as they will not stop!
Capri is a designer shoppers dream but be aware that it is commercialised and the walk is a killer so, take the train to the next level. But the hydrofoil is lovely but busy. The walk down to it however, is also a killer and not for the faint hearted.
The hotel in our opinion is not necessarilary disabled freindly with all the hills and steps and stairs so, be warned.
Nightlife: BBQ night is fantastic and so are the themed restaurant nights. Take plenty of dress gear as dress standards have to be observed. Take black and white for the romantinc meal and suggestive clothing for another evening meal. They pull out all the stops!!!
They have a singer called 'Chris' who, on the first night seemed good but after two or three nights, you need a change and don't get one! It is the first holiday that I have been to the evening entertainment every night and enjoyed myself.
To sum up: We returned yesterday and will book up on Saturday to return next year. That's how good it is! We read reviews before we went and some people were complaining about triviual things. I am a critical person and believe in standards. The only thing that let this holiday down, were the British that couldn't behave themselves!
Fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Bad points: None!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
15  Thank jacs222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were greeted with bubbly, then a meal was ready and waiting as we were late arriving, All very nice touches! Our cases were taken to the room.


What a great place, adults only! Food very good, the service was excellent. The staff are wonderful! Naomi was a great entertainment rep, Peppe and Danny James were great waiter’s. Alessandro was the the best tour guide in Sorrento (must do this when arrive)

All branded drinks, full cocktail list, the bloody Marys are the best I have ever had.

All the Gala evening fabulous, all staff again great so many to mention!

We upgraded our room, very nice but did get to view the standard rooms. They had been refurbished and were lovely and modern. All had tea/coffee making facilities and fridge topped up with water daily. Included in with our room package, visit to the Al la carte restaurant which was really good!

The Aqua Gym with Titiana was good fun, everyone joined in including Naomi, Valeria the events manager and some waiters.
We also liked cookery classes, and various other things going on all day if you wanted to join in!

We met some really nice people, holiday makers and staff. Even the Gardener was friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank debs026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Excellent food especially lunchtime as the food was Italian menu based , the evening meal was good quality but we felt the menu was British based so went did not enjoy it as much.
The bad point was the that on the second day a small amount of money went missing from our room and when we arrived home we also found that a gift we had bought had also been taken. Have reported this directly to the hotel without any response.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mojoNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

on arriving at the hotel (monday evening)we were given drinks and a meal which was a great start to the holiday as arrived in the evening.
we were given a roon key & told that bags would be taken to our room and we were to enjoy our meal before going to our room.

on arrival to our room we were very disappointed to see how smal not only the room but the so called balcony (bearing in mind that we payed for an upgraded room this was very poor ) the balcony was part of the balcony next door seperated by railing , there was a table on our part if we sat there we would be sholder to sholder with our next door neighbours !!.
we had no welcome pack in our room to tell us anything but we did find the reps boad and found that the wecome meeting was the following morning .

after the meeting i spoke to the rep Alexandra regarding the room , he said he would sort it out but no other rooms would be avalable until friday .On the thursday Alexandra showed us several rooms for us to chose one for moving into on friday afternoon.

we picked one and moved in on the friday what a difference , large room with bath and shower and a lovely big balcony , this is when we started to relax and enjoy ourselfs, but we had lost 4 days enjoyment due to the first upset.

the hotel was great , staff were fantastic the bar area was lacking in no of tables and chairs (furniture etc does not match the pictures).

final bit this is supposed to be a couples holiday resort , but there was a wedding party there ,a family and a group of 3 girls ? what next ?

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Hotel was fantastic, wonderful staff, nothing to much trouble. The food was varied and plenty. Rooms lovely and views to die for. Shall return to the hotel without a doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hamble72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
3.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
2.3 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
3.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
1,361 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,374 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro

Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 20, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range: $51 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro And Occhio Marino Resort
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Piano Di Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing