We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family run restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ristorante Zio Sam

Ristorante Zio Sam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
missouri city, tx
Level Contributor
99 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great family run restaurant”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We visted Zio Sam and it was wonderful!! It was the one of only two restaurants we ate at twice. It is the area's low season and we were the only people in the restaurant, ohter than all the family of course! First night they were watching the football game and the second night a game show. They treated us like family and brought us complimentary snacks as we tried to decipher the menu. The standout dish was the linguine with the seafood that is cooked in foil. It was absolutely incredible and I am still trying to figure out how to make it!! The aranchini were also incredible. Some of the best we had in Italy. We did not try the pizza but the locals told us it was great. Do not miss out on this local gem. Do not expect speedy service it is more like family. When I asked for the bill the owner laughed and signaled no, he could tell my husband was into watching the game show! Later after the show he brought it. The house wine was a steal at 5 Euros a bottle.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gwcynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    142
    56
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Mariano at Hotel Mega Mare arranged dinner here for us. The owner picked us up at the hotel and brought us back after. Food and service were great. Food was delicious and very typical of the region.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
118 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT food, service, view”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My hubby and I had the pleasure of dining here for a late lunch. We had a delicious caprese salad and fried, stuffed squashed blossoms, which I raved about. Then the charming owner/manager came over and asked if I liked figs. I shrugged and he brought over a plate of perfectly ripe figs, gratis. We devoured them and again I raved. As we were leaving, he brought out a covered dish of a half-dozen figs, telling me to take them as they were the last of the season. I ate those figs the next day, and will cherish that memory. How wonderful this place is. And the view!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CathyFitz2451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly Italian Experience. Wonderful”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The restaurant was full of locals. An excellent sign. The bruschetta and stuffed courgette flowers were sublime. So much flavour in the tomatoes. The seafood linguine tasted so fresh and amazing. The pizza. Hello! You haven't eaten pizza until you have tried it from Zio Sam. Relaxed atmosphere. Family owned. Smiling faces everywhere and a wee limoncello snifter as a treat from the waiter. We will definitely go back in the next 4 days. Highly recommended restaurant! Couples. Perhaps share each course. Turned into a feast! Really wonderful find. Wait until you see the view from the terrace. Safe to say that my wife and I are big fans of this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Piano di Sorrento, Italy: Delicious food and excellent service in spectacular scenery”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

During our week's holiday in the area my wife and I ended up eating at Zio Sam no fewer than four times (twice for lunch and twice for dinner). We were recommended this great restaurant by the owner of the hotel Mega Mare (which lies a ten minute drive up the road in Vico Equense) on our first night. We were collected by Mighele, who served us that evening. Later in the holiday we came here with a family who stayed at the same hotel as us and also my parents who came later. Zio Sam is situated almost on top of a hill surrounded by fig trees with spectacular views towards Meta, Piano di Sorrento and all the way to the Mediterranean Sea.

Blessed with the beautiful climate and easy access to the finest local ingredients at the highest quality chef Antonino and his colleagues know how to make some truly delicious dishes. Amongst the starters my personal favourites were the Insalata Caprese and Bruschetta. Whilst they are classical starters you can order in Italian restaurants around the world, I found that the access to local ingredients make all the difference. Amongst the main courses I went for the Linguine Cartoccio (linguine with fresh seafood, garlic and tomatoes wrapped up in tin foil) and the Risotto Pescatore. For dessert I can recommend anything with lemon, which locals claim to be their specialty. This can also be enjoyed in their world famous Limincello to accompany the espresso after the meal. To accompany the pasta we usually chose the local white wine, which has a slightly darker colour and fresh taste. In addition to Antonino and Mighele we were also introduced to Pasquale, who is Antonino's brother. He also served us and took us back to the hotel.

After a phenomenal week with four unforgettable visits to Zio Sam I would like to offer my sincere thanks to Mighele, Antonino, Pasquale and their colleagues for looking so well after us and for serving us the best food of the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Zio Sam also viewed

Piano di Sorrento, Province of Naples
Piano di Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sant'Agnello, Province of Naples
 
Piano di Sorrento, Province of Naples
Piano di Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Ristorante Zio Sam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing