We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very charming! Delizioso!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria Arcadia

Osteria Arcadia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Parkville, Missouri
2 reviews
“Very charming! Delizioso!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were very pleased with the pasta entree, a very nice potato pasta, that we had never had before. Price was very resonable and the service was wonderful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kab1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    58
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I visited this restaurant after reading te great reviews on trip advisor. We came on our last night in Piano and had been looking forward to it for days.

Inside the restaurant is atmospheric with a cavern like appearance and an authentic damp smell.

The owners speaks excellent English and, as is often the case with the best restaurants, there was no menu, only the daiy dishes.

I ordered the seafood risotto and my partner ordered the penne with ragu. These would describe as ok. My risotto was fairly bland except for the salty flavour and the we're still not sure if the ragu contained any meat.

For secondi we were offered fish, chicken, sausage or pork. I chose the chicken which I think had been slowly pot roasted in some tomatoes and olives. The meat was tender enough but again the overwhelming flavour was salt. No false advertising at this place, the sausage turned out to be just that, a plain grilled sausage.

Both our secondi were served with greasy, anaemic looking roast potatoes.

With house wine our meal came to 45 euros.

I wouldn't return to this place and was so disappointed after having looke forward to this authentic dining experience all week.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michellew1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unusual but pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

A different dining experience!
Food was great, lots to eat and a VERY reasonable price.
We weren't exactly sure about what was happening when it came to ordering but that might have been our fault for not speaking ANY Italian and being confused with the multitude of courses that appear on the menu. I think I was eating my desert when others were having the main.. but that's OK.
There is only house wine so choice limited to white or red. Don't go for the wine.. it's OK but not for the fussy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClanCannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

There is no fixed menu, the owner/chef will tell you what is available today and you pick from there. We had two pastas, a fish course, an octopus course and they were all great.

Very good food. Do note that they open at 8pm for dinner, which was late for us, but worth it if you can make it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WaiFromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on the recommendation of our B&B hostess on the last night of our stay in Piano, which was unfortunate, because we would have loved to have gone back! We started with the very highly recommended cannelloni, which was amazing. Then Pepe, the owner, asked us what we felt like having. We mentioned that we like seafood, especially calamari, and so he left and then came back with the most amazing tomato and squid dish. We also had a half litre of wine, and the total cost was more than reasonable. There were only two other couples there, which was surprising, one touristy looking and the other definitely local. We can't wait to go back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris_Jo4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Arcadia also viewed

Piano di Sorrento, Province of Naples
Piano di Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Piano di Sorrento, Province of Naples
Piano di Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Piano di Sorrento, Province of Naples
Piano di Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Osteria Arcadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing