We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antico Casale Russo
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This small hotel which is set back up on a hill overlooking Sorrento was a gem to find. We were on the Amalfi coast looking for venues for an upcoming wedding, so our schedule was very busy and it made for an excellent base. Although the hotel is a good 15-20 minute drive to the centre of Sorrento, it was easy enough to get there and although there is no restaurant in the hotel itself, there was a very friendly and superb little restaurant called Zio Sams just a 2 minute walk away. The hotel itself is decorated with marble throughout and was absolutely spotless, our room looked exactly as it did on day 1, each evening when we came back from wandering. The staff were extremely friendly and took the time to chat as well as advise us about were to go and what to see. By the end of our short stay we felt as though we had made some lovely new friends. Taxis into Sorrento were quite expensive, but as a group it worked out okay. Breakfast was a basic continental style, but was just the ticket to set us up ready for another adventure onto the Amalfi Coast roads. Would definitely look to book here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wull_Wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 122 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

It is like walking into a church, or maybe it is because the registration desk IS a marble altar. We really lucked out finding such a beautiful hotel with gorgeous views of the water. It is high up on a hillside, tucked away from the city hustle & bustle. We had our own car & GPS so this is not for the easily confused. Our corner room faced the front and was immense & ornate compared to most places we stayed while touring on our own. We were there during the off season so this great place was extremely reasonable, and we were the only couple there that night. Fortunately, we had grabbed a bite to eat before heading up to the hotel as they did not serve dinner. There was a small restaurant nearby, but, as I said, we really weren't hungry. They did have wine available. We strolled the grounds, sat on benches, & polished off a bottle of wine before heading for a most comfortable nights sleep. I could kick myself for not recording the name of the white wine, though. It was spectacular. In the morning, we had a lovely breakfast (included) & an efficient check out. I must add that we were helped by a friend of the staff to contact & reserve a place for our final destination; very helpful as the place we were going to did not speak English & we did not speak Italian. It was marvelous to have someone kind enough to translate our needs. Love that Italian hospitality! We were made to feel like a king with his queen.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Eledind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Pros:
-Beautiful hotel & very clean.
-Amazing views of the Sorrento bay area.
-Good location for visiting Sorrento, Capri & Amalfi but you will need a car.

Cons:
-Service by some (many) members of staff is pathetic. They simply dont care and shouldn't be in the hospitality business. One young girl was excellent though.
-Breakfast is very poor. Don't expect it to last you through the morning. Staff didn't help though.
-You will have to travel (by car) to get to any decent restaurants.
-If you're staying on Saturday night, there may be a wedding on. A large, late and noisy affair!

Room Tip: A front room with balcony to make th most of the spectacular bay view will be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vet-n-doctor-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I had an enjoyable 3 night stay here in mid-September. For the price you would not be expecting such nice finish throughout the hotel, relatively new, tons of marble everywhere, room and bathroom roomy and well-appointed. Views are just fantastic; we were on the top floor corner room with two balconies, one facing west and another towards the bay. Staff didn't make you feel like family, but were accommodating and helpful enough I thought; no cause for complaint. You would not want to stay here without a car considering the distance from everywhere to where you would be going; with a car you are well positioned to head down to Sorrento, or going the other way over the ridge towards Positano and Amalfi. Elevator not functioning properly when there; get your exercise on the festively illuminated marble stairs instead.

Room Tip: Higher up, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnticoCasaleRusso, Direttore vendite at Antico Casale Russo, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Guest, thanks for your nice review! We did everything possible for a pleasant stay with us. We would like to clarify that leds consume much less than the elevator. We apologize if in those days there were hardships. We hope to see you for the next year. Daniela Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is truly a beautiful hotel, and small, I believe there were 8 or 9 rooms, the view from our balcony was gorgeous, we could see a cruise ship in the harbor. It is about 10 miles from Positano which was gorgeous, and closer to Sorrento although you do need a car or taxi to get to either city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnticoCasaleRusso, Direttore vendite at Antico Casale Russo, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Hi Mrs Laura, thanks for your review e thanks for stay with us! I hope to see you for the next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Found the Casale Russo by accident when touring around the Bay of Naples by car. Just what we needed to find a quiet, well appointed hotel with fantastic views over the countryside and the town. Checked in by english speaking staff member who was really helpful. Upgraded room to a junior suite which was stunning! Only there for one night so didn't come into contact with the owners much but seemed fine enough. There were also some interesting looking agritourismo facilities located nearby but if you want to be on top of the busy resort facilities, this is not for you unless you have access to transport. Driving is not that bad with some patience!

Room Tip: Look at the options, consider negotiating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Sorrento peninsula is a crowded tourist hotspot. The scenery is stunning but the days when nubile Italian film stars could whiz along the windy coastal roads in Alfa convertibles are sadly gone. The roads are narrow, clogged with traffic and scooters. It really is one of those places that tourism has spoilt. If you do want to go there but at least get away from the madding crowd, the Antico Casale Russo is an excellent option.
A restored ancient farmhouse, it sits high up on a hill overlooking the bay of Sorrento. This location and the large terrace means that part of its business is parties for weddings, first communions and other big occasions. The other part is being a small 6 room boutique hotel,
The rooms are spotless and well appointed including a minibar and, unusually for Italy, tea and coffee making facilities. Our room had a double aspect with one window giving a great view of the sunsets over the bay.

Service is friendly and helpful but the staff speak limited English. Breakfast is continental with juices, ham, cheese, bread and pastries. Coffee is excellent. There is no restaurant in the hotel and only one within walking distance - Zio Sam. You can of course get an evening drink and sit on the terrace and admire the great view.

So far so good, but the flip side of being away from it all, even though it's only 3 miles to Sorrento, is that you have to rent a car and that is an adventure in itself.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles_Orleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piano di Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro ...
#1 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
1,860 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Klein Wien
Hotel Klein Wien
#3 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
308 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Cosmomare
Hotel Cosmomare
#2 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Soleluna
Hotel Soleluna
#7 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fiori d'Arancio
Fiori d'Arancio
#12 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Hills
Hotel Royal Hills
#5 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Casale Russo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Casale Russo

Address: Via Creta 16, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range: $78 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Antico Casale Russo 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antico Casale Russo is a charme hotel dipped into the green of Sorrento hills. It is overlooked on the beautiful sight of the Gulf of Naples. Antico Casale Russo was built between the end of XVIII and the beginning of XIX century, in the classical style of Sorrento farmhouses. Nowadays a wise makeover has returned it in his old glory. However it offers all the modern reliefs. Antico Casale Russo is also ideal location for little cerimonies, like First Communions, baptisms, degree and majority parties. Also in this case, we will offer you assistance in all the ceremony phases. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antico Casale Russo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing