We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Read all the reviews before booking this hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antico Casale Russo
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Read all the reviews before booking this hotel....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Pros:
-Beautiful hotel & very clean.
-Amazing views of the Sorrento bay area.
-Good location for visiting Sorrento, Capri & Amalfi but you will need a car.

Cons:
-Service by some (many) members of staff is pathetic. They simply dont care and shouldn't be in the hospitality business. One young girl was excellent though.
-Breakfast is very poor. Don't expect it to last you through the morning. Staff didn't help though.
-You will have to travel (by car) to get to any decent restaurants.
-If you're staying on Saturday night, there may be a wedding on. A large, late and noisy affair!

Room Tip: A front room with balcony to make th most of the spectacular bay view will be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vet-n-doctor-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    27
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
62
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I had an enjoyable 3 night stay here in mid-September. For the price you would not be expecting such nice finish throughout the hotel, relatively new, tons of marble everywhere, room and bathroom roomy and well-appointed. Views are just fantastic; we were on the top floor corner room with two balconies, one facing west and another towards the bay. Staff didn't make you feel like family, but were accommodating and helpful enough I thought; no cause for complaint. You would not want to stay here without a car considering the distance from everywhere to where you would be going; with a car you are well positioned to head down to Sorrento, or going the other way over the ridge towards Positano and Amalfi. Elevator not functioning properly when there; get your exercise on the festively illuminated marble stairs instead.

Room Tip: Higher up, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnticoCasaleRusso, Direttore vendite at Antico Casale Russo, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest, thanks for your nice review! We did everything possible for a pleasant stay with us. We would like to clarify that leds consume much less than the elevator. We apologize if in those days there were hardships. We hope to see you for the next year. Daniela Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is truly a beautiful hotel, and small, I believe there were 8 or 9 rooms, the view from our balcony was gorgeous, we could see a cruise ship in the harbor. It is about 10 miles from Positano which was gorgeous, and closer to Sorrento although you do need a car or taxi to get to either city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnticoCasaleRusso, Direttore vendite at Antico Casale Russo, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hi Mrs Laura, thanks for your review e thanks for stay with us! I hope to see you for the next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Found the Casale Russo by accident when touring around the Bay of Naples by car. Just what we needed to find a quiet, well appointed hotel with fantastic views over the countryside and the town. Checked in by english speaking staff member who was really helpful. Upgraded room to a junior suite which was stunning! Only there for one night so didn't come into contact with the owners much but seemed fine enough. There were also some interesting looking agritourismo facilities located nearby but if you want to be on top of the busy resort facilities, this is not for you unless you have access to transport. Driving is not that bad with some patience!

Room Tip: Look at the options, consider negotiating
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Sorrento peninsula is a crowded tourist hotspot. The scenery is stunning but the days when nubile Italian film stars could whiz along the windy coastal roads in Alfa convertibles are sadly gone. The roads are narrow, clogged with traffic and scooters. It really is one of those places that tourism has spoilt. If you do want to go there but at least get away from the madding crowd, the Antico Casale Russo is an excellent option.
A restored ancient farmhouse, it sits high up on a hill overlooking the bay of Sorrento. This location and the large terrace means that part of its business is parties for weddings, first communions and other big occasions. The other part is being a small 6 room boutique hotel,
The rooms are spotless and well appointed including a minibar and, unusually for Italy, tea and coffee making facilities. Our room had a double aspect with one window giving a great view of the sunsets over the bay.

Service is friendly and helpful but the staff speak limited English. Breakfast is continental with juices, ham, cheese, bread and pastries. Coffee is excellent. There is no restaurant in the hotel and only one within walking distance - Zio Sam. You can of course get an evening drink and sit on the terrace and admire the great view.

So far so good, but the flip side of being away from it all, even though it's only 3 miles to Sorrento, is that you have to rent a car and that is an adventure in itself.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles_Orleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here in the summer of 2010. Family of four with a 6 year old daughter and a 10 year old son. The place is great, but the owners Graziella and Alfredo are even better. They embody the true spirit of the local ancient culture that cherishes guests and makes of hospitality a personal value.

I'm writing this review since I read another one implying that all other positive reviews where 'suspicious'.... Well. If you are looking for a plastic like hotel experience than go to Vegas. These folks are real people and this place is real!

The hotel doesn't have a pool however a staff member drove us to a private club with pool for free! The pool has a bar with an amazing view of the sea, right below the castle. We only paid a small fee to get in.

My daughter went horseback riding at the small center adjacent to the property and had a blast meeting and playing with the local kids.

We are originally from Italy but live in the States. My 11 year old son still talks about his fun bike ride with Alfredo.

Thanks again for a memorable stay. We'll be back. Sorry it took us so long to write a review!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Davide V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

My husband and I have recently returned from a week long holiday to Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast area, where we stayed at the Antico Casale Russo hotel.
Having never visited this area before we chose to make our decision, as we have on many occasions, based on trip advisor reviews. Because of this I now feel obligated to supply my own review to help, in some small way, balance the previous, highly suspicious, reviews.
Although the building itself is a beautiful building set in the hills above Piano di Sorrento, the rooms clean and breakfast adequate, a good hotel needs to be more than a shell.
After reading previous trip advisor reviews I was expecting the staff and service to be exceptional. I was sorely disappointed.
Previous reviews had stated that Graziella, Alfredo et al treat you like one of the family. I would be interested to know which member of the family they were talking about when making this statement, the adopted cousin that you only see once a year? The uncle with the nauseating halitosis?
For one, unless you are fluent in Italian, you will not be able to converse with the staff nevermind decipher their names. We have travelled the world and stayed in many hotels where the staff could not speak any English, however they would compensate for this with a smile, a ‘good morning’ in their own tongue or even some literature about the area in different languages. None of this was the case at the antico casale russo.
To say the staff were rude would be a slight exaggeration, however, they did seem completely indifferent to the fact that there were guests staying at their hotel. Their greetings were never consistent, one morning you would get a 'bonjourno', the next morning you would be completely blanked. The younger man was more consistent, guaranteed to be lying on the sofa smoking and watching T.V with the volume blasting, every evening when we returned from dinner.
Because of the hotel’s isolated position, a car is necessary. However upon reading trip advisor reviews, we learned that the staff would drive you to Piano di Sorrento or Sorrento upon request. When we queried this it was denied with an expression that said they’d never heard of this. When we asked for a map of the area, we were met with the response “maps are no more”. (we were to find out there was a nearby bus…on our last day)
There was only one restaurant within walking distance, and although this was a nice enough restaurant, to go to it every night would have been a bit monotonous. We heard another couple ask if there was any other restaurants that they would recommend. The answer was simply, no.
I believe and hope that these few descriptions of the staff and service at the hotel will help balance the highly suspicious reviews that inspired us to stay at this hotel, and although I do not wish to put people off staying at this hotel (the building and views are beautiful) I just wished to add an honest and unbiased account.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DrRachelGore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
1.8 mi away
Hotel Cosmomare
Hotel Cosmomare
#2 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro ...
#1 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Hills
Hotel Royal Hills
#5 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fiori d'Arancio
Fiori d'Arancio
#12 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Casale Russo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Casale Russo

Property: Antico Casale Russo
Address: Via Creta 16, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Antico Casale Russo 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antico Casale Russo is a charme hotel dipped into the green of Sorrento hills. It is overlooked on the beautiful sight of the Gulf of Naples. Antico Casale Russo was built between the end of XVIII and the beginning of XIX century, in the classical style of Sorrento farmhouses. Nowadays a wise makeover has returned it in his old glory. However it offers all the modern reliefs. Antico Casale Russo is also ideal location for little cerimonies, like First Communions, baptisms, degree and majority parties. Also in this case, we will offer you assistance in all the ceremony phases. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antico Casale Russo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing