We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Secret Garden Relais
Reviewed April 9, 2012

First, it's not a hotel but a true b&b. It is 2 train stops from Sorrento in Piano Di Sorrento. The hotel is an authentic historic villa that has converted the top floor into the secret garden. The hotel and the room was clean and comfortable but still lacked certain items that i think are essential to travelers. Not a lot of detail is given to the needs of the guests. Hallways are dark at night and trying to find unlit lights in the dark is impossible. Bathrooms are clean and somewhat spacious but shampoo is considered soap. As for getting into Sorrento, the train is close but runs only every 30 or 40 minutes, does not run after 930pm, and stops at odd hours on holidays. All in all a good price but be prepared for what you get.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank TWilliamson07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for The Secret Garden Relais
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 256 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

A couple of friends and I chose this so called hotel (nothing more than a B&B) based on reviews that we read here on Trip Advisor. But the stay was terrible - to begin with, it advertised free parking - actually, the parking place is on the street, a public parking and no permit was available. The hotel was about 500 meters from it. The hotel is on the third floor of a 3 story house, and the elevator is turned off. The bed on my friends' room was so wore out that felt like a hammock. In my bathroom there was no soap, just an empty soap box! And the worst of it all: NO HEAT! It was turned off! Since it was very late at night, we slept feeling cold and left the complaints for the next day (there was no one available anyway!). Next morning - breakfast was not, let's say, very welcoming - 2 slices (small) of bread per person (when we asked for more there was none!). They gave us a heater for the second night. However, the plugs weren't strong enough to have these heaters on and so we were out of electricity. When we were taking our showers this morning we ran out of hot water! It was an old lady who was left to take care of the hotel (it belongs to her daughter) - she is a nice old lady, but doesn't even know what Expedia or a credit card is, and to our complaints she said we were the problem, not the hotel! Awful experience!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

It was a right choice. Good balance between cost and service. The place it is in a good environment to rest after tours.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pablomrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This B&B is situated in Pioano Di Sorrento which is really good for all transport links to any of the places of interest in the area and travelling on the train is a very reasonable option.
The B&B itself is very private the room was a good size and the bathroom lovely and clean, we had the bed made and room cleaned every day with clean towels also daily. For what we paid for this B&B we were more than happy with the accommodation bed was a good size and comfortable.
Only one or two very little drawbacks, because the ceiling of the room was very high the noise really travelled and sometimes quite a lot of noise could be heard from the room above us also it was short of some outside lighting as we went in October it was dark early and with no lights outside the gate finding the lock was difficult also going up and down the stair well was a little tricky to, but I guess this would not be to much of a problem if you stayed in the summer

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catto4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We had a really good time in The Secret Garden Relais. Elina was very helpful and friendly, a great person. The villa is authentic and you can feel like an Italian because it's a house with real life. It's closed to Sorrento and easy to reach Naples. Don't rent a car! It's easier and much more cheaper to use public transport. Driving is an adventure and parking is very expensive. The price was really good and we would come back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvaFrankSilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The B&B located in Piano di Sorrento is a very good base for both public transport and car users of visiting the surrounding area. The B&B located in charming 18th century house (keep in mind you need to climb 55 stairs), rooms are clean and have A/C. Service is very good, and everybody is very nice and helpful. Breakfast is nice, although in my optioning changing the bread, and jams to different type will improve the meal.
Train station is 5 minutes walk, train frequency is about every 30 minutes, useful to get to Sorrento (and from there to Capri) and Pompeii.
For those traveling with a car, the establishment does not have private parking, usually you can find public parking place several hundred meters from the B&B. The B&B have parking cards for couple of cars, which they run out in my case, but with help from B&B staff I managed to find parking in free parking places. If you plan to come late from your daily drive, you may need to spend some time looking for near by parking spot.
There are some nice restaurants in walking distance.
All in all I enjoyed my stay at the "Secret Garden Relais" and find it as great base for travailing thru the Amalfi coast, visiting Capri, Pompeii and Vesuvius.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yossi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

This is a splendid B&B with everyone you meeting providing a warm welcome. Everyone is extremenely helpful, which is always a bonus, too. The rooms were much more spacious than I was expecting, and the location, whilst difficult to find at first, is extremely central to Piano and very near the train station. My recommendation would be to get to Piano by train, and it's a 3 minute walk from the Station (Piano Di Sorrento) with Secret Garden Relais signs directing you in. Without these signs, and coming by (say taxi/ bus) you could struggle initially to find it (perhaps get the taxi to take you to station, and you can walk from there?!)

In all, the place was amazing, and the access to Pompeii and Vesuvius (and indeed Sorrento) made for a very good experience! Make sure you get take-away pizza from the local place about 2 minute walk away

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cosmomare
Hotel Cosmomare
#2 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Soleluna
Hotel Soleluna
#7 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Klein Wien
Hotel Klein Wien
#4 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Ripetta
La Ripetta
#8 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
361 reviews
2.7 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
1,774 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Maresca
Villa Maresca
#2 of 27 in Piano di Sorrento
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Garden Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden Relais

Address: Via Gottola 14, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range: $73 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Secret Garden Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a luxuriant citrus grove, The Secret Garden Relais is the ideal destination for those who want to spend their vacation in the Sorrentine peninsula at a relaxing hotel just a short drive away from Sorrento.The pastel colours of the building and the elegant furniture make this hotel in Sorrento an ideal location, especially as it has the cosiness of a private villa – one of the Charme Hotels best offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Secret Garden Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Secret Garden Relais Hotel Piano Di Sorrento
Secret Garden Relais Sorrento
Secret Garden Relais Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing