We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Breathtaking!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piano di Sorrento
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Grotta dei Fichi
New York, NY
1 review
“Absolutely Breathtaking!!”
Reviewed October 16, 2009

La Grotta dei Fichi is unlike any place I have ever been to. I was there in 2006 and coming back I was still amazed at how beautiful it is!! There were 10 of us and there was plenty of room and very comfortable. Pizza night with Vincenzo is so much fun. The pizza is by far the best ever!!! I would definitely love to go there again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Words can not describe the experience you will have at the villa. No one has been to heaven and back. But you can do just that if you visit La Grotta dei Fichi.
Heaven awaits.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bassorick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2009

Grotto dei Fichi is a unique, beautifully furnished villa conveniently located between Sorrento and Positano on the Amalfi coast. The villa is a wonderful base for visiting all of the wonderful sites in the Naples area. There is a gorgeous view of the ocean and an array of plants and flowers that are breathtaking. It contains all modern appliances, a woodburning pizza oven, a swimming pool, a bar, and a meditating area which is most enjoyable. The three bedrooms are very comfortable and additional sleeping quarters can be arranged. Our family has spent six vacations at the Grotto dei Fichi and look forward to returning.

  • Liked — The beauty of the home.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank heidihoNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2009

Nestled high on the side of a mountain overlooking the blue Mediterranean Sea lies the lovely villa, Grotta dei Fichi. My family has been fortunate enough to stay at the villa on 6 different occasions over the past 7 years. We stayed for 3 weeks at a time during the early summer. Everything about this little paradise demonstrates the careful and meticulous detail that the Trapani family put into its' building and decor.

There is a long walkway adorned with beautiful and exotic plants and flowers that brings you to the entrance of the villa and makes you feel that you are truly in a tropical paradise. It continues on to a comfortable outside veranda where you while away the hours sipping coffee, having lunch, playing cards, reading, relaxing on the hammock, conversing with others or just looking out over the Mediterranean to the Li Galli islands that are directly in front of the villa. There is an outside kitchen with a wood-burning oven where the proprietors will come and make the best pizza for your enjoyment. The walk then brings you to an unbelievable pool set in the rock with a bridge to walk over and hydro jets to relax in. If you could manage to take yourself away from this, the walk continues along the mountain to a bar and seating area and ends at a quiet and serene little hideaway.

If you are fortunate to be there when there is a full moon, the scene is breathtaking as you watch it pass over the Li Galli islands as it crosses the sky. On the other hand, the Milky Way is a sight to see when the moon is new.

The inside of the villa is very quaint with antiques and knick-knacks decorating the walls and paintings of Amalfi Coast villages hanging in every room. The kitchen is well equipped except for an American coffee maker that my mom would bring with her. The bathrooms are plenty and there is one upstairs with a view to die for!! There are 3 fully private bedrooms so you could have 3 couples stay there comfortably. Other beds are somewhat less private but are very suitable for young adults or children.

The location is perfect! The villa is halfway between Sorrento and Positano at the beginning of the Amalfi Drive. There are many good restaurants in the area, three being Il Panorama, Zio Sam's and L'Abbrazia on the top of the mountain. Vincenzo, the proprietor, is ready to help in any way to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. He will arrange boat trips and offer suggestions for sight seeing. A cook can be arranged to prepare a fabulous lunch or dinner or you may want to have a fun pizza party. Grotta dei Fichi is truly heaven on earth. A little piece of paradise and a must not miss in your travels to the Amalfi Coast!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark-n-Holly-Ferraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxlinsky
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2009

Once I got back to the States, I tried in vain to describe this place to people. Basically impossible. Here's what I can tell you: It's absolutely one of a kind—nothing else like it in the world. Built right into the cliff, it makes you feel like you're floating. The air is perfectly clear, the views sweeping, and the care and love that went into building the place are apparent at every turn. You can't help but relax.

Oh, and it's got the world's best bathroom. Hands down.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxlinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

UNBELIVALBE!

The best and the most beautiful thing in the world cannot be seen nor touched, but we felt in our hearts!!!

Imagine you are walking along a path carved into the rock.

Below you there is nothing but the sea. Above you only the sky and its watchful guardian: the peregrine falcon. You’re walking through a dream.

Villa Grotta dei Fichi is captivating and will remain a life time memory! and I would love to come back each year.....
This charming Cliff house and the sense of having left such an amazing place does seem to work on the psyche.
The unimaginable Blue Water, the cliff and above all the most UNIQUE VILLA! It is so beautiful that it seems a lost ETHEREAL!!!!
Bravo Doctor! Your vision to create this Villa is beyond imagination. When we walked through the gates, we were awed by the view, the garden and the whole theme of working with the rocks and the cliff!
Hospitality and the warmth of Vincenzo, really touched upon us. We became good friends and felt we were at home. His Culinary Art is amazing. He has a great passion and understading of Italian cooking.
A great experience!
All I can say is A THING OF BEAUTY IS A JOY FOREVER

RITA DALAL
MUMBAI- INDIA

  • Liked — The Unique way it is built. Carved out of a Cliff
  • Disliked — There is nothing that I did not like!!!!!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rita2054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piano di Sorrento hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cosmomare
Hotel Cosmomare
#2 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro ...
#1 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
1,691 reviews
0.5 mi away
Agriturismo Antico Casale Colli di San Pietro
Agriturismo Antico Casale Colli ...
#1 of 16 in Piano di Sorrento
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villaggio Costa Alta
Villaggio Costa Alta
#12 of 16 in Piano di Sorrento
236 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Ripetta
La Ripetta
#8 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Maresca
Villa Maresca
#2 of 24 in Piano di Sorrento
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grotta dei Fichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grotta dei Fichi

Property: La Grotta dei Fichi
Address: Meta Amalfi, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Piano di Sorrento
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive villa rental (sleeps up to 8 people) located on the Amalfi Coast, in a unique position carved from the cliff wall which falls sheer down to the sea. Its location, halfway between Sorrento and Positano (each less than 4 miles away),gives you immediate access to all the Coast’s major attractions. You will enjoy stunning sea views, a private pool, gym, sauna, vegetable garden, sundeck, grotto-bar, pizza oven, concierge service, Wine & Food Experiences. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing