We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piano di Sorrento
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Grotta dei Fichi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I was looking for the perfect, private place for my husband to relax/retreat from a sometimes stressful work environment. I found it in the "Annnex" to La Grotta dei Fichi.

The physical footprint, and the amenities of the Annex are not as grand, or impressive as the main villa, but they are none-the-less most charming, and delightful. It was the perfect place for us. We were able to be completely alone, with an amazing view of the Gulf of Salerno, or, take day trips to Positano, Amalfi, Capri, Sorrento (which we did). The location is perfect for people who want to see the Amalfi Coast area, but not fight the crowds 24/7. The pictures of the main villa, on the website, or the pictures you can request of the Annex, are not misleading. It is everything advertised, and more.

The Annex has all of the amenities of an apartment, AND a spa that overlooks the Gulf, beautiful flowers, outdoor patios, and barbecue grill (overlooking the Gulf), a small vegetable garden for your daily salad. A modern bathroom, wifi, satellite TV, and even a wash machine (if you feel the need to do some work) make this idyllic spot up-to-date.

As everyone who has the pleasure of staying on this property will tell you, Vincenzo will make your stay as easy and perfect as possible, from the planning stages all the way through to your departure. The Villa has been in his home for many years - he knows everything about the area and offers a concierge service to rival none. THIS WAS SO MUCH BETTER THAN STAYING IN A HOTEL!

Room Tip: The Annex does not have a swimming pool or a fitness center,but the main villa does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The villa has breathtaking views, great location and is a true escape from reality! From cooking lessons, home-made pizza, relaxation days to day trips to Capri it's overall a trip of a lifetime! Would return in an instant.

Room Tip: Any room is pretty great! You can choose a room upstairs with spectacular views or a room downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamseCav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thamesford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The beauty, peace and comfort of Grotta dei Fichi reward its visitors immediately upon arrival. Then Vincenzo, with his passionate desire to share the best of this colourful region, his thoughtful attention to every detail, and his solid connections to multi-talented people who help create the ultimate vacation experience, begins to allow the holiday of a lifetime to unfold in such an richly colourful and easy-going rhythm that one almost feels the magic can't be real. But go ahead and pinch yourself anyway, because you have arrived in heaven! We would highly recommend Grotta dei Fichi and to use Vincenzo's savvy expertise in putting together tailor-made packages so that one's time exploring the gorgeous Amalfi Coast of Italy allows for really BEING there in each precious moment, delicious foods, awesome wines and such friendly people. We're still talking about this vacation, and it's going to be difficult to top it. Thank you, Vincenzo, family Trapani and friends!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

I have traveled a lot and this is by far the most breathtaking location I've ever stayed. The location, villa itself, and Vincenzo's support made this a trip of a lifetime. I can honestly say there was not one person in my group of 11 female friends who did not absolutely love our week at the villa.

My favorite excursions (organized by Vincenzo) were the vineyard visit with a homemade multi-course lunch and tasting (500 year old vines!) and the private boat trip to Capri. The boat trip itself was amazing, with a tour around the island and a stop for lunch, complete with a jump into the sea for a slightly chilly swim!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TravelAddictNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

If you want a once in a lifetime memory, be sure not to miss this place. From the moment you arrive you will be amazed. The views are unbelievable! That alone is reason to come, but it get's better. With careful planning Vincenzo will make sure every detail of your stay is perfect. Be sure to take advantage of his services, worth every penny! Just staying at the villa alone is just awesome, but we enjoyed each experience that Vincenzo set up for us. A private trip to Pompeii. A fabulous meal prepared and served by two lovely ladies and fantastic cook just for us at the villa along with a limoncello making lesson.
Massages for my husband and I....Ahha…
Fantastic "local" restaurant recommendations where we were treated like family. We chose to rent a car for a day to explore a bit on our own, it's a bit hairy driving the Amalfi Coast but worth it if you are up for it. One day was spent at a local home/farm where we had our own private cooking experience, this was something we will always remember too. We learned how to cook a full Italian meal!! We took the bus to Positano for a few hours, such a beautiful spot! We also took the ferry over to Capri, lovely to explore. For shopping, I agree with Vincenzo, Sorrento is the best option.
Our last night was very special. Vincenzo is a “real” pizzamaker. He spent hours with us at the villa preparing dough, and making the best pizza ever! It was a fantastic 50th Birthday celebration complete with a cake.
And, did I mention how much my kids (ages 10 & 11) enjoyed exploring the property and going to get fresh eggs each morning for our breakfast, or how we learned where the bakery was with the best bread you will find. Be sure to buy some things that are "for sale" in the Villa, my kids almost licked the strawberry jam jar to get the last drop! In our travels around the world this place goes on our top 10 list. And, for us to want to revisit a place is saying something! Exceeded expectations in every way, it’s a gift to have stayed here.
We will go back, and if you want to see this magical place don't wait!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldwidewanderersK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in the "small" villa of the sky at the grotto it was hopelessly romantic. Vincenzo could not have been more helpful the view was astonishing. We picked tomatoes and herbs from the tiny
Garden each day,and drank the local wine,provided by our host. His recommendations on everything from the local bakery to the two star Michelin guide restaurant nearby,we're spot on.
The villa itself has a tiny,serviceable kitchen,small bath and bed and living dining space overlooking the sea......spectacular. The large really,really large villa is astonishing. Both are built right into the cliff...a little daunting! If privacy, low key and a caring,competent host are what you are looking for,this is it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

our family of 8 adults just returned from a 2 week holiday in italy. our first week was spent in rome and florence. our second week was spent at La Grotta Dei Fichi. we went to the villa the second week so that we could take a few days to relax before returning to the real world. WORK....
Italy is spectacular.
the villa is just a wonderful place to spend time with your family. It is so peaceful and the view is just spectacular. Vincenzo (the owner) can't do enough to help to make your visit perfect. Anything you would like to do, he can make it happen. the villa itself is just so special, more then enough room for our family. it is beautiful, everything you need is right there. every time you explore the villa you find something new. it is unbelievable that this villa is built on the side of a mountain. It was an experience we will never forget and would love to do it again. S,T.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
1.0 mi away
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro ...
#1 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
1,810 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Ripetta
La Ripetta
#8 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
351 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cosmomare
Hotel Cosmomare
#2 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
255 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Vacanza Le Due Sirene
Casa Vacanza Le Due Sirene
#9 of 18 in Piano di Sorrento
66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Agriturismo Antico Casale Colli di San Pietro
Agriturismo Antico Casale Colli ...
#1 of 18 in Piano di Sorrento
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grotta dei Fichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grotta dei Fichi

Property: La Grotta dei Fichi
Address: Meta Amalfi, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Piano di Sorrento
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive villa rental (sleeps up to 8 people) located on the Amalfi Coast, in a unique position carved from the cliff wall which falls sheer down to the sea. Its location, halfway between Sorrento and Positano (each less than 4 miles away),gives you immediate access to all the Coast’s major attractions. You will enjoy stunning sea views, a private pool, gym, sauna, vegetable garden, sundeck, grotto-bar, pizza oven, concierge service, Wine & Food Experiences. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing