We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great vacation rental”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piano di Sorrento
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Grotta dei Fichi
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I (and 9 others) had a great stay here. The property is incredible and was wonderful staying at for a week. All the modern conveniences and yet a real Italian beauty. Wonderful grounds that are well kept and the views are incredible.

Vincenzo was also very helpful with anything we needed. He was able to get me a doctor's (ENT) appointment the same day I called him and the doctor was a friend of the family.

I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhutsler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 86 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

I was looking for a place to stay in Italy for our family vacation and found the La Grotta dei Fichi. First of all, Vincenzo was a pleasure to deal with. The experiences he can set up for you are amazing if you want to taste and see Italy's food and history. Everything was taken care of for us each day and I had nothing to worry about. He would even call me each day to find out how our day was and what time we wanted breakfast the next morning.

The Grotta was unbelievable. The views are pictures for postcards and the story behind its construction only makes it that more amazing. I counted it a privilege for Vincenzo and his family to allow our family to rent their beautiful home.

This has been a family vacation that we will remember for the rest our lives and thanks to Vincenzo and the wonderful La Grotta dei Fichi. A special place!

Room Tip: A must is pizza night with Vincenzo making his pizza. The best in Italy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I was fortunate enough to stay 2 weeks with friends at La Grotta dei Fichi. Although the place itself is beyond compare, the service that Vincenzo provides makes this not a vacation but an "experience". Tours of nearby cities with very friendly and knowledgeable drivers, a boat to Capri, winery, making gelati, pairing experiences at gourmet shops, dining at local restaurants and, of course, nights at La Grotta filled with pizza prepared by Vincenzo, dinner with a Michelin chef, cooking classes, and the Neapolitan Street Fair.
Friends and memories for a lifetime...trust Vincenzo to provide the best experience of your life!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabel1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I just returned from La Grotta die Fichi, where i spent a milestone birthday with family and friends. I could not have picked a more incredible location...I was on sensory overload from the time the door was opened to this unique villa which is carved into the rock overlooking the water. The sights, smells (the fresh lemon grove and sea air), sounds etc were just extraordinary. And then there is Vincenzo~~ The ultimate concierge who completely enhances the whole experience. And what an experience it is! A day trip to Capri, shopping and dining in Amalfi and Positano and food and wine that is yet to be believed.
Be sure to participate in the in-villa Pizza festivities. Vincenzo makes a slew of different pizzas in the outdoor brick oven...Each one better than the last!
This was truly a dream come true vacation and the memories will continue to put a smile on my face...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerseygirl0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

After spending 4 days solo on the beautiful isle of Capri, I met family and friends at La Grotta dei Fichi. This villa with its breathtaking views, provided us with a most memorable 7 day vacation!! Vincenzo, the concierge, was always available and provided us with invaluable information. We shared many good times and meals with him. His Pizza Night at the villa is a MUST!!!! Day trips to Ravello, Positano, Amalfi and Sorrento are a must and easily accessible by car.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pasquale282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This property is hard to describe, in its beauty and uniqueness. And Vincenzo takes care of your every need. The photos do not really do justice, as the design and use of space is just so special. And the views of the Sea are just stunning.
We've been home for 2 weeks and cannot wait to go back. I give it my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob-from-ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I spent one week with my family at la Grotta dei Fichi, and it is hard to believe this place is real. The view of the Mediterranean is only rivaled by the creativity of the Grotta's design. Because it is build along the side of a mountain into the rock, you can choose a variety of different "platforms" from which to look out at the Sea. I particularly enjoyed reading in the Thinking Spot, the farthest-most platform where the silence allowed to hear the soft breaking of the waves below. Vincenzo, the manager of the property, offers incredible gourmet opportunities, and has so much information about the local hot-spots and must-sees. His pizza is incredible.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piano di Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Agriturismo Antico Casale Colli di San Pietro
Agriturismo Antico Casale Colli ...
#1 of 17 in Piano di Sorrento
214 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Ripetta
La Ripetta
#8 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
371 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fiori d'Arancio
Fiori d'Arancio
#10 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Agriturismo Piccolo Paradiso
Agriturismo Piccolo Paradiso
#6 of 17 in Piano di Sorrento
20 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Klein Wien
Hotel Klein Wien
#4 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence L'Incanto Sorrento
Residence L'Incanto Sorrento
#7 of 17 in Piano di Sorrento
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grotta dei Fichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grotta dei Fichi

Address: Meta Amalfi, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Piano di Sorrento
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive villa rental (sleeps up to 8 people) located on the Amalfi Coast, in a unique position carved from the cliff wall which falls sheer down to the sea. Its location, halfway between Sorrento and Positano (each less than 4 miles away),gives you immediate access to all the Coast’s major attractions. You will enjoy stunning sea views, a private pool, gym, sauna, vegetable garden, sundeck, grotto-bar, pizza oven, concierge service, Wine & Food Experiences. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing