We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Villa and views on Amalfi Coast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piano di Sorrento
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Grotta dei Fichi
Irvine, California
1 review
“Best Villa and views on Amalfi Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Just back from staying at this beautiful property. Many properties have views but this one is incredible. If you are looking for a "complete experience" this is the place to be. The owners are fantastic. By the way, the pictures don't do justice!

Room Tip: you have the entire villa -- no need to select a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

I did celebrate my 40th birthday in "La Grotta dei fichi" with my friends. The experience was more than it is possible to explain with any words. The place was absolutely imaginative and unique. The view to the sea was fantastic and very relaxing. Everything went well in the villa, all necessary (even much more) things were on hand there. Thank you Vincenzo!!! I really have long lasting memories from Amalfi coast.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hosu-Maija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

I had the possibility to celebrate my friend's birthday at Villa. First of all the view to the sea was so beautiful I will always remember it. Also the Villa with the garden(s) was a wonderful and beautiful experience. Grazie mille!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La_Perla_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Vincenzo thank you for an experience of a lifetime!!!! Your generosity and kindness we will never forget. Our time spent at your family's villa will remain in our hearts forever. We can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Let me start by saying that it was my responsibility to find a villa on the Amalfi coast that would make 5 couples happy in all respects...try that sometime...it is hard. My friend Carmen and I looked at hundreds of online pictorials before hoping that Vincenzo's La Grotta dei Fichi would please everyone.When you arrive and pass through the non descript front door you are immediately carried into a place that is really quite hard to describe. Imagine your own private villa that is carved out of a cliff where Mother nature has helped a bit to give you a sensation that you are suspended in a truly magnificent display that goes on and on and on. When Vincenzo and I were talking about how he should communicate this special place that took 38 years to complete, my only suggestion was to get in a helicopter and shoot the video from the air. When you look at the photos...which are pretty good, when you see it live it is a hundred times better.
All 5 couples were on their own trip to Italy and other parts of Europe and this week was the only time we were all together.
Do not and I repeat do not miss having Vincenzo personally prepare pizza night for your group as it will give you an opportunity to meet your very charming host who can tell you the amazing story of how this villa was created...and by the way, right out of Vincenzo's wood stove we had the best pizza I have ever had. I had 7 different pizzas in Italy and nothing came close.
For our final night a local chef came to the villa and prepared a feast that we had selected the ingredients for...again AMAZING.
I could go on and on for hours but let me finish by saying that this special place was for me the most incredible travel experience of my life and when you add the hospitality of a man whose passion is food and the pleasure of others all that I can say is thank you Vincenzo...I will be back as soon as I can.

PS. There is another lower level that Vincenzo can show you where you can pick herbs, peppers, tomatoes and other vegetables from while you visit the chickens that leave you fresh eggs every day.

See you soon Vincenzo!

Ciao..John T. A Canadian living in the Arizona desert

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTAZ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

My husband and I had the vacation of a lifetime at La Grotta dei Fichi in July - along with my sister and her family. To say that we enjoyed this INCREDIBLE experience would be an understatement! We rented a villa in Italy on a previous holiday (and thought that was amazing!), but nothing compares to La Grotta dei Fichi! Vincenzo and his team make "anything possible" here. The minute you meet Vincenzo, you know you have met a friend. (Actually....this happens even before you meet him, because he is so incredibly attentive to details and thoroughly communicates via e-mail, long before you arrive). The setting of the villa and how it was constructed is truly an architectural phenomenon. Vincenzo will set up amazing side trips for you, help you plan dinners at the villa (A MUST DO, especially the "Under the Stars" dinner with a Michelin star Chef), and he himself (along with Arianna) will make THE BEST pizza you will ever enjoy in your life! (Hands down, no question... the BEST!!) We are very well-traveled, and have never experienced a holiday like this. We can't thank Vincenzo enough for a most magical, and special experience!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Where to start... the beauty of this villa will simply take your breath away. Upon arriving, our host, Vincenzo, met us at the villa to give us a tour and a brief history on how La Grotta dei Fichi came to be. A labor of love, for sure. The pictures do not even begin to display the true beauty of this location. It is beautifully landscaped and just a magical place to be. Vincenzo goes above and beyond to make sure that your holiday is a memorable one.
We spent most of our days by the beach in Positano, but Vincenzo has a whole menu of things to do on a daily basis if you choose. Our stay was for two glorious weeks. We had meals made for us at the villa 10 of the 14 nights we were there. To say that we had the best pizza of our lives was an understatement (made by Vincenzo and Arianna). We had Italian style family meals, open grill meals and were very spoiled by having Pepe a Michelin Chef, come in to cook for us on two separate occasions. I have never eaten so well in my life.

We stayed at the villa with family members and truly had a vacation of a lifetime. If you have to opportunity to visit this slice of heaven, go.. it will be a memory you will cherish forever.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piano di Sorrento hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cosmomare
Hotel Cosmomare
#2 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Agriturismo Antico Casale Colli di San Pietro
Agriturismo Antico Casale Colli ...
#1 of 16 in Piano di Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villaggio Costa Alta
Villaggio Costa Alta
#13 of 16 in Piano di Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Ripetta
La Ripetta
#8 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Maresca
Villa Maresca
#2 of 24 in Piano di Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Secret Garden Relais
The Secret Garden Relais
#10 of 24 in Piano di Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grotta dei Fichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grotta dei Fichi

Property: La Grotta dei Fichi
Address: Meta Amalfi, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Piano di Sorrento
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive villa rental (sleeps up to 8 people) located on the Amalfi Coast, in a unique position carved from the cliff wall which falls sheer down to the sea. Its location, halfway between Sorrento and Positano (each less than 4 miles away),gives you immediate access to all the Coast’s major attractions. You will enjoy stunning sea views, a private pool, gym, sauna, vegetable garden, sundeck, grotto-bar, pizza oven, concierge service, Wine & Food Experiences. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing