We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunquin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Slea Head Farm B & B
Ranked #2 of 2 Dunquin B&B and Inns
, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We only stayed for one night but wish we had booked our whole holiday here. Homely, welcoming, superb comfy rooms, gorgeous breakfast, lovely hostess and the views ... well... just magnificent. What a beautiful, beautiful place.

Room Tip: They are all lovely - all have a fantastic view of the Atlantic and the Blasket Isles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bizzylizzy676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
36
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

There is nothing better after a 16 mile hike than to arrive at this charming B&B on the farthest west point in Europe. The ocean views, the comfortable rooms, and the host's commitment to hospitality are exceptional! It is pretty much a must see spot with an incredible breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and i stayed in the Slea Head Farm B&B for 1 night and found it one of the most pleasant stays we have had in a hotel or B&B in the past 10 years.
The property is perched on the sea side of the Slea Head Drive overlooking Caumeenole Beach and the Blasket Islands. It has truly spectacular views but this is not all.
The Ferriter family are wonderful hosts, their home cooking is of a very high standard and their rooms are beautifully presented. We walked down to the beach, out on to Dunmore Head and as far as the statues where we watched the sun set. But we regretted that we did not allow another night or 2 nights to visit the Blasket Islands, climb Mount Eagle or visit the many archaeological sites nearby. Next time we will stay longer

Room Tip: All rooms are en-suite, face the sea and are very quiet other than the sound of the waves below
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheehy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We absolutely loved our view from this B & B. We were 5 of us plus baby, using 3 rooms and stayed for 3 nights. Each room looked out over the ocean. We also had use of a tv room where we watched tv, played games and hung out together. Caitlin was very nice at answering our questions about hiking and places to eat. Breakfast was delicious and she'd always ask us what time we'd like to eat. It was very nice location to visiting the rest of the peninsula, tho a bit of a drive to go into town for dinner.

Room Tip: All rooms had great views out the back of the house, overlooking ocean. All were on the 2nd floor. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playbach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Slea Head Farm offers the best in a rural Irish B&B. Situated with incomparable views of the dramatic coastline and Blasket islands, this gem of a B&B offers the perfect base for exploring the Dingle peninsula. There is a reason such a wide selection of international visitors return to Slea Head Farm time after time and that is simply, because it doesn't get any better than this. The cooking is superb, the hospitality genuine, the facilities clean and comfortable, walking distance to the cafe and the beach--and you might even spot passing seals or dolphins right from your bedroom window!

Room Tip: All the rooms are ensuite and offer STUNNING sea views! You can't go wrong really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolitamanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The four of us stayed here and was the best bed and breakfast we found during our trip around Ireland. Everywhere looked as if it had just been decorated and was warm and cozy. Caitin was a superb host suggesting an excellent local restaurant 10 mins away by car. She suggested some excellent walks and even helped us understand some aspects of the Irish language. Breakfast was superb with lots of options. It was, all in all, superb value for money.

Room Tip: you need a room facing the superb sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We spent four nights here with three college-age daughters, and I can't imagine a better experience. Caitlin gave us delicious breakfasts and friendly conversation each morning, the rooms were small but bright and clean, and the views of the sea, and the constantly changing light, were mesmerizing. Spending time with Molly, the golden retriever, is also a great benefit of staying here.

You should be aware that the B&B is about 20 minutes outside of Dingle, and that the drive there is memorably beautiful but may be slightly challenging to the inexperienced left-hand driver, with some very narrow stretches of the road and at least one genuine hairpin turn. After the first time, it didn't bother me terribly, but I wouldn't want to make the drive in the dark. So we tried to finish up dinner in Dingle each night with plenty of time to drive back to the inn while it was still light.

By the way, the view from the inn includes the Blasket Islands. If you have any interest at all in Irish literature or the revival of the Irish language, before you go you should read "On an Irish Island" by Robert Kanigel, and make sure to stop at the Blasket Centre in nearby Dunquin.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomasbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunquin
151.2 mi away
An Portan Guest House and Restaurant
8.1 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
8.3 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Garvey's Farmhouse
Garvey's Farmhouse
#1 of 1 in Ventry
69 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ceann Sibeal Hotel
Ceann Sibeal Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ballyferriter
135 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dun Chaoin Hostel
Dun Chaoin Hostel
#1 of 1 in Ballyferriter
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slea Head Farm B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slea Head Farm B & B

Property: Slea Head Farm B & B
Address: Couminole, Dunquin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dunquin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dunquin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slea Head Farm, Europe's most western family run farm and guesthouse, sits high on the cliffs above the Atlantic Ocean at the tip of the Dingle Peninsula, an area renowned for its rugged beauty. A cosy place to stay for that home away from home feeling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Slea Head Farm Hotel Dunquin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing