We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and Comforting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gleann Dearg B&B

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunquin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gleann Dearg B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunquin
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quaint and Comforting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at Gleann Dearg after a long day of hiking the Dingle Way in the rain and through lots of sheep farms in the mountain. We were tired and cold. Kristen greeted us at the door with a smile and heat! She was told at the last minute that dinner was included in our stay and she had to run out at the last minute to buy and make dinner (We were the only ones booked for the night but some other hikers checked in after dinner)-It was one of the best meals we had in Ireland! It was a cold rainy night with cards being played by the fire. The rooms were clean and quaint. Not much of a nightlife in Dunquin but Gleann Dearg was the quiet restful night we needed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonChlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

I stayed for two nights -- and packed my bags before breakfast on the second morning. The food was fine, the house was clean and tidy -- but the women who run the place clearly did not want any guests! I was told not asked when I would have breakfast -- at 9am -- and when I came down to the breakfast room at 8 minutes before the hour, she did not want to unlock the door! And was annoyed that I gave my credit card instead of cash. There was neither a welcome nor a goodbye, not even a remark about the weather, ahorrible atmosphere in the house. I've worked in 23 countries and have never before written a complaint about any place. If you are looking for an Irish welcome, don't stay here. These people should be kept well away from their guests and hire somebody who can say hello and goodbye for front of house.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank ClaireBridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

We arrived late in the evening having ridden from Lowestoft that morning on a sponsored motorbike ride. Being offered tea and scones at that time of night was a good start to a lovely stay. opening the curtains in the morning and seeing the spectacular view is something that I will never forget. The breakfasts were huge and delicious and set you up for the day, not really needing any lunch. The area was stunning and we enjoyed a boat trip around the island the next day which was wonderful. There is nowhere to eat in the village, and if we had known this we would have booked an evening meal at the B&B ,as we had to ride to the next village . However, we had a good meal in the hotel there which had live Irish music . Would definately stay again if ever back in Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbievb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Chester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

We had a group of 8 women and we were nicely accommodated. We didn't know we could have prearranged to dine there and didn't make that plan... but had a lovely dinner a short drive's away. Great breakfast in the AM and off again for more walking. If you walk the Dingle Way, this is a great place to stay - also a short walk to the visitor's center.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, BC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

My husband and I spent one evening at Glenn Dearg on our five day walk along the Dingle Way and I'm so glad that we did. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by Lelia and the wonderful aroma of our pre-arranged dinner which we were only too happy to devour once we'd stowed our gear in our cosy room overlooking the sea. While small - especially the bathroom - our accomodation was more than adequate and we could have happily spent many more days at Gleann Dearg. The location is superb and the meals, breakfast, lunch and dinner, were all delicious.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

The owner was helpful and friendly at every turn, providing facilities and advice for a mother travelling with a young baby. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the owner was fantastic as a source of information and advice about the area and the facilities. This B&B is set in an idyllic location and for individuals sharing a room, the cost represents great value for money, in particular when the hearty breakfast is included.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almeria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2008

We booked this directly from the website over the internet and stayed for a night in September. The weather was glorious which I am told makes all the difference and when we arrived we sat at a table on the lawn, mesmerised by the really stunning view, while the hostess served us tea and scones. The B&B is a dormer bungalow with ivy trailing over the walls and we were given an upstairs room from which we could see out over the sea to the Blasket Islands. The room was small but very cosy and rather quaint with wooden panelled ceiling and pottery sink. We had booked our meals in advance and were treated to an absolutely delicious beef stew with a glass of wine followed by scrumptious rhubarb tart with cream - all very welcome after having walked several miles earlier. Afterwards we were shown a selection of videos we could watch in front of the open gas fire in the wooden floored living room but were not able to stay awake long enough to watch a whole film! Having put on the electric blanket before going to bed we slept like logs and were blasted into life the next day by a powerful shower, George tucked into a very substantial breakfast but I opted for a selection of cheese and olives with home made brown scones, all of which was served under the grapevines in the conservatory - the hostess cut us a bunch of plump grapes before we left to help us on our way. Overall I thought it a lovely place, lots of wooden panelling give it a cosy atmosphere and there is a touch of the exotic in breakfasting among all the blooming flowers and hanging grapes. We will certainly be going back and hopefully take a boat out to the blasket islands as well next time.

  • Liked — views and food
  • Disliked — size of rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AlmeriaGaviota11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunquin
7.7 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
150.7 mi away
An Portan Guest House and Restaurant
7.9 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
7.0 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
7.5 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleann Dearg B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleann Dearg B&B

Property: Gleann Dearg B&B
Address: Dunquin, Dunquin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dunquin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunquin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleann Dearg is a family run bed and breakfast in the beautiful parish of Dunn Quin, West of the town of Dingle. Set within a working farm we have 4 rooms available within our traditionally renovated farm house. Rooms have either a view of the Blasket Islands out front or of Mount Eagle behind the house. We are located on the main Sleigh Head drive road, with safe parking available at the back of the house. A short 15 minute walk to the Dunn Quin peer and a trip to the Blasket Islands or to the The Blasket Center making us an ideal base to explore the local area. We are ideally situated for walkers of the Dingle Way and provide overnight drying facilities, pack lunches and luggage pick up or drop off at your previous or next destination. Secure bicycle storage available. Have your included breakfast under the grape vines in our sunny conservatory, consisting of a full Irish cooked breakfast, fresh fruits and yoghurt, cereals or homemade scones.Evening 3 coarse meals can also be provided on request when booking, or alternatively 1 coarse meals can be prepared on arrival between 7pm and 9pm. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gleann Dearg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing