We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to have it back!!”
Review of The Purty Kitchen

The Purty Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 14 Restaurants in Monkstown
Price range: $16 - $27
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Soups, Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: WINNER OF DUBLIN'S BEST GASTRO PUB 2013 - IRISH RESTAURANT AWARDSThe Purty Kitchen re-opened it's doors under new ownership in October of 2012. The Purty Kitchen is south Dublin’s newest gastropub serving a wide variety of fresh fish and pub classics with flair. Every dish has been created to show off seasonal food at it’s best and we have used Irish produce wherever possible.We have tried to put a signature twist on all of our food. Take our burger for example. They are made in house with dry aged Irish beef from Kettyle meats. The cheese comes from 5 mile town creamery and then it’s all served on a Waterford blaa with a basket of skin-on rooster chips. Most of what we serve in the Purty Kitchen is made in the Purty Kitchen. Where there are exceptions to that, we have sourced things from other great Irish food producers like Boulaban Farm in Tipperary for our salted caramel ice cream, or Arbutus Bakery in Cork for delicious sourdough rye bread.
Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great to have it back!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Having been closed for a while it is great to see the Purty back open - great atmosphere, great food, great staff and service.
Seafood chowder is a must. Good wine selection and great beer selection.
Keep it up guys!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    61
    24
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
301 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Good value snack”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just dropped in for a snack to this iconic establishment. I have lived for quite a while in this general area but for some reason or another did not ever manage to get here. Not very many in the place, which I would expect at 4pm on a dank and dismal Monday evening. Was greeted cordially. I am in a dilemma, I am not particularly hungry but I needed something as I had not eaten since breakfast. I asked the waiter for a Dublin Bay prawn cocktail which was not on the menu! Not a problem. He consulted with the chef. No problem here either but since the prawns had to be cooked to order they will still be warm. For me that is an advantage, not a difficulty. I do not like my shellfish chilled as it does not release its full flavour. There was a generous portion prawns, well presented. That, with a glass of Chilean Sauvignon Blanc, simple and effective snack cost me less than €13 in total. How about that for great value and service in this precarious day and age!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong with The Purty”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Dined here last night on the 3 course, €25 menu.For 6.30pm on a Thursday evening the place was very busy. There were 6 of us. Excellent choices on this menu, there was something to suit each person. The atmosphere was great, the service very good and the food was just excellent. 6 x 3 Courses, plus 4 bottles of wine, and 6 coffees came in at €255, not including service charge. You can't go wrong at these prices, for excellent food. And if you feel like it you can try a craft beer or cider while you relax after dinner. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flycon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Music Night”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We attended a Johnny Cash tribute band called "Walk the Line" at this venue recently. This was held in their newly opened function room upstairs. Food & show cost €25 which was good value. The food was very nice, the music very good and the staff very friendly. Show was finished on the dot of 12.30. I would definitely return to this venue as there was a good atmosphere in the place.

Helpful?
Thank Boxette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
202 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Typical Irish Pub Grub”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Purty Kitchen is well located near Dun Laoghaire's west pier and the Salthill Dart Station. There is a music venue upstairs, however, we ate downstairs. The crispy egg salad was very good and the main course haddock was okay while the chips were a little greasy. Others in the party tried the main course duck breast and the 'on special' brill which they found good. Two of the party enjoyed the two-course early bird special at €17.50 which appears good value. There were plenty of staff,however, they were sluggish to take orders and to bring the bill. The place was pretty busy and the atmosphere was lively in spite of the dreadful friday night weather. The bill for five starters, six main courses, one desert and two bottles of wine and a tip came to €210

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank don m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Purty Kitchen also viewed

Monkstown, County Dublin
 
Monkstown, County Dublin
Monkstown, County Dublin
 

Been to The Purty Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing