We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little family-run hotel”
Review of Hotel Ethrion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ethrion
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Hermoupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We came here in the middle of October (mid season) for business purpose. The Ethrion offered a double room for 30 € per night, a realistic and fair price in times of crisis. The hotel is centrally located in a very quiet area 300 m from the Central Square (Town Hall sq) and about 150 m from the sea front (250 m from the Blue Star ferries peer). On the way from the harbor to the hotel you have to climb some 40 or 50 steps, thankfully not in a row.
We had a nice large room at the 1st floor with a lovely terrace and a view to the northern part of the town and a little park in front. (Sea view costs 8 € per night more.) The terrace looks to the east and south so there was always a shady spot. Fridge and coffee machine were in the room. We asked for a water kettle for our tea and were provided with it. On the downside: Only one bedside table and reading light only on this night table. So only one of us could put his water glass etc. next to the bed. A weak lamp in the bathroom and a noisy air cleaner.
Yorgos is a very friendly and helpful owner. After the WiFi (WLan) didn't work in our room (it worked in other areas of the hotel, e. g. in the front yard) he gave me a cable to get wired.
Special mention to the leveled terraces that form the front and back yards and are fully equipped with sitting arrangements. The one in front, in the entrance, welcomes the guests with a fragrant jasmine tree, as for the latter, it is always shaded by a vine pergola.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roachim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 158 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days in September. Great rooms, always spotless, and if you ask for a view from your balcony, you will either be swept away by the view up to the Greek orthodox church on the hill, or the other way down to the harbour, or like us, by both! It is a bit of a climb initially to get there (a Greek 100 metres!), but there is another easier way, and once you have a moped - no more steps. The town is enchanting, and there are several lovely swimming bays around this most Greek of islands, of which our favourite was probably Agapothe.
George is a mine of information, and the value can't be beaten.

Room Tip: Ask for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freddie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed at hotel Ethrion for one week at the beginning of September along with our 2.5 month old baby, and had a great time. Our room was spacious and very clean (which I appreciated deeply). The room continued to be very clean throughout our stay, as our lovely cleaning lady did a great job on a daily basis. The furniture and decoration of the room were cheap and basic; though a shame, I suppose it's fair enough for the price. The highlight of the room though was our balcony, which had views to the port on the one side, and the church up on the hill of Vrontados on the other. We loved it! The owners were very friendly and helpful, always available to offer advice and tips about the island. I had also called on the same day to explain that we had a baby and ask whether we could have a cot, which we were indeed offered at no extra cost. The hotel is situated in the centre of the beautiful Hermoupolis, within walking distance from the port (which is also where the bus stop is situated), and the main town square. From there you can walk easily anywhere in the town, and can access many shops and restaurants. This hotel is excellent value for money and we were very happy with our stay. We'd recommend it without hesitation and we'd definitely consider going back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariax_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Me and my fiancee decided to stay at Ethrion based on reviews, and we were not let down. George, the owner, was very helpful at all times and he is always up for a good chat. We had a nice room, with a great little courtyard and stunning view over the harbour. The rooms were very tidy at all times and the location of the hotel is great.
When we go back to Syros, we wll surelly stay there again.

Room Tip: Take a higher floor for a nicer view, ground floors are great as they have a courtyard and the rooft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandJDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Best room for the value! George is very helpful and a great host!

The rooms are really clean and if you want to get a picturesque view of the city and the port/sea, make sure to get a room on the upper level! It is breathtaking! Superbe view of Hermoupolis town.

Located 100m from the ocean front and 2 mins from the center o the town, you can't go wrong with Ethrion. Would go back anytime!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matbdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very satisfied even in the peak period in August. Clean rooms cleaned every day and beds laid every day, 80 steps from the center and the bus station. After a long day walking in the city of Syros and admiring the classical buildings of marble and stone or enjoying gourmet food and excellent music varieties at the wine bars - pubs we rested on our room balcony or hotel balcony and enjoyed the marvelous view of the port and city center. A real good value for money ! In addition Mr Yiorgos is always there to help with any info about the Syros island.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Demetrios G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was my second time visiting Ethrio and I have to say that it was not by chance. The rooms are spacious, airy with a mini refrigerator to cool your fruits & drinks and have balcony where you can relax overlooking the old port. Since Ethrio is located in a small sidewalk, there is no noise and it is secure to sleep with the windows open. There is also a yard, very uncommon for establishments of that time, where you can have your breakfast or just have a rest after swimming and before going to your room. The rooms are mopped every day, and they change towels every second or third day. The owner of the establishment speaks several languages, so no problem there, and is a great ‘ambassador’ of his island by giving great tips and advices. Have fun!

Room Tip: the rooms on the ground floor are for families and are overlooking the yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vasi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermoupolis
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ploes
Hotel Ploes
#1 of 14 in Hermoupolis
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esperance 1
Esperance 1
#8 of 14 in Hermoupolis
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apollonion Palace
Apollonion Palace
#3 of 14 in Hermoupolis
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Remvi Hotel and Apartments
4.5 mi away
Hotel Brazzera
Hotel Brazzera
#1 of 4 in Finikas
109 reviews
0 mi away
Aktaion Hotel
Aktaion Hotel
#4 of 14 in Hermoupolis
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ethrion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ethrion

Address: I. Kosma 24 Ermoupolis - Kiniou, Hermoupolis 841 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Syros > Hermoupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermoupolis
Price Range: $55 - $1,146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ethrion 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ethrion family hotel is situated in a nice garden on a quiet pedestrian street 150 meters above Syros harbor and 200 metrers from the main square Miaouli. It is easily accessible on foot from the ferry. We have just renovated all the rooms and studios(2015).The rooms on the floors have furnished balconies and great views. Studios are located on the ground floor and can accommodate up to four persons.Some studios have terrace and view. All rooms and studios have private bathroom,safebox,hairdryer,kettle,led tv. Free computer corner and free wifi is offered to our guests. The hotel is recommended by Lonely Planet, Routard, Michellin guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ethrion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ethrion Hotel Siros
Hotel Ethrion Hermoupolis, Greece - Syros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing