We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous views over the sea in great location”
Review of Syrou Melathron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Syrou Melathron
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Hermoupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Very nice mansion hotel in pretty and peaceful area of Ermopoulis. I had a v good room witha big sea view terrace. New totally marble bathroom . Breakfast good with freshly cooked eggs, yoghurt etc. Friendly staff who are happy to help. Really charming visit to a lovely tow.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Noelle34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 103 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent if you want to be near the city's center, It is a small but well furnished -quite old fashioned, though,hotel. Clean and with quite friendly personnel. The disadvantages are the wi-fi situation - they give you a ticket for limited access either for 72 hours or a specific amount of data with very poor signal and if you have more than 1 devices you have to ask every time for another ticket. The breakfast was not full of choices but all in all quite good except for the fact that if you want an espresso or cappuccino they charge you extra. The prices of the bottled water are also over the roof so don't buy it from there.

Room Tip: Ask one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katerina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Syrou Melathron is a bit of old glory. Nice location a bit up from the harbor in Syros town/Hermoupoli, and at the front side nice views across the sea and bay. Rooms are small, however, also a bit stuffy and warm. The cobble-stone street up front makes for a lot of noise, by cars, buses and motorbikes. At night this noise dies down. Entree and reception areas are stylish, as is the building as such. Small balconies look very 19th century, but are almost too small to sit on. Wi-fi was erratic, with very long and complicated passwords, and a regular necessity to log in again, and again. Beds were good, bathroom a bit small, but OK. Service is helpful. Breakfast is the regular thing, nothing special, but no frills.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meijerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were very happy to return to this hotel after two years and we were thrilled with the nice time we had at the hotel.
Although our rooms on the top floor (Block A) were rather small, we were amply compensated with the magnificent view to the Aegean. The hotel is spotlessly clean and both management and staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel at home.
Hopefully we will manage to come back to the hotel soon and I have no hesitation in recommending Syrou Melathron.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARIOSCHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel was superb value for money. Syros is a bit more off the beaten track than Mykonos/Santorini and well worth a visit if you're after something more authentically Greek. Ermoupolis is the capital of the Cyclades and as such quite a big town. But the atmoshpere is very relaxed and you will be sitting by the seaside having dinner, not realising it is almost midnight!

The hotel itself has different style rooms. We had the best one, which has a smallish balcony with gorgeous uninterrupted views of the ocean and town. The room was large with high ceilings. Its not very modern, but very clean and comfortable. The service was excellent.

Just below is the 'beach' aka concrete slab where you can go for a tan and take a dip, swimming in front of the city in crystal clear waters - highly recommended!

Also superb breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-facing room, and preferably one which is more set 'to the front'. There are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RayHoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked in advance as we were arriving on a 2am ferry. Short taxi ride and friendly welcome. Room very small, hot and with no outside space. Our request to move rooms the next morning was dealt with efficiently, and for a little extra we had a new (small) room with a large terrace and wonderful view.
To sum up; the public rooms are grand and elegant. The bedrooms ( the two we saw)very small. The bathrooms have style over usability. The first bath was so narrow one had to shower with one foot in front of the other. The second bath was very slippery with no hand rail. Both very clean and well equipped.
Cannot fault the staff, always smiling and pleasant, even when they had to chase us down to the port to retrieve the room key, which we had forgotten to hand in!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank boltonbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Syrou Melathron with a group of friends and colleagues, who chose it based on the great reviews and fantastic views. We stayed in the main building and some people from our party stayed at the annex, which was less fancy and had a distinctive musty odor in the rooms. The rooms were rather small (even by European standards), but the wonderful views made up for it.

However, one morning before going to the beach and after specifically having requested for the room not to be cleaned (since it was our last day there), we came back in the room to find that not only it had been cleaned, but there were 100 euros missing from a bag that we had left in the room (the same thing happened to another member in our party, who stayed in the annex). When we explained this to the manager he told us that we were lying and proceeded by telling us he had no responsibility (he did not even ask the cleaning lady to see what she had to say!). And to think we had tipped the cleaning lady the day before!

We have traveled all over the world and to be robbed in our own country is somewhat disappointing. A good location and views just doesn't cut it, I'm sorry. You have to have better customer service.

My advice if you choose this hotel? BEWARE of the cleaning staff and ALWAYS keep your valuables and/or money with you at all times.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank neferia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermoupolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Diogenis Hotel
Diogenis Hotel
#4 of 14 in Hermoupolis
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ploes
Hotel Ploes
#1 of 14 in Hermoupolis
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apollonion Palace
Apollonion Palace
#3 of 14 in Hermoupolis
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#9 of 14 in Hermoupolis
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Esperance 1
Esperance 1
#8 of 14 in Hermoupolis
82 reviews
0 mi away
Aktaion Hotel
Aktaion Hotel
#5 of 14 in Hermoupolis
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Syrou Melathron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Syrou Melathron

Address: 5 Babagiotou St. | Vaporia, Hermoupolis 84100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Syros > Hermoupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermoupolis
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hermoupolis
Price Range: $47 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Syrou Melathron 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Syrou Melathron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Syrou Melathron Siros
Syrou Melathron Hermoupolis, Greece - Syros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing