We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling of returning to the past”
Review of Syrou Melathron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Syrou Melathron
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Hermoupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Karditsa, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Feeling of returning to the past”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Great hotel you feel like princes and the time stop to 1800.But about the cleaness of the room I'm not satisfied.I don't know if they have breakfast because I stayed ther at low seazon.The price was ok for me because it was Autumn but as I learned the summer the price is very expensive.The location is great excactly at the historical center next to the st.Nicolas' church and one block above the "small opera of Milano"

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oliv86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    41
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
15
54
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Excellent view to the sea and "little Venezia" (the view compensates the small walking distance from the port of about 10 minutes or 5 minutes from the main plaza). Ask for room with independent AC (especially for mid period where you want a diff temp in your room). Wait for the water to clean up before use. Traditional charmy building.

Room Tip: My bedroom had a sepperate door from the room which is always helpful to secure a good sleep. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThiPs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

A superb place to be. This mansion/hotel is located up on the hill overlooking the port and the town, in a quiet area without the fuss of the more central hotels (a taxi ride to the port costs only 3 Euros). Both management and staff are very polite and helpful and they really make you feel at ease. Breakfast is excellent and is served on the roof garden with its breathtaking views. Overall, the location of the hotel, its cleanliness, quality breakfast and friendliness of management and staff make it a place to visit again and again and I have no hesitation to highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The front rooms command an excellent view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARIOSCHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kifisia, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

It all started with a phonecall to a very polite owner. The description of the room and the pictures on their site reflected exactly the reality.
The hotel is a family-owned business, housed in a recently renovated neo-classical building that used to be a private mansion. Room 20 of building B where we stayed, was huge and included a sofa, coffe-table, minibar, TV, A/C a 2nd room with a single bed and wardrobe leading to a fully covered with marble bathroom!
The bed is a very comfortable king size bed. From that room you can't see the sea but the view of St. Nicolas cathedral is not bad at all. The cleanliness of the room gives you the impression that nobody else has stayed there before. Towels were changed daily!
Breakfast is served in the cosy roof-garden of the main building just 50m from building B. A very decent breakfast buffet includes almost everything one could desire in a holday hotel.
Hermoupolis is a fantastic town that overflows of history, class and tradition. Food is excelent everywhere both in the town and on the beaches.
The only problem is parking near the hotel but the harbour parking (both payable and free) is only a ten minute walk.

Room Tip: Building A rooms have a view of the sea but are smaller. Building B rooms have no sea view but are h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atsah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Syrou Melathron is a boutique hotel. For those looking for a large, glamorous hotel with all the bells and whistles, this may not be the hotel for you. We loved it. Its a very stylish boutique with friendly staff that makes individuals feel warm and welcome. Each morning we enjoyed the wonderful breakfast while looking at the gorgeous views of the ocean. Overall, stylish, great location, very clean, quiet, wonderful staff, and FREE Wi-Fi. The hotel does not have a pool but across the street is a short path down to the ocean.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Great views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yama555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Loved this hotel in a historic building facing the sea. We had a room in the family wing for three people. It was very spacious, with a large room and a smaller one for our daughter. The view overlooked the sea and the nearby church - it was beautiful! Easy access to strolling in town and to a nearby beach for swimming.
Breakfast in the morning is outstanding!! The food is delicious, and there are many options on the buffet. It is served on an outdoor terrace - again facing the sea view - and made for a wonderfui start to our day. Can't think of anything that could be improved.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelb0y2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I stayed for 3 nights in May. The hotel is great, outside and inside. In the best spot to have easy access to the center of the town, quiet nights although you are next to the public road, and magnificent views of the sea (from my room at least). It is a renovated mansion. Rooms can be small, but if you get one overlooking the sea you are more than compensated. It is a family business and you meet the owners. Cosy, luxurious, good service, good price off-season.

Room Tip: The sea view is amazing if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George_Silverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermoupolis hotels
0.6 mi away
Esperance 1
Esperance 1
#8 of 14 in Hermoupolis
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ploes
Hotel Ploes
#1 of 14 in Hermoupolis
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ethrion
Hotel Ethrion
#2 of 14 in Hermoupolis
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Diogenis Hotel
Diogenis Hotel
#3 of 14 in Hermoupolis
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apollonion Palace
Apollonion Palace
#4 of 14 in Hermoupolis
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aktaion Hotel
Aktaion Hotel
#5 of 14 in Hermoupolis
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Syrou Melathron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Syrou Melathron

Property: Syrou Melathron
Address: 5 Babagiotou St. | Vaporia, Hermoupolis 84100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Syros > Hermoupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermoupolis
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermoupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Syrou Melathron 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Syrou Melathron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Syrou Melathron Siros
Syrou Melathron Hermoupolis, Greece - Syros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing