We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning room with massive balcony”
Review of Hotel Omiros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Omiros
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Hermoupolis
lowestoft
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stunning room with massive balcony”
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Loved this hotel on Syros. We had a bit of trouble getting in. Rang the doorbell but had no answer so had to find the phone number and ring that. Owner immediately appeared. We were shown to the best room in the hotel with a huge balcony and lovely simple decor and old-fashioned doors. Lovely. The owner was really helpful and friendly. The ony drawback is that as the cuilding is very old, you had to be very quiet even in you room as there wasn't any sound proofing. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Owner also provided extra fresh fruit. On payment knocked 10 Euros off our already reasonable bill.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsm101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    3
    3
    10
See reviews for
6
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

The hotel is conveniently placed for the town of Ermopolis. Please be aware that the whole town is built on a hill and the hotel is accessible by steps up from the harbour. If mobility is an issue, get a taxi from the port. We walked the few hundred metres through the town.
The hotel was a lovely neo-classical mansion. A friendly welcome and a lovely room overlooking the town and the harbour. The place was clean, the beds comfortable, and the owner's help and advice was much appreciated. The accommodation is not luxurious - Syros is not that sort of place. But it has style and charm.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

It was an awfull, dirty room. A lot of photoshop at their site. We coudn't stay there, finally. Hotel**** ????????????? NO WAY. We didn't say anything about 200euro for the reservation, buy they wanted more (150 euro) because we couldn't stay there & we had reserve the room. Bad owner, terrible bathroom, very old sheets-towels, only stairs to go there.
p.s.: You can't talk in the room because the other rooms can hear everything. Also you can't change the temperature to the air conditioning, it's locked!!! The refrigerator was like a small box... But Syros is great island!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank katpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hermoupolis hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New York City
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Ermoupolis is an elegant city of steps, not roads. The further one ascends from the bustling streets near the port, the quieter the neighborhood is likely to be, at least until one arrives at one of the few large roads that skirt the town. The Hotel Omiros is in a peaceful and atmospheric corner not far from the stunning square at the heart of the city. Its most prominent neighbor is a remarkable Greek Orthodox church that tolls the hours and half hours. The hotel is itself elegant and atmospheric and simple; the rooms are spacious, comfortable, and quiet. It's true that the rooms in front are nicer than some of the smaller and darker rooms in back. There is nothing trendy about the Omiros, and, yes, -- to address one of the previous posts -- it's probably a lousy place to bring kids who are still in prams. (Like the rest of the city, the hotel observes the afternoon siesta and maintains quiet.) I would and will recommend the hotel to any friend who doesn't mind climbing stairs to get home and who is in search of a civilized place to stay in the heart of a great and fascinating small city. If your priorities include suburban comforts and parking, stay away. If you seek a hotel in the midst of a wonderful city where even the tourists are Greeks, in walking distance to a striking array of restaurants, bars, and atmospheric neighborhoods, you will not be disappointed. I hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SokratesShipping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2008

If you opt for breakfast at the hotel make sure you ask for eggs etc if you want them, otherwise you will only get coffee, juice, cakes, bread, cheese and ham for the same price. Our room was simple but with great character and clean. Its an old building, renovated to the original style, so sound insulation may not be great but it is at a quiet location so we had absolutely no problems with noise. It is very near the centre and all amenities but it may be a bit tricky to find, especially if you are arriving late at night, so make sure you get good directions and let the staff know when they should be expecting you. Its best to get a taxi from the port (it will cost around 4 euros) but there is no direct car access so you will have to walk for a minute or so to get to the hotel. Overall accessibility may be a problem if you are a wheel-chair user or have a baby in pram. The lady that worked there in the day wasn't the world's friendly person but always remained adequately polite. Kyrios Giannis who workes in the evenings is a lovely and friendly chap, always offering interesting anectodes and useful tips. My husband and I thought he was very sweet. In total, whatever this hotel lacks in mod cons and in respect to my comments above it makes up with it lovely, authentic and cosy atmosphere. I would love to go back one day.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank SofiaKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2008

My husband, 2 small kis and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and it was the worst experience we've ever had in a hotel! We had booked a suite with 2 separate rooms (one room for the couple and our 13month baby and one room for my 4 year old son). When we arrived there we were shocked to find that our suite was in fact a horrible 1 bedrrom place with an extra bed in the lodge by the entrance! The fittings are more than 20 years old and need refurbishing. There are no tables to leave the suitcases on so we had to drop them on the floor as if we were camping!

Every day the cleaning lady would make our beds but she would never hoover which was a problem because on the first night we accidentally dropped a buiscuit pieces of which we could find all over the place the following 3 days!

Do not pay 10 euros for the breakfast. The lady did not explain to us from the beginning that the orange juice, cake and coffee are the standards and we should ask for the extras (like eggs, etc.). We only realised just before leaving the place. Pay 8 euros for a much better breakfast by the port served by friendly personnel, instead.

I booked the room over the phone and specifically asked about the location and how far it was from the port and the city centre. The lady informed me that the hotel is right at the heart of the city centre (not entirely true) BUT failed to mention that it's impossible to reach from the port with 2 prams!!!! Every morning and night my husband and I had to CARRY the prams and walk all those steps (there are no streets just steps everywhere) all the way up to the hill in order to reach the hotel. Terrible experience for young parents.

We could have used our car driving around but in fact the much advertised parking is nothing more than a 4mx4m space where once you've parked you won't take your car out again in case someone else takes your place. Once, the owner of the hotel made my husband leave the room and unpark our car so that she could move hers!!!

Yet, the worst was the toilet which had the window inside the buidling, by the staircase! That was very unconfortable when going to the toilet.

We wanted to complain to the owner but she was so rude she wouldn't even speak to us while sitting in the reception so instead we made our views known by writing in the guest book.

  • Liked — old mansion
  • Disliked — the price has nothing to do with the poor service/accommodation
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingmina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We booked the Hotel after a last moment search where many of the Hotels were full.

It is an old mansion with nice atmosphere that was renovated, but that was many years ago. Someone would expect more work done to keep it in good shape, ie painting the rooms and windows once in a while or keeping the bed post lamps working

One positive thing was the location, that was very quiet and not far from center.Rooms are rather big but bathrooms didn't look good. Also try to book one of the suites with a nice balcony and a view to the sea, cause our room had a view of the street and the next building wall.

Do not pay the 10 euro per person for breakfast. The first day we did that we sat on the table and the lady served us very few things, a piece of cake, coffee, and two slices of ham and cheese.

Overall the service by the people was good, and the rooms clean but I dont think its worth the 90 euro/night without breakfast.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumpytravell3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermoupolis
0.4 mi away
Esperance 1
Esperance 1
#7 of 14 in Hermoupolis
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aegli Hotel
Aegli Hotel
#11 of 14 in Hermoupolis
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ethrion
Hotel Ethrion
#2 of 14 in Hermoupolis
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Olympia Hotel
Olympia Hotel
#2 of 4 in Finikas
12 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#3 of 3 in Megas Gialos
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Syrou Melathron
Syrou Melathron
#8 of 14 in Hermoupolis
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Omiros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Omiros

Property: Hotel Omiros
Address: 43 Omirou, Hermoupolis 841 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Syros > Hermoupolis
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hermoupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Omiros 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Omiros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omiros Hotel Siros
Hotel Omiros Hermoupolis, Greece - Syros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing