We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had its ups and downs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ammos Apartments & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ammos Apartments & Suites
Ranked #42 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Malia
West Midlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had its ups and downs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

Me and my 3 friends (All females, between 18-20) went for one week. The price we paid was quite expensive and wasn't worth how much we paid, the room slept 4 of us. The shower leaked on the floor, so we went through quite a few towels, even though we didn't get towels or our bedroom tidied every day. The rooms wasn't to bad. Lefty the manager is ok, there's a sign in the bar say 'FREE DRINKS TOMORROW' trust me tomorrow never comes, so don't get excited like we did lol. There was quite a few young people there, but the hotel itself wasn't 'party animal' suitable, they are quite strict. your not allowed other ppl in your room, so if you meet new friends go to there hotel. If your going for fun go for a 18-30. Good thing is if you want some peace and quiet its a little wlak away from the strip,so its quiet. Get a quad! drive safe :)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Currysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
fife
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

Stayed here with my husband and another couple for a week in October. It was a cheap deal and we were slightly worried about it being Malia what with the bad press it gets but when we went it was very quiet and perfect for us 40 somethings. There is only 12 apartments so it was quiet and peaceful. The apartments are far enough from the nightlife that it wouldn't bother you anyway but near enough that you can take a leisurely stroll into the main town. Lots of restaurants and bars and supermarkets so most needs are catered for. We had a lovely relaxing week in the company of some lovely holidaymakers and the bar owner Lefti and his family who couldn't have done enough for us. The bar prices were average and the snack food and breakfast was of very good quality. One evening Lefti even made a meal for some of us which was absolutley delicious. Please don't take any notice of the previous review...I was there at the same time as these 2 girls and they are omitting some facts. We personally didn't complain but the complaint wasn't about them parking up their quad at the end of their evening out but the fact that they were spinning it around in circles outside the apartments at 3 in the morning under the influence. I would personally recommend these apartments to anybody looking for a lovely week in the sun with good hosts.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweet-kd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

just came back from the ammos apartments and could not wait get home!! the apartments are quite impressive for greek standards, maybe due to the fact they are only 3 years old but myself and friend felt like outcasts the whole time we were there. Lefti the owner only ever had time for older guests. we arrived back very late several nights to discover in the morning that the other guests had complained about the noise our quad bike made!! im sorry but you DO NOT go to a party resort like Malia if you are middle aged expecting to be in bed for 10pm every night and get a good nights sleep. We also explained to Lefti that we were getting bitten in our room by mossies, he did not take any notice at all, telling us to buy spray for the room. We discovered towards the end of our holiday that the other guests were being offered a two course meal with wine for 10 euro each twice weekly. This was not offered to us. I think he has a bad attitute towards young people. He should rename the apartments SAGA. word of advice for young party goers- stay well clear!!!

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowDeacon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2007

Found the apartments basic but clean and well looked after. The apartments are new with a good size swimming pool unfortunately not heated. Lefty the owner was a friendly and helpful guy. Sometimes got the impression he would like you spending a little bit more money at his bar around the pool area. Malia for us would of been a nightmare if we had gone at peak time (most of the bars and clubs closed), but if your young and want to get off your face every night (lefty said that you would be ashamed if you were british) then this is the place for you. It was less than a ten minute walk to the bars and clubs and then another 5 to the old town where we ate most nights - never had a bad meal. The old town looks as though no money has been spent on it since the second world war. The beaches around malia are sandy but lots of litter around. Would i go back? yes i would not hesitate going back to ammos but only at the beginning or end of the season.

  • Liked — new and clean and far away enough from the malea strip. only 200m from beach
  • Disliked — not a lot - leaky shower cublicle and a small smashed window
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2007

This was a fantastic set of self catering appartments ten mins walk from the Malia strip where all the bars and clubs are. The block is very new with about 15 rooms. Our room was in very good condition and had a fantastic sea view. I was expecting the rooms to be rubbih but was really surprised by how nice they were.The pool are is really nice a quiet and theres also a 24hr bar which serves food throughout the day. Also the beach is 100m away! They all have air conditioning and safes but we had to pay extra when we arrived.
The cookin equipment is poor however with only a one ring plug in hob but there are loads of cheap resturants nearby.

I would really recommend these appartments. The staff and friendly and the rooms are great. So is malia btw!!!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sebastian59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.2 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
0.3 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Malia
Philoxenia Hotel Malia
#17 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Socrates Hotel
Socrates Hotel
#33 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Notos Heights Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Theodosis Apartments
Theodosis Apartments
#48 of 78 in Malia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammos Apartments & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammos Apartments & Suites

Property: Ammos Apartments & Suites
Address: Parodos Nikolaou Grammatikaki, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece (Formerly Ammos Apartments)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ammos Apartments & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated apartments & Studios, only 100m from the beach and 300m from the center of Malia... Offers a big pool with jacuzzi, snack bar and a well attended garden... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ammos Apartments & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammos Apartments Hotel Malia
Ammos Apartments & Suites Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing