We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parthenis Palace Apartments
Ranked #32 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Malia
liverpool
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“middle of nowhere”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

we stayed here although the rooms and pool was lovely and clean it was in the middle of nowhere. we landed at night so didnt realy see much until the following morning when we went out for breakfast.
the rooms were cleaned every third day bedding on changed twice while we were there. the pool was very overcrowded with the younger ones when they got up from partying most off the night.
the food at the poolside was ok but very basic snacks we found that malia had some lovely places to eat and drink however if you are there with kids make sure you leave the strip early as it can get very busy and there is a lot of idiots around.
try some of the bars on the way back to the appartments as they are ideal for familys if you dont want to go on the strip and most serve food.
if you like a lie in then dont book here as you will most likely get woken up by the maids of the ground staff with the lawn mowers most days and if that doesnt wake you the younger ones will.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 355paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

I went with two friends to Malia and stayed at the Parthenis Palace. We were on a bit of a budget and so had booked an inexpensive hotel, but it worth every penny we paid and more. We were pleasantly surprised, even when arriving late at night and we received a friendly welcome from the guy who showed us to our room. The room was definitely basic, no luxuries, but that suited us fine; it was clean, nicely decorated and just about enough room for the three of us, and although the beds weren't all that comfy, I am extremely fussy when it comes to beds! The next morning we were up early and by the gorgeous pool, it was literally perfect, such a wonderful atmosphere (although very repetitive music). Never a shortage of sunbeds, and shady areas too. We never really ate at the pool bar but the menu loooked good, although fairly pricy, but we did enjoy some lovely cocktails there; the guy behind the bar was really nice too.
We had no problems whilst we were there, room stayed clean and we spent more time in and around the pool than we had intended to, because it was just so lovely! In terms of the area, we had a great time because we were three young, single girls looking for nightlife, but if you don't really fit this sort of category then I would advise somewhere other than Malia, as it really is all about the nightlife and young people. Having said that, if you are looking for a clubbing holiday I totally recommend it - we had a brilliant week! The beach in Malia is crowded, but nice enough and although we didn't partake in any, there seemed to be a lot of watersports available.
The hotel is in a very good location, in terms of getting into the centre of town, but not so on the doorstep that you get a lot of noise. We mostly ate at the small tavernas and restaurants along the main road into the town and these were lovely, providing all sorts of nice food, and we always got a very friendly welcome, and some money off food and drinks in some places!
I noticed some negative comments regarding the area around the hotel and the alley way, which is more of a side road really, to get to the main road...we had no problems, but then again we went everywhere together and never alone, which I would strongly advise.
All in all one of the most fantastic weeks of my life, if i returned to malia, I would not hesitate to stay at the Parthenis once again, and I would encourage anyone thinkning of going to Malia to stay there - I loved it!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank la_polz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

The hotel was very clean and the apartments were nice. The food was very nice aswell. Towards the end the security guards began getting very creepy and also were very moody aswell! The area around the hotel wasnt very nice atall. A girl got raped one night on the way back from the strip in an alley way that you have to go through to get to all the restaurants and bars, which scared us all very much, just dont go anywhere on your own! And be careful the owner tries to get money out of you whatever way he can for example when we turned up the tap in our bathroom was already damaged and they tried to make us pay to repair it which they didnt get away with!
Other than that we had a really good time, i would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget but i would not go back there again!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chels19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

We were impressed with the Parthenis Palace accomodation- clean, comfortable and spacious. The pool area was a nice size and the pool-side bar served a good range of drinks and snacks. However, these apartments were recommended by the travel agents as quiet and relaxing for during the day (since it was located around a 20 minute walk outside the main Malia centre) but instead it was similar to Club 18-30's and was very lively. This did not bother us but we noticed families and older couples staying in the hotel who did not find this suitable for them. Malia itself is very lively and would probably be tailored towards18-20 year olds. Would recommend the Red Dog for food and The Venue and Indie Rock 'n' Roll bars for those who enjoy Indie and Rock music. Was a good, enjoyable holiday, but probably would not return to Malia.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lueez25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on tees
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

booked a last minute trip with thomas cook with some trepidation as i am normally a dedicated diy island hopper.however,as previous posters have said,rooms are fine,basic in a typical greek way but well equipped and the shower had a proper tray so no flooded floors!! pool area and gardens were very nice,exceptionally well maintained and a pleasant area to sit and relax..hotel was quiet during my stay so no evening bar but drinks and snacks available from the pool area during the day served by a charming lady.a nice touch was for the standard 25 euro fee,i was allowed to keep room until collection time of 2am rather than the stated 6pm.this maded a big difference as flight home not until 5.45.i know they were quiet but they did not need to do this so well done ! hotel is well located for the charms of malia and stalis !! and close to the very pleasant beach.handy for buses east or west.i had a thoroughly pleasant time.wouldnt want to be in malia or stalis between june and mid september at any hotel though !!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard130558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I have just come back from staying in this hotel. The room was fairly spacious, with a seperate double-bedroom off the main room. This gave us 2 balconies. The kitchenette was pretty basic, but there's plenty of storage space elsewhere. The maid cleans the rooms every 2 or 3 days.
The poolside area is really nice, with picturesque palm trees overhanging the pool. It's also very clean and tidy. The poolside bar is open til 02:00 [slightly annoying if your room overlooks it], and is manned in the evening by a friendly local guy.

Here is the only real negative point: Whilst the overall owner is reletively friendly and helpful, his son - the General Manager - is not so. He looks quite 'thugish' and unapproachable. When I asked to use the Internet via the PC that sits in the 'common room', his response was simple, "No", with no further explination.

It's location is idea, situated just 10 minutes walk to Stallis and Malia [on either side of the hotel].

If you're staying in this hotel, you also have access to the facilities at the sister hotel, Parthenis Beach Hotel. This too is very beautiful, with it's own private beach area.

Both

Overall, a very nice hotel, but would be improved by changing the Manager.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Second time at Parthenis, great location between malia and stalis. Happy to be out of season, great weather and the best of malia without loads of noise ! Appartments were good with plenty of space, clean and good location not on the main drag of malia but close enough. Family owned but still not quite family atmosphere as younger son runs appartments. Pool and bar area clean and well looked after. Will definately go back again just not in main season. If you go in April expect alot of the main strip to be closed but there is still plenty to do - just not 18-30 activities !
Tips - great restaurant at top of hill Greek Taverna or head to the old town. Malia has much more to offer than bar street ! Great beaches and plenty to explore in suurounding area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TR1Buckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.2 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
0.3 mi away
Socrates Hotel
Socrates Hotel
#33 of 90 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dessole Malia Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Diasselo Apartments
0.2 mi away
SunVillage Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Malia
Philoxenia Hotel Malia
#17 of 90 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parthenis Palace Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parthenis Palace Apartments

Property: Parthenis Palace Apartments
Address: Arsinois Street, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Parthenis Palace Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parthenis Palace Apartments Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing