We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best barman ever”
Review of Hotel Vergas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Vergas
Ranked #44 of 91 Hotels in Malia
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is good just what you need. The rooms have very thing you need. Pool area and bar is perfect. Walking distance with everything. Staff are awesome and so friendly. Sexy mother f####r is the cocktail to ask for! Best prenight drink every. Just don't drink to many! Thanks for a sweet lads holiday Vergas

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henryway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 78 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

we arrived on 31st july 2012, the rooms are basic but clean, the pool area is excellent. We had many a drink at the bar during the day but also a great place to start your night. The staff are so friendly and approachable they went above and beyond to help us. We could not thank them enough!!!! Also all these bad reviews ignore they have cctv all around the complex and we couldn't have felt safer. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kirsty j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I visited this hotel with 6 of my friends in July '12 - it was out first girls holiday. After reading some of the reviews we were a little nervous about the safety and security of our belongings. The whole of the outside area and reception lobby is covered by CCTV. The only downside is that there was no safes in the rooms, there is an option of renting a safe for 10 euros per week but they are located in the lobby and looked a bit risky. Therefore, we kept all of out belongings locked away in our suitcases in our rooms. The rooms were basic but clean, we were given clean sheets and towels once during our stay. We didn't even notice that the maid had been in the room, nothing had been touched - simply the floors swept and towels, sheets replaced. The lady at reception spoke excellent English and was very friendly and helped us arrange our transfers to the airport. The bar staff were also very friendly and would serve you drinks all day if you wished! The food at the pool bar was also great - we chose to stay there for 3 of the nights. The pool itself was great - 3m deep and very clean. The hotel is in a great location to the strip - about a 3 min walk away. Directly opposite the hotel is a road leading down to the beach (about 200m away). There's also 2 supermarkets across the road from the hotel. Many people from other hotels came to use the pool during the day and pre-drink in the pool bar at night.

Overall we had a fantastic time in Malia and I would recommend this hotel to any young people wanting a fun holiday. By far definitely the most ideal place to stay and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PBEVizsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Superficially this hotel seemed great, there was a lovely pool, the rooms were pretty standard but as expected, and the bar staff were brilliant! We had this opinion for most of our holiday, and were surprised as we had seen so many bad reviews before.

However, on our last night, we drank as always at the hotel bar. At around 12 a friend went back to our room and everything was normal. We then went out, and returned back at 5 in the morning, to find our rooms broken into, all our stuff thrown over the room and our phones and money missing. Luckily this was our last day, so there wasn't much money left, but this is why I still believe that this was a theft by the hotel. There were 4 of us in total, 2 rooms with 2 in each. Both our rooms were broken into with exactly the same things gone, and no one else on the floor had any problems. A bit suspicious to say the least...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dh12186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

at first reading some reviews we were a bit nervous but we got there it was amazing!!!
the bar man Aris is literally a legend! sooooo nice and loves to give you strong drinks! i recommend his special cocktail! everyone else that worked there was also amazing. just everyone was down to earth and so nice! always there to help! it is so close to shops/beach and good distance to strip! the hotel rooms are also lovely and the pool is amazing! this hotel definitely made my holiday even more better!!!! I need to go back here asap!!!! you would be silly not to go to this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank den206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I had such a great time in malia. There were 4 of us that went, all girls and all 17. It was our first holiday, and tbh we were pretty nervous, thinking about the security of our belongings and how we would go about keeping our money safe. Everything was brilliant all through the holiday and nothing got taken from our rooms. The staff are lovely, especially aris, the barman! The hotel is really nice, it's small but everybody gets to know everybody and I met some great people, however the rooms are very basic, and our shower was rubbish but you can look past that due to the great atmosphere. The location was perfect for what we wanted- to get ridiculously drunk every night. It's like a 5 min walk into the night life. If your young and want a crazy holiday, then this is for you! Get yourself on the booze cruise! And go to crazy Electra bar before you hit the clubs, it's cheap and brilliant. I love this hotel and wouldn't even think about booking anywhere else if I went back.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hphe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel was terrible, security was rude and abusive and when we tried to report it we would only get more abuse!

The room was disgusting, leaky air conditioning, dirty beds and bathroom.

The holiday rep was non existent in times of need.

Money and electrical goods were stolen from our rooms and when we went to report it we were called liars.

Also as girls we did not feel safe, the security seemed a bit perverted always lingering around us and trying to touch us. We complained but only got abuse.

I do not recommend this hotel, if you want to feel safe and have a good holiday go else where.

Room Tip: Do not bother even looking at the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.2 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
0.4 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#41 of 91 in Malia
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malia Mare Hotel
Malia Mare Hotel
#27 of 91 in Malia
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Socrates Hotel
Socrates Hotel
#22 of 91 in Malia
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vergas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vergas

Address: Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 91 Hotels in Malia
Price Range: $34 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vergas 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vergas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vergas Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing