We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gold Medal in averageness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sergiani Garden Hotel-Apartments
Ranked #2 of 19 Malia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gold Medal in averageness”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Everything about this place is average. OK, it's budget but corners are cut that simply don't warrant a budget price. Our room was dirty, not swept out properly, not mopped properly. In the 2 weeks we stayed the room was cleaned once which meant the bathroom started to smell towards the end of each week. A bug killed on the bathroom mirror mid-holiday was still there when we left. The maid service re-arrange your bed linen, empty your bin and change towels about every other day or so. The pool + bar was OK however if the place is busy it is prone to sunbed reservationists, some cheeky enough to leave their towels for the next day when leaving the previous! The pool bar food, like the restaurant food, was average with little fresh ingredients and a peculiar penchant for putting hot dog sausages in everything! The slushy machine had ants in it. The restaurant, whilst probably having the best appearance of all in the resort served average bland food, even the pizzas were soggy in the middle. Great location though being at the far edge of Stalis if you have a particular bar or restaurant to go to it can take you 20-30 mins. I wouldn't demand to be moved if I arrived here and we had a good holiday however I wouldn't recommend people stay here. If you do, safety deposit boxes were €22/2 weeks and Air Con was €88!! staggering, we stayed in August and you can get by without it. Other top tip, don't book with Thomas Cook tours, going to Knossos and Spinalonga we, as a couple, saved £48 booking at an office on the road and it's the same blumin' trip!

Room Tip: Rooms are in 4 blocks: Block 1 is above the restaurant and faces the road however no-one complained...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peahead99_Bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    46
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just got back from Sergiani garden after another wonderful stay at this place. The rooms are basic but have everything you need. The apartments although are not scrubbed spotless every day (if you don't live like an animal this is not an issue anyway) the bedding and towels are changed on a very regular basis. Sergiani and his wife are very friendly and I would recommend these apartments to friends. The restaurant is authentic and service was excellent even though it gets very busy due to it's good reputation. The pool bar staff make you feel happy and relaxed. Thank you Sergiani I will enjoy my bottle of wine!!! Xxx

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaColton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at the Sergiani in July 2012 and had a great time. Our apartment was small but since we only really were in it to sleep it didn't matter. Maid service was fine with towels changed every few days and bedding changed once a week. The self catering facilities were good enough for making a small snack during the day but we ate out most of the time anyway.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and we quickly became a target for one of the dogs, Nico who always came to sit next to us if we were having breakfast or lunch. They don't scrounge for food though as I think they were the best fed dogs on the island!
The pool area was nice and bar staff lovely but we went across the road every day to the Pella Sofia. This was just because it was a quieter hotel and had a lot more sunloungers.
We ate in the restaurant a lot for breakfast and lunch but went to other restaurants often for dinner. The Sergiani was lovely and the food was great but there's so much choice on the strip it was nice to have some different scenery.
The location of the hotel was perfect, it was within the main resort and about a 5 minute walk to the beach. Also about 5 minutes away was the main hub of restaurants and bars however there was still places to eat and drink directly outside the apartments. Malia was a 15 minute walk in the other direction, we went in a couple of times but Stalis has more than enough to keep you entertained.
Overall, it was a great holiday and if we venture back to Stalis we will definitely be going to the Sergiani again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Embleton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

First of all stalls is a lovely resort, and the location of these apartments is perfect as it is within walking distance of all the local amenities. We flew to crete with thomas cook from Newcastle. the flights there and back were on time (which is a first for me flying with them) Although on the return journey we had to Que outside the airport as it is tiny and very manic.

When we First arrived at the hotel we were welcomed by mrs Sergiani who seemed slightly surprised at the bus pulling up outside, but then took us to our room and gave us a key for the safe deposit box. It was quite late when we arrived and we were very hungry to went to the sergiani restaurant at the front of the apartments, the food here was nice but not the best we had in stalls.

The room which we had was very basic as you would expect for a 2 star accommodation. However the bathroom wasn't as clean as you would expect. The maid service at this hotel didn't really exist, we got our bin emptied on the second day along with some fresh towels (one of which had a hole in it). We then didn't get any fresh towels and didn't get our bin emptied for the rest of our stay. Outside the room which we were staying in were a few trees which seemed to have some sort of cricket type bug living in them and they made constant voice 24/7 which resulted in many nights of difficulty trying to get to sleep.

The pool area at the hotel is wonderful, its rather small but there are only a few apartments to be sharing it. The staff working on the pool bar were lovely and the food served there was good too, however the drinks were a little pricey. We never failed to find a sun bed either. Again though the pool itself wasn't the cleanest iv seen.

Overall we had a lovely stay in stalls, crete and i would go to crete again in the future. However i would not go back to the sergiani apartments unless they had resolved there cleanliness issues.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guthrie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

we stayed at the sergiani from 19th aug to 1st sept, location is great on the beach road about 5 mins to most things like the beach.. restaurants pubs etc, about 15 mins to malia (had a walk there once not for us thank you) no complaints about the apartments there a decent size & good that they have window shutters which men't we didn't use air con (45 euro per week) with windows open & the shutters ajar the room was more than cool enough at night which was a nice surprise in august..the only slight downside for us was the pool area just lacked a little something & we used the sophia apartments across the road & preferred there's much more (but this is just a personal thing on our behalf ) the room was clean enough for us & towels changed regular (just put them on the floor in corner of the bathroom when you want them changed) stalis is a lovely resort we really enjoyed it (going back 2012)...we had meals at loads of restaurants including the sergiani's & all meals where terrific never had a bad one, had fun at the beechcomber bar the lads at the bar are a good laugh if you sit there they have a good bit chat with you while making up cocktails etc...this was our first time in Greece & found the local lovely all in all you will have a great time in stalis & a pleasant stay at the sergiani

Room Tip: the Greek night was a great trip.. traditional dancing-food-wine all in for 35 euro book with the Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

I travelled to these apartments with my mother, sister and a friend. We booked a cheap last minute deal for a girly week away. The apartments were very basic but they were fine for our needs. We loved the location and Stalis is a lovely resort. The staff at the apartments were great and always made us laugh! Considering we travelled in October, the weather was great! We travelled at the end of the month so the resort was closing down. We spent many days at the beach as it was a very short walk and the beach was beautiful. Stalis is a great place and I will definately visit again soon!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank njs91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

Stayed at Sergiani beginning of June 2011. Apartments are basic but are comfortable and very well maintained. They were cleaned regularly and towels changed when required.
I stayed in a studio facing the main road and I was not disturbed by road noise.
The owners and staff are super frendly and the restaurant is one of the best in Stalis.
Overall very nice. If you want 5 star accomodation please do not book these studios. Please bear in mind that they are basic but they are extremely friendly, convenient, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Madazahatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.4 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 54 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kernos Beach Hotel
Kernos Beach Hotel
#9 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Latania
Latania
#4 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Matamy Beach Hotel
Matamy Beach Hotel
#14 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Beach Hotel
High Beach Hotel
#7 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sergiani Garden Hotel-Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sergiani Garden Hotel-Apartments

Property: Sergiani Garden Hotel-Apartments
Address: Tagmatarchou Grammatikaki Nik., Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Sergiani Garden Hotel-Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sergiani Garden Hotel-Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sergiani Garden Hotel-Apartments Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing