We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My best holidays.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mistral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mistral Hotel
Ranked #37 of 95 Hotels in Malia
1 review
“My best holidays.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The location of the hotel is fantastic, 2 sec from the strip. The staff was wonderfull and helpfull, espesially Ioanna. The rooms were basic but very clean, also you can take air-condition and safe deposit box and there not expensive. We had everything we want in the bar, nice food and coctails in a normal price. LOVE IT. We had the best holidays at the Mistral and in malia. Defenetly we coming. Back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bebel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    10
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

hotel is well located just seconds off the strip, we had issues in the hotel with larger groups of people causing trouble in the hotel e.g throwing up on our balcony, but not much we can do about that.
the security guy at night is great, he sit outs we everyone around the pool at night and is a laugh... it is 20 euros if you want to bring back a visitor (if you catch my drift.. hotel rule). we found all staff friendly but rooms could do with more regular service and more towel changing, showers were anything special either. but they have decent food on offer and you have all the basics you require,
you can pay more for a better hotel but theirs no point, you'll hardly be in there and it wont have a better location as this one,
reps are terrible all they are our sales people working on commission, if you don't buy they packages they wont give you the time of day.
side note - avoid renting quad bikes MASSIVE CON,and check out lush bar its the best bar out there with the calmest promoters.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel is located 10 metres from the main strip. This means it's a prime location when going out which is probably why you're going Malia. However the downside is you can hear music from clubs till 6am.

Stayed for one week. Towels (4 small ones) were only replaced once. Sheets never replaced. Room never cleaned. Complained politely twice to hotel staff but was told this is their rules. Staff especially the owner very rude. Paid 50 euro for air con but it never worked and staff wouldn't help fix it.

Residences up till 6am knocking on your door drunk and playing music. Fair enough their up as its party central. Just occasionally when we got early nights to do things the next day could never sleep. No security or staff at night to calm people down.

Only single beds available and bathroom is very small. Shower just on a wall with no backing so the whole bathroom gets wet and is too low so you have to shower holding it. Hot water only turned on at noon so cold shower in the morning. No television in the room.

Pool small but nice. One of us got an eye infection from the pool. Plays good music 24/7.

Overall good location for nights out. Bad sides never cleaned/ rude staff/ very hot rooms.

Loved Malia would go again. Better hotels with larger pools available in same location for similar price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maesteg, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

spent a week here with my friends, four of us altogether, two in each room. rooms we basic but clean and we had everything we needed. the best thing about this hotel was the location, literally a second away from the strip and all the best bars and night clubs. handy when your strolling home sloshed! hotel staff were lovely and over all malia was just amazing! do advise to get aircon, which is 50 euro for the week but sooo worth it because its so hot! we also hired a saftey deposit box for the week to keep passports, money etc and that was also worth it having piece of mind our belongings were safe. would go back to malia in a second and deffo stay at this hotel. best holiday i have ever been on, such amazing memories!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

Had the best time of my life here - Staff are lovely, especially Amy behind the bar (try an Amy Special as a cocktail - best ever!) and the legend that is Mario!! Hotel is right on the strip, literally less than a minutes walk. Beach about a 10 minute walk (if you're walking slow and hungover like we were). Loads of clubs and bars around down the strip, don't listen to what people say about not being able to get deals, we managed to get some everywhere we went. We didn't buy the package of trips available from the rep, but we did the School Disco and the Party In The Park. Both were fantastic, School Disco always fun to dress up, but Party In The Park was the best trip ever. Free bar for an hour meant me and my friends literally stood at the bar getting drink after drink, and having shots poured into our mouths, we were all smashed by 5pm. Love it! Obviously sleep isn't an option in a hotel like this, but that isn't really the aim on a holiday to Malia!! Met some amazing people in the hotel too, and our rep Rocket was a legend. Decided our one week holiday wasn't enough, so the Mistral were more than helpful and gave us good rates to keep our room for as many nights as we needed it. Maids were lovely and changed our sheets and towels regularly, we did run out of toilet paper but it's only a euro for four rolls, not exactly an issue to get more. Pool area has music all day, and although not huge it stays in the sun all day and there are enough sun loungers to not have to get up early to get one. Overall, banging holiday and if I'm ever in Malia again this will be my hotel of choice!!

Room Tip: Room with a pool view means you can see who's around when you get up, always helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paigee_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

amazing hotel, Great staff, The hotel is right in the middle of the malia strip so if you know how to have a good time then this is the place 4 you!!! the staff made me and my friends feel so welcome and george the security guard alawys made sure we wer safe!!! we all loved it and are going back next year. xx

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carriexx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

The Mistral Hotel was the best choice we made during our trip to the Greek Islands. The owners were a complete treat to get to know. They constantly went out of their way. The room was wonderful. The hotel was very quaint and a great value!

Choose this Hotel if you have the option.

Paul and Karen

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank pauls633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.0 mi away
Silver Sun Studios & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Velissarios Hotel
Velissarios Hotel
#91 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Efi
#62 of 95 in Malia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#15 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.0 mi away
Triton Hotel
Triton Hotel
#49 of 95 in Malia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mistral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mistral Hotel

Property: Mistral Hotel
Address: 109 Dimokratias, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 95 Hotels in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mistral Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Mistral Hotel Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing