We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall - convenient hotel to stay and travel Eastern Crete”
Review of High Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
High Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 90 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overall – convenient hotel to stay and travel Eastern Crete”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

It is around *** hotel. It is a small descent hotel with its own private but small and crowded beach. The sea water is fantastic. The small island Agia Varvara around 150-200 m from the shore with the small chapel on it makes swimming even more enjoyable. It is a popular place to stay among Russians. Other tourists are mostly Easter European and Greeks. While staying in the hotel it worth to rent a car to travel around and see more remote places.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gg_rst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgoshigh, Manager at High Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
thank you for your good words
we love to see happy customers
hope to see you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    89
    40
    7
    6
See reviews for
113
108
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised as even the tour agent told us that Greek All Inclusive is a far cry from the Turkish version, but the food was excellent, the sandy beach is perfect (we love large waves).
The superior room was a bit undersized, but still we had a table, flat tv, air conditioning. Internet is rather poor, but at least it is dirt cheap compared to other hotel facilities in Greece (5 EUR for 10+10 hours).
Do not expect much from drinks, it is the same as in Turkey: too sweet, carbonated, etc.
Fortunately Russian and British hords (drunken youngsters driving quads, entertained by cage fights) stay in the downtown area of Malia, you could not even hear their noise from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank msz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Grand_Travel, General Manager at High Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your summer holidays .
we are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.
It was a pleasure for us to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Our room was bright and spacious and very clean, it had everything we needed including tea and coffee making facilities. the bathroom was a good size and the amenities were adequate, all the qualities of a 4 star hotel. the pool was great, our room opened out onto the pool area which was brilliant for an early morning dip. We were on an all inclusive package so I was pleasantly suprised to find that the food was excellent, some cuisine and some basic food, a huge choice, even though the hotel was quiet, there was something to suit everyone. Every member of staff in this hotel was friendly and helpfull at all times. The hotel is in a great position right on the beach amongs several bars, but our room was back in a bit so nice and quiet at night and the room seemed very sound proof, even the A/C was quiet. The hotel is only a short walk to the shops and night life. Only one small point that I found a bit irritating, there was no tourist information or leaflets about things to do in the reception area. But in all this is a great place to stay

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LindaMarklew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Besancon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

A small elegant hotel with 87 fine decorated rooms, located directly on the beach, in a walking distance from the villages of Malia & Stalis and only 30 minutes from Aghio Nicolaos & Heraklion international airport & port.
A convenient spot for those who dream to discover the island and its beauties.

Two fresh water Swimming Pools, one Children Pool, an open air Jacuzzi, 3 Bars, 2 Restaurants, Beauty Salon, small Fitness "Elixir Center" with Steam Room,Sauna, Massage service, Gym room, Children Playground, Mini Market-Kiosk and well maintained Gardens. Water sports and a fantastic golden Sandy Beach, are at our guests disposal. Wireless Internet is accessible through out the hotel.

All rpoms are equipped with individual A/C units, mini fridge, LCD SAT-TV Set, Hair dryer, safety box, Tea & Coffee facilities, direct Dial Telephone, WC/Shower of bath tab with Bath Amenities, Balcony or Terrace providing all the necessary confort of a 4 Stars hotel. In addition all VIP Rooms and Suites Feature Jacuzzi or Hydro massage bathrooms, King Size Beds, CD/DVD player and deluxe amenities.

Our All Incusive packages (Basic & Prenium have been carefully put together in order to meet our guests requirements.

International & Traditional entertainment programs take place almost everyday around the season and a special program for kids in July & August.

It is our aim to serve you with respect and make your holiday dreams a pleasant memory...

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank ElieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

in the site of this hotel is write : "High Beach, a 4* hotel with 5* services"..but there is a 2* hotel with 1* services!bad foods (only baked fish,not seafood.not grilled fish..), bad beverages (I have all inclusive premium, with international beverages, but is not true..all is local!!)Beatle in the room, bad service in the reception, not an elevator, the wine is in not in bottle, the beer is only in small glasses (to have a big glass you must pay..is it logical?!?!?!?!), cats in the restaurant!!
I'm very disappointed..High Beach is a 2* hotel with 1* services!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lollo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.1 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.9 mi away
Cretan Malia Park
Cretan Malia Park
#8 of 90 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dessole Malia Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Kernos Beach Hotel
Kernos Beach Hotel
#9 of 90 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carolina Mare
Carolina Mare
#13 of 90 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Beach Hotel

Property: High Beach Hotel
Address: High Beach, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — High Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel High Beach is situated directly on the beach, 800m from the village of Malia, 35km from the city of Heraklion, airport and port. The hotel is under new ownership/management fully renovated winter 2007-2008. The hotel is divided into 4 buildings, consists of 87 elegant guests rooms decorated boutique style, providing accommodation facilities of 54 superior rooms, 16 superior family 1bedroom rooms, 6 superior double-story maisonettes and 11 executive junior and family suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your High Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Beach Hotel Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing