We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perrrrfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hermes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hermes
Ranked #72 of 95 Hotels in Malia
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perrrrfect!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have no idea where the bad reviews are coming from......Myself and two friends were staying in room 205 (First floor - referb rooms). The room was large and roomy - couldn't ask for more :) The shower was a bit annoying as you had to hold the shower head but apart from that it was great! The rooms were cleaned every day, no complaints :) The utensils were dirty but that was expected from an 18-30's hotel. However, the pool bar downstairs was amazing - English breakfast for €2.50, can't go wrong. People complaining about the noise clearly have no idea what the point of a club 18-30 holiday is - People will be noisy when they're drunk. I slept really well. Overall the stay was great and just what I was looking for. The staff were very polite and friendly :) The hotel is litterally a two minute walk from the strip! There is also a small supermarket right outside the hotel, very handy :) THANKSSS!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the ground or first floor, they are refurbished. (you can request when you boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britishtourist-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    34
    18
    13
    30
See reviews for
1
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Well i work in a hotel in england so i was very scared about reading the reviews.. And with how cheap it was we didnt expect much! There was 3 of us and we stayed on the first room 203! Was clean tidy massive enough room for us all! Massive balcony! Only bad thing is the shower is horrible but u get use to it! Pool area is lovely bar is cheap food is great and like €4 for each thing on the menu! Reps were jordan n dan they were wicked always there when needed! Events were wicked white party bar crawl was the best! Did nearly all the events anyway! Dont know why people are complaining about noise u know ur in an 18-30 hotel so its gonna be noisy into early hours but everyone in the hotel was lovely so if u tell people to shutup they will do! Everyones complained about anna shes amazing be nice to her buy her a shot of raki! And she'll love you ( play club tropicana) she loves that song! Staff were brill! Strip was really close 2 min walk! Restaurants round the area was great! 18-30 werent really my thing but if i ever went to do it again in malia id come here!!!! Dont listen to the bad reviews!!!! Thanks hermes!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Ignore all the bad reviews.....I'm very honest about my hotel stays and I really couldn't fault Hotel Hermes Studios!!

We got there gone midnight and were checked into our room within 5 minutes. Our Reps Jordan and Dan introduced themselves and were so friendly, they were brilliant fun all week!

Our room was big and spacious for 3 of us on the first floor but from previous reviews we knew the rooms for 3 were better than rooms of 2! It was clean and tidy and we moved it around to how we wanted it :) the shower was a it crap but then again they always are abroad! Apparently our room was VIP as we had a shower curtain which made us chuckle! There was enough plates and cutlery for all of us for the week.

The cleaners are a bit rude but I think that's because they don't speak much English, we got our bins emptied every day, towels changed once in the week but bedding doesn't get changed but that didn't bother us. The food is cheap and very nice at the hotel but I'd say the drinks are a bit overpriced. Its a 10 minute walk to the strip and SPAR shop which is ideal. The swimming pool is big enough for 18-30s and the deep end is really deep for messing around and jumping in.

The entertainment was good....i would say the foam and paint party are the best in the whole week we had and we never stopped laughing! We went the 1st week of the season so was a bit quiet for our liking but still had a brilliant time! We all said we would recommend and go back :)

If your a light sleeper i would take ear plugs but to be honest you dont go on a 18-30s holiday to have decent nights sleep every night....we didnt sleep brilliantly and had fights outside our room sometimes but we just laughed it off. People always have fall outs when have had a few to drink!

Just lighten up and enjoy yourselves :)

Room Tip: Go in groups of 3 as your more likely to get a bigger room on the first floor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannii2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

As a group of 4 we booked two rooms and after seeing the hotel's website and also pictures in the brochure assumed we were getting decent spacious rooms. Couldn't have been more wrong, we were put into the top floor rooms, which are tiny and compared to the other rooms and a bit of a joke compared to the other rooms. We complained to our rep who said that this was due to the fact the lower floor rooms sleep 3 and as we booked 2 rooms for 2 we weren't eligible for them although did say we could ask at reception. However in our second week, we found out there were parties of 2 staying in the other rooms and as we arrived in the first week of the season couldn't understand why we were made to take the poorer quality rooms.
Also EVERYNIGHT up till about 6.30am, people constantly run along the corridors screaming and banging doors, I know everyone can be drunk and you should expect some noise but this was another level completely, they have CCTV on each corridor which is pointless because they don't even do anything about the ones who are hammering doors at 5 every morning and night - bring earplugs if you want a decent sleep!
Another issue is the cleanliness, the communal areas - pool, reception etc are all fine, however the maids who are meant to change sheets, towels ect twice a week are rubbish...Our sheets and towels were changed once throughout our two weeks and then due to the fact the towels were then dirty (due to having to constantly dry the bathroom floor as the showers leak everywhere and some are missing curtains) they tried to charge us although we got away without having to pay as we complained to both our rep and the owner. One thing I didn't expect was the depth of the pool - roughly 3m the whole way round apart from to steps which you can stand, this is ok if you an swim but two in our group aren't the best swimmers so it wasn't much good for them..The pool bar's food and drinks aren't bad and decently priced (3.50 for toastie and chips, 3.50 spirit mixer, 5 for cocktail) although the alcohol they serve which is apparently 'local' spirits aren't that nice or drinkable esp the vodka - never on a holiday have I tasted local drinks as bad as the ones in Malia..
Overall our holiday wasn't completely awful, the hotel is in an excellent location as it 2 mins from top of the strip but a good 20-25min walk from the beach (at other end of the strip)...would potentially go back to Hermes, however you are better to bring own bedding and towels due to the overpriced breakages/damages lists - 20€ towel,30€ bedsheet...just be careful.

Room Tip: Try and avoid getting a top floor room...second floor is probably best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x2sd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very friendly staff that worked there, great location, 10 minute walk to the strip.. Food good and the pool and around the pool very nice! The rooms was just about OK but you cant expect anymore from a 18-30 trip.. Was very pleased, would definitely go back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abbieporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

What more could you want.. A lively, entertaining, friendly hotel!
After reading loads of reviews we had mixed emotions before booking up! With people slating the reps, hotel and staff.. When arriving we were all shocked to realise it was morden, friendly and a lively atmosphere! Check in was quick - give passports recieve room key (probably the safest place for your passports anyways). The reps came in and gave us a separate welcome meeting thing which was great instead of a massive group one like usually done, we had 2 girls Becky and Adele and they were bosh amazing and funny! There was 9 of us and Becky came in full of banter baring in mind it's was around 5am! (But don't let that put you off) it was quick, fun and she gave us all the information we needed... We didn't feel pressurised into buying events but in the end we nearly bought everything!
The trips are exactly what they say they are on the hand outs value for money although sometimes they start abit too early! Ad definitely advise to do Silent Disco.. Boat Booze Cruise.. The house night and the neon party they were all amazing! The reps involvement was more than expected with always around.. Mixing well and making the hotel one big group by far the best club18-30 experience!!
Make sure you go to te legendary Party night the reps through at the hotel and get the BBQ for €5 you can't go wrong!
Maids came around nearly everyday although you do have to buy your own toliet roll when it runs out so don't have a heart attack when they tell you! Anna at reception is amazing and there if you need her just make sure you get on with her and your not rude.. You also see a crazy little old lady running around by careful she often goes off on one shouting in geek!
Malia's amazing and right on the door step! Ask the reps for the best places to go.. As it might change around next year but our faves where safari for the urban music and zigzag for the house! Banana's Candy and zoo bar!
Overall Hermes was amazing.. Club18-30 didn't let us down and Malia was ace! Just booked to go back next year!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell_04_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed in Hermes in August 2012, we went in a group of 7 girls and we had the best time ever. when we arrived we checked in and everything was fine, we were split in to a 3 and 2 2's. Been in the group of 3 I was lucky enough to get one of the refurbished rooms on floor 2, as the 3rd floor was no where near as nice. The reps then sold us loads of events which is a big mistake as you can get it all on the strip for cheaper! The rooms were basic but for 18-30 they were not bad at all. The shower doesnt have a curtain but if your going on a crazy party holiday thats the last thing you had on your mind. The facilities in the kitchen wern't great but we never cooked anyway theres a spar round the corner which is cheap and we just bought alcohol for pre-drinks and stuff from there. Its like a couple of minutes walk to the top of the strip, and about 20 minutes to the beach if that. Quads are a great idea! we got one for 50 euros for 3 days and they are so much fun! well worth it.
The bar staff are lovely, the receptionist man Leo is a bit pervy but he is greek. Everynight before we went out we had the speakers on full and so did everyone else the staff didn't complain once. & as for security we were never robbed, we didnt buy a safe i literally left my money and stuff everywhere and nothing was stolen, the air con works wonderfully and is recommended!
the pool is great aswell, plenty of sun loungers, music played all day, the pool bar was decent aswell think it was like 5 euro for a toastie/panini, chips and a drink.
If your wanting a party holiday, with no families/kids and your not that bothered about having an amazing 5* room this is the hotel for you, perfect for first holidays! i would definatly return to this hotel, and am returning to malia next year, absolutely amazing!

Room Tip: try and get a room on the 2nd floor! and facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malia245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.4 mi away
Villa Diasselo Apartments
0.0 mi away
Sunshine Complex
Sunshine Complex
#67 of 95 in Malia
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malia Mare Hotel
Malia Mare Hotel
#32 of 95 in Malia
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stelios Apartments
Stelios Apartments
#70 of 95 in Malia
71 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#6 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermes

Property: Hotel Hermes
Address: Venizelou Eleftheriou, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 95 Hotels in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hermes 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Hermes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hermes Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing