We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday ever!!!! Be careful of extra charges”
Review of Stonewell Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stonewell Studios
Ranked #49 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went to Malia for a week on the 6th of August 2013, there was a group of 4 of us. We had the best holiday of our lives. Stonewell is the perfect location 2 seconds from the strip and 2 minutes from the beach. The bar staff were really friendly and lovely and made us feel at home instantly. David was lovely also, who is the guy who welcomes people in, giving us free shots and drinks. He is a bit of a flirt but its to be expected on this sort of holiday.
Tim the security guard was nice but you have to respect his rules and don't piss him off. He doesn't like noise when you're coming home and will yell at you if you're making too much, but always the next day he is smiling again, it was hard to work out if he liked us or not. You have to pay 25 euros to bring someone back and if you think you can sneak someone in, you cant.

The food was lovely and well priced, would recommend the jumbo breakfast and milkshakes. The pool is lovely but would recommend heading down early if you want a sun bed! Rooms were basic but if you're on an 18-30 holiday there isn't much more you need. There is a supermarket next door to the hotel so you can go and get food and drinks very easily. (Also the guy who works in the supermarket is the most lovely guy ever and always willing to help you out!)

We had a great holiday but it was slightly dampened by the massive fine we incurred on the last day of the holiday. We had been warned by our rep at the start of the holiday that the hotel doesn't like stains on the sheets but we did not realize how extortionate the prices were. The cleaner changed our bed sheets twice the whole week and even when we got new sheets they had stains on the already. However on the last day we got told we were being fined 240 euros between the 4 of us for sheets which only had a bit of make up and fake tan on which comes out with one wash and they refused to give us back our passports unless we paid. We even offered to take them to the launderette and wash them ourselves and try and get the marks out rather than paying money which we had not budgeted for or expected. Despite this they told us we were not allowed to do that as they "didn't trust the chemicals". We understand that we were fined as our sheets were dirty its just the fact that they told us on the last day of our holiday when we had no money left and the ridiculous price of it. All of the girls who were checking out at the same time were having to pay fines for their sheets as well, its inevitable as a girl to get a bit of make up on your sheets. Also, when talking to another girl she told us how the cleaner had found and charged her for what looked like red slush dripped down one of the beds in her room. However she told us how she and her partner had only been drinking sprite and that sort of drinks and so it hadn't been them. So watch out, and perhaps if you can stay in your room when the cleaner is in there.

Overall however I would strongly recommend Stonewell Studios and all the staff, the pool, the food and the bar is all lovely and made our holiday, however, take your own sheets or take them off and don't sleep on them!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 122 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

I expected stonewell to be a bit of a [--] after some of the reviews I read but I absolutely loved staying there. I stayed for two weeks this july with my friend and we had the best holiday possible. perfect location 2 seconds from the strip, good facilities and room was good enough for what we paid. basic but you don't need anything special when your only spending a few hours in the room anyway when your either asleep or getting ready.
staff there were amazing. Dina in the restaurant looked after us so well felt like a mum to us for two weeks, miss her banter already and ive only been home a week! Martha and jannis were general legends although they were responsible for some of the drunken states I found myself in. (don't do raki, you will die). Dafyd the pr was a general bellend aslong as your not the naïve sort of girl who will fall for his awful charm youll be fine. tim the security man was my bestfriend for two weeks, I sat with him every night, well usually about 8am whilst trying to sober up before bed, we also had some trouble with a lad from another hotel who became a bit of a stalker so tim sorted it and next thing you know he was moved to the other side of the island. all the staff are lovely aslong as you give them the respect they deserve they will look after you. make sure you go to reflex on the strip as its easily the best bar in malia. if I came back I would definitely stay here again given the chance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BECCA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Holiday to remember and that was partly due to the staff who made us feel so welcome and made sure we were looked after. Me and three other girls stayed at this hotel and it is exactly what you need for a girls holiday. Rooms were basic but had everything that you needed.
The on site resteraunt served cheap but good food and alcohol is cheap aswell. The bar also had a happy hour that served 2 for 5 euro cocktails which was served by very friendly bar staff.
The staff from the hotel and resteraunt honestly made our holiday as good as it was. Strongly recommend this hotel if you are looking for somewhere affordable and in a prime location as its right near the strip and a 2 minuite walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Facing the pool to get sun on balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becm95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Me and two other girls did not stay in this hotel we stayed down the road at philoxenia but we ate out quite alot at this restaurant food was lovely and staff were really nice especially the lady she always recommended things for us to have, the chicken baguette was nice and everything tasted fresh. One thing I would say is dont be put of by the mouldy cocktails in the fridge for display! Haha! X

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWOLFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Me and 5 other girls stayed in the Stonewell last week. We read reviews before heading over so we had an idea of what to expect, we brought our own sheets and towels then left everything there at the end of our holiday, just so didn't have to worry about extra charges! It worked out perfect for us!

The rooms are really basic, but have everything you need for an 18-30 holiday, the pool area is great and music starts around 11 in the morning and plays until the evening.

The staff at the stonewell (especially the restaurant) are great, we got to know EVERYONE on a first name basis and were able to have a laugh with them. Food is amazing, and the cocktails from Yannis are even better!

The location is perfect... Everything is within walking distance, and takes about 2 mins to get to the strip which is full of bars, clubs and restaurants and about 5mins to the beach

We had a great holiday here, the staff in the stonewell restaurant really made it for us and would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Me and five of my friends stayed here the week before last, and we were not disappointed! The staff greeted us with a friendly welcome and made us feel right at home. When you arrive you pay roughly £60 for air con(which is optional) and for a safe. The safes are down stairs and takes two keys to unlock, they are very secure and the whole hotel is safely guarded by the lovely security guard called Tim, who insured no one who wasn't staying at the hotel entered the building.

The rooms were cleaned every other day, and you can request older (slightly) stained sheets if your worried about the whole "30 euro fine" for getting makeup on them. The room had everything you needed i.e pots, pans, cups, cutlery, wardrobe mirror ect.. and we loved staying there. I noticed other people moaned about there room not being cleaned, but if your there why the cleaners are trying to do their job, it's simply because they don't want to disturb you so they wait till next time to clean.

The pool is really relaxing and the water was clean which is always a bonus!! There is a waiter/bar man who works there called Tom who is always friendly and happy to help!

The hotel is in the perfect location with a reasonably priced shop (especially for alcohol) next door, and being a 5 minute walk away from the strip the night life was round the corner and amazing, but we also got a good nights sleep too because it wasn't too noisy.

The main part of the holiday we were impressed by was the outstanding food of the stone well restaurant. Some foods are cheap i.e english breakfast just 3 euros!!, other ranging about 8-10 euros, it may seem expensive but for the huge amount of good quality, freshly cooked food you get.. it fills you up for the whole day and is defiantly worth it!! All the staff are really sociable and the whole atmosphere of the hotel and restaurant is so relaxing and nice.

I'd advise this place to any other 18-30s looking for somewhere to stay in Malia.

Room Tip: I stopped in room 202, it looked over the road but the mountain view behind was gorgeous, it was als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fallon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

After reading some of the reviews on here, me and my friends didn't know what to expect from this hotel. We had the best week of our lives at this hotel in Malia! For an 18-30's hotel we all expected the worst but were pleasantly surprised! The rooms are all clean but basic but its only a place to sleep and shower when you're on holiday anyway, so why does it matter how basic they are and what more do you expect for an 18-30's hotel really. If you go on an 18-30's holiday to be picky about your bed and room then you're going away with the wrong company!

The hotel is in a perfect location it is a two minute walk from the bottom of the strip and a 5 minute walk (if that) to the beach! there is a shop located next door which give you discount on alcohol and stuff if you say you're from stonewell! the pool is chilled and everyone in the hotel gets on too! The restaurant sells beautiful food and we ate here most of the time for convenience and because it was really nice food at fairly cheap prices! The drinks are averagely priced here too just like anywhere in malia, but we found that the drinks from here were stronger, bigger and more worthy than the drinks in some of the bars, you get at least twice as much for the same price so we pre-drank here most nights and got trollied before we even hit the strip, knowing our drinks were not being watered down or given tiny measures.

The only reason this hotel has so many bad reviews is because if you had a rubbish holiday you will complain about it, if you had a good holiday the last thing which crosses your mind is to tell trip adviser how good your time was!

All of the staff are lovely at this hotel, easy to get on with and it feels like you have known them for years! Tim, the security man is lovely, he keeps you safe all holiday, even a simple 'EYHHHHH' makes people run away. Yes you do have to pay to take someone back to your room at night, but this made us feel so safe knowing there wasn't strangers rooming around the corridors! and it isnt just here where you have to pay either, most places charge for someone to come at night. my answer to this would be just bang on the beach, its a two minute walk away... either that or bang someone who is already in you hotel, problem solved!!!!

They are extremely hot on charging for stained bed sheets at this hotel, dirt is guaranteed to happen when you are on a girls/lads holiday! however, if you ask the hotel for sheets which have already been stained to be put on your bed you do not get charged a penny! the sheets have been washed and ARE clean but they have tiny stains on which would not bother you if you are going on an 18-30's holiday anyway compared to some of the sights you will see!! my advice would be to ask for these on arrival and not worry about being fined at the end of your stay!

IGNORE ALL OF THE BAD REVIEWS on here!!! we had the best week of our life's here and did not want to leave! my only advice would be to ask for bed sheets which have already been stained (they are clean) and if you get on with the staff there they treat you with respect and are the loveliest people you will come across! do not let the bad reviews knock you! oh and the rep for this hotel in summer 2013 is one of the best people you will ever meet! could not have wished for a better rep!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalalala967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
1.0 mi away
Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kristalli Hotel Apartments
0.6 mi away
Royal Heights Resort
Royal Heights Resort
#6 of 91 in Malia
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
0.6 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
0.7 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewell Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewell Studios

Address: Grammatikakis Street, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece (Formerly Hotel Stone Well)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range: $27 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Stonewell Studios 1*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Stonewell Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewell Studios Hotel Malia
Stonewell Studios Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing