We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice in Greek style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phaedra Beach Hotel
Ranked #70 of 91 Hotels in Malia
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed a week at Phaedra Beach with my parents and younger sister. It was appropriate for chilling and doing nothing besides going to the swimming pool and beach; everything was near.
The food was good. I really enjoyed it. Also, it was clean all over the place. The rooms were cleaned everyday. The showers from the pool and beach were really useful.
As many already said, the sunbeds from the pool were reserved with towels before 7 a.m.. Of course, one could have them removed and occupy the sunbeds, but what followed depended on the diplomacy of the "victim". The ones from the beach costs 3 euros each. The beach was nice, rocky after the entrance in the sea, but a TIP: go in the little golf (direction west); it is really close and has rocks only on the sides.
It is a place with many rooms and there are all types of people there. The noisy young crows can disturb, but they don't spend much time there. If one keeps the windows open the noise from outside is to be heard (also after 11 p.m.). It depends on how easy one can sleep. I had no problems.
As a whole it is a nice place and I recommend it to people who have not really high expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ana-Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 234 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Was amazed by the cleanliness, most of all of the pool area. Food was good and staff really friendly. It's situated right on the beach but for those without any means of transport whom would like to visit the busy nightlife area it's more than 30-45min walk. The room was very clean but also very small, didnt bother me much as you only need the room for shower & sleep :) On the other hand the pool area is excellent and very spacious...On the whole it was an excellent stay....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JOSEPH_Caruana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

And again a nice holiday in Phaedra beach Malia !

Everything was nice and tidy , the staff like always very friendly.
The Hotel is not a grand luxe hotel, for that price it would be impossible .
But in my opinion the price/quality is great!

And to be honest (somebody mentioned before) the doors of the rooms are noisy.
but thats the only small point i have.
This year there were more russians than the year before but to be honest there wasn't any problem!

I can recommend this hotel to young couples or families with a small to medium budget.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank suby555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel for a week this summer 2012 with two kids (3 and 12 years old). The room was nice and clean, we had frigde, which helped a lot to save money :) We didn't take all inclusive, so we bought some food in the nearest shops. The supermarket on the left of the hotel is a bit cheaper that on the right.Although both are rather expencive comparing with big supermarkets in the center of Malia or Agios Nikolaos.
The food in the hotel was good, not a big choise, but of a good quality. Drinks were for free during the breakfast, but for dinner we had to buy. The stuff was friendly.
The hotel has 3 swimming pools with sea water for kids (they change water and clean the pools every 2 days!) and one swimming pool for adults with pure water.
As we didn't have all inclusive the sun beds at the swimming pool and at the sea were 3 euro per day.
Air conditioners in the room worked normally, it was for free, I only asked for remote controls at the reception.
We rented the car for couple of days, it's much cheaper to do outside the hotel then inside the hotel. We visited the lake Kournas, which was quite beautiful, plateau Lassithi, which was a waste of time :), city Agios Nikolaos was beautiful, especially the cafe above the harbour.
Also we were impressed by hospitality of Greek people.
All in all we had fantastic time, for sure we'll come back to Greece.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Hotel is situated directly on the beach. The recently renovated apartments were clean and spacious, with a nice view over the pool and sea. The staff was very helpful with all different kinds of things. We would definitely recommend the hotel to other couples/families. Perfect setting for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: All the room are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Lorena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

It was a good hotel, good value for money. It was clean and tidy, food was very good. Disadvantage that the restaurant evenings was overcrowded, so we had to wait until we could dine. It has direct access to beach which was nice, but it was quite far away from Malia center.
Room amenities was quite old and spartan, very old small TV, no WiFi Wireless internet! For air conditioning you have to pay ca. 6EUR/day, like for the safe deposit box.
Personal was nice, kind and helpful, they were speaking very good English and German!
Pool are and beach was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for the seaview, but this could be loud until midnight as they have performances, parties evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lorant80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I ask from my travel agency from Timisoara ,Romania a silent Hotel with a lot of vegetation, flowers and I found a very common place in contradiction with my wishes,my trip was in 11.06.2012-18.06.2012 .The rooms in the main building is nice and large but is not the same in the buildings around.
The hotel rooms door makes a big noise even you close it carefully,also you can hear every noise from outside the room.They clean the rooms every day from morning to evening and make a lot of noise, is not possible to rest in the afternoon. The food for all inclusive was good, the wine and the beer was also god but only in restaurant, at the Pool bar the quality of beer and wine was much lower.The Pool bars look not very nice(plastic chairs,tables and glasses),the pool is small for the size of the hotel,you have to wake up before 7'o clock to catch a sunbed.The hotel was full of Russian people with a lot of children who make scuba diving in the pool even this has been prohibited by inscriptions,nobody from the hotel stuff supervise this.The hotel stuff is OK but don't make you to feel yourself like a customer in holiday.

Room Tip: I recommand you to choose Malia Park Hotel 5 minutes walk to Phaedra,is like in Paradise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ZoltanRTimisoara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
1.1 mi away
Ruby Solimar Hotels
Ruby Solimar Hotels
#21 of 91 in Malia
219 reviews
1.3 mi away
Triton Hotel
Triton Hotel
#53 of 91 in Malia
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cretan Malia Park
Cretan Malia Park
#7 of 91 in Malia
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Carolina Mare
Carolina Mare
#13 of 91 in Malia
455 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa
2 mi away
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phaedra Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phaedra Beach Hotel

Address: Phaedra Beach, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 91 Hotels in Malia
Price Range: $90 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 300
Also Known As:
Phaedra Beach Malia
Hotel Phaedra Beach
Phaedra Beach Hotel Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing