We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for money, but no high expectations for star rating.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phaedra Beach Hotel
Ranked #71 of 91 Hotels in Malia
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Be warned - do not go into Sea from beach without swimming shoes. there are plenty SEA URCHINS in rocks and sea is full of Rocks and watch out for Cross Current pushing one towards rocks. Spent 1st night with wife taking needles out of toes and caring for sliced feet from cuts from rocks.
Rooms acceptable, but airconditioning did not work despite many requests.Relatively clean but could be better.
Great selection of food and quality of food was good.
Pool area good if you could find sun bed in time after early morning reservations or if you get to Pool early enough, because people steal your reserved sunbeds.
Beach was great if prepared to pay 6 Euros a day- Pool and beach Bar was saving grace- constant service with a smile- despite poor quality/selection of all inclusive drinks..
Entertainment was good and enjoyable.
Hotel staff, waiters, Barmen, entertainment crew were all friendly and helpful.
Had great holiday despite everything

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Springbok2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 234 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

The hotel was a good hotel for the price we paid. The room was a fair size, we got a standard room. We had a balcony room, which was nice. The air con you have to pay a surcharge for. The hotel staff were always helpful and friendly. There was entertainment in the evening every night at the hotel which was always nice, one night there was a lovely bbq with lots of lovely food, but unfortunatly we had already eaten so didnt have any. The bar was good, although the beers were really watered down, which is what i always expect from a all inclusive anyway, but the prices if you wanted for instance a Whisky and coke were not bad. The buffet food was always nice, something for everyone, although much the same on most evenings, but were a few changes throughout our stay, but it was fine, tasty and what you would expect. The breakfast buffet and lunch buffet were always good too. Breakfast is what you would expect from a continental breakfast, the usual bread, cheese, meat, fruit etc which was nice, although the scrambled eggs did not look great, which i stayed away from. Cerials also provided with chilled milk, and plenty of juices, tea and coffee (although the tea wasnt great). The pools were nice, always clean and always staff around. We did not use the pool often prefering to use the beach. The hotel has its own private beach, with plenty of deck chairs, although have to pay a fee for these, but it wasnt expensive. The beach was nice, but was quite rocky in the sea but once you got past the rocks it was ok. Beware of the sea urchins tho, as i stood on one and it was quite painful, but the hotel medic was good help and told me what it was and advised me on treatment. The location was ok. It was out of the centre, so didnt get too noisy at night time. We walked into the town centre each day and evening, although there is a lack of a foot path the road doesnt get busy, except for the mopeds that you can hire from the town. It was approximatly a 20 min brisk walk, it was quite a nice walk, past shops etc, but in the heat it was a bit hard going, but nothing to strenuous. There was a few convienience stores near by so was good for snacks etc, and there is a few restaurants near the hotel, in particular a greek one which was lovely, this was about a 10 min walk from the hotel. Overall i would recommend this hotel, for the price it is great, the only let down was the distance from the town, but the hotel description does state this, so if looking for a centre hotel then dont choose this one, but if you dont mind a 20 min walk, then this one is great, as it is away from most of the noise of the clubs and pubs at the evening.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alisa152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

It is for sure. Phaedra hotel is not the cleanest hotel in world. The food is not the best food. The rooms ar not one of the best.
BUT, it is a very good hotel for realx and for family, especially with litlle kids. The pools are good. The guys from bars are nice. They realy try to make you feel good. You can climb by the sea side and find a litle golf only for you.We took half board meal and we explored all the island.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cristinaned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We booked this holiday on line, 8 of us, 4 couples, all well travelled. Reading reviews before we left, we were really worried about our holiday. Got dropped off at hotel about 23.30 but nice welcome at reception and rooms sorted within minutes. Well rested in nice rooms we went down for breakfast which was excellent with hot and cold choices, hot choices changed daily. Lunch and dinner were out of this world with too many choices if anything, i think we all came back much heavier. Reading the reviews we knew exactly what drinks we would get and we found no problems with the choices or the service we received. The hotel itself was clean throughout and the staff could not do enough for you. Our holiday was from 23-10-11 to 30-10-11 which was the last day of the season, but even then the service and food quality was still excellent even though there was only 25 of us on the last day. Would definately recommend this hotel, typical greek hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I recently stayed here with family in mid to late October, just as the season was winding up and found the hotel to be a very pleasant and warm experience.

The food was great as there was a mix of Greek and English options (even for my vegetarian brother). The staff seemed to be extremely friendly, especially the bar staff who worked tirelessly late into the night to create a fun and friendly atmosphere.

The room was clean and tidy, and having stayed in Greece many times before found them to be alot better than average. The hotel also had loads to do, including its own beach and pools within view of our room!

I was a little concerned about the minority of bad reviews on this site but am happy to say I had a great holiday and am part of the vast majority who had a cracking time.

Having stayed in numerous hotels on Crete I would say this was an excellent experience.

See you next year!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toolman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Week holiday in mid October, great place to relax and sunbath. Recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Great value for money, EXCELLENT staff, great surroundings (beach, pool, bar area)
Would recommend to all !
Food is of a average standard, but something for everyone! :-)
The staff & atmosphere make this place

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P0wer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.0 mi away
Carolina Mare
Carolina Mare
#13 of 91 in Malia
454 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Kristalli Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Royal Heights Resort
Royal Heights Resort
#6 of 91 in Malia
423 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
1.2 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phaedra Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phaedra Beach Hotel

Address: Phaedra Beach, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 91 Hotels in Malia
Price Range: $93 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Phaedra Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phaedra Beach Malia
Hotel Phaedra Beach
Phaedra Beach Hotel Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing