We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad hote”
Review of Golden Bay Malia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Bay Malia
Ranked #41 of 90 Hotels in Malia
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very bad hote”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very bad hotel. Arriving at once, wanted to leave! Is with us for the first time the hotel "Golden Bay" if they wanted to be called hard! This is a bunkhouse for the night. And then if you are so very tired and has no other choice.
 1) Overall impression - disgust from these "apartments" - dark gray on the outside of the building, even worse inside the room (interior miserable and gray, gloomy) course tried to enter the room only to sleep. Immediately took a / m rental ekskursii.Obehali almost all of Crete.
 2) For breakfast, stopped going on day 4 (impossible to eat every morning exact same disgusting taste overcooked sausage and eggs, tea, coffee has always been lukewarm. Staff at the hotel are one family who gathered for breakfast at the counter on the distribution of food and something very loud talking, laughing and always looked much as they took the pieces of sausage and eggs. ate in the tavern and bought food in supermarkets
 3) Cleaning was 3 days in the fourth, the garbage is always carried themselves. Our room 207 was literally on the road, the windows jotsutstvuet tulle, so I had always dusty gray curtain window curtains. At night it was very noisy machines, motorcycle / ATV, from a nearby hotel TRITON (which is close) from the balconies are constantly heard loud voices and kriki.Spat was not possible.
 4) The territories of the so-called "hotel" it is not there

It took 1.5 m sample after returning, but I still can not get over it, sorry spent two weeks of vacation is better not to go anywhere than there.
 PSMy travel very long ago, were in Thailand, India, Egypt, Turkey, Tunisia, Vietnam, the Czech Republic, Germany, France, .... in hotels from 3 * to 5 * stars, but worse than the "Golden Bay" just can not be (even in the cheapest hotels in India)

Room Tip: Or who do not wish to rest in it, you just ruin your vacation
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SuperAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Great hotel with amazing service and greek hospitality. We stayed for a few nights in July and had a really fun time- the hotel is located just a few minutes walking distance from the beach, all the good restaurants and all the bars/clubs on beach road. Although the hotel is so close to all the restaurants/bars/clubs, it is still very quiet and peaceful at night. Big spacious rooms and a poolside restaurant with a great lunch. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mlievsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Very disappointed in this hotel arrived late and were rushed away with our room keys didnt explain how the aircon worked went to ask and there was no one there. boiling hot room to sleep in. Thought we would have a double bed but no couldnt even push the beds together because they are too heavy. had an ant problem the whole 2 weeks, shower flooded the floor every time, and you couldn't fit in it without curtain sticking to you. really wanted a toaster and they even had a toast rack went to ask if they had one just got looked at like i had two heads! air con was alot of money for two weeks at 6euro a day after paying so much to stay there could of been part of the package i feel. maids on a few occasions only left us one sheet for the 2 beds we only would realise when we went to sleep by then couldnt get them to bring another. one day they only left us one toilet roll instead of the normal two so went to reception asked for one said they would bring it round waited for an hour rang reception up to be told the maids will bring it when they are ready!! I was really angry that is not how you treat paying customers. the pool was nice area always sunbeds available and no loud crazy groups. but the pool bar charges alot of money for basic things eg 3.50 euros for two slices of toast with jam and butter ( no wonder they didnt want us to have a toaster ourselves) and 2.50 euros for a can of coke!!! as you are not aloud to bring your own snacks by the pool you are stuck to paying that. Any way I would say the hotel is a good 2* or your average 3* no way is it 4*!! I will never go there again the mangers are rude.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luckylady77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We had a lovely time at Golden Bay, Malia, although we visited the place at a very quiet period (April). The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very comforable and clean and the whole atmosphere was very beautiful and romantic with the swimming pool and the lovely gardens. I would certainly recommend it for couples or families.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.5 mi away
SunVillage Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Malia
Philoxenia Hotel Malia
#14 of 90 in Malia
129 reviews
0.8 mi away
LaPlaya Beach Hotel
LaPlaya Beach Hotel
#35 of 90 in Malia
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vergina Studios & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Notos Heights Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bay Malia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bay Malia

Property: Golden Bay Malia
Address: Tagmatarchou Grammatikaki Nik., Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 90 Hotels in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Bay Malia 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To Golden Bay Hotel in Crete, Greece!The spacious rooms make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as home. All our rooms have a balcony or a terrace with a magnificent view of the sea, the mountainside, the hotel garden or the hotel pool area. We will do our best to guarantee an unforgettable stay in our resort.All Golden Bay Studios , Apartments and Suites are tastefully designed and elegantly furnished and include all necessary facilities in order to make your stay comfortable and utterly enjoyable.Studios:Our studios consist of one open bedroom with two single beds, sitting area, bathroom, kitchenette with all the necessary untensils and a terrace overlooking the beautiful hotel garden the moutainside and the sea. Build in line with the Crete's Traditional style of architecture combined with the comforts of the modern. Apartments:Our Apartments are ideal for couples or families.They have one master bedroom with a king size bed, bathroom and a separate living room with two single beds. Each apartment is uniguely and beautifully decorated.They all have a big balcony with a magnificent view over the Bay of Malia, the mountainside, the hotel garden or the pool area. Suites:There are only three and they have been designed carefully for the most romantic guests and are ideal for honeymooners.They also have one bedroom with a bathroom and a separate living room .They all have balconies with fantastic views of the blue Aegean sea,the hotel garden or the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golden Bay Malia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bay Malia Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing