We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveler rating
94
63
36
23
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
94
63
36
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar old town small family run hotel noise coming quiet hotel wifi connection fabulous place to stay rooms are basic bus stop the pool area is great bars and restaurants second week toasties pool side food and drinks quiet at night ideal location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 231 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2019

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the Malia Mare hotel back in November. We arrived at night and the staff on reception were really friendly. Once we got to the room we were shocked on how dated it was, this defiintly needs updating to somthing more modern. The pool area won us over, it is so gorgoeus, and all staff so friendly on the bar. It is very central! We would definitly look at returning in a few years if it has been modernised.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chloehawkins6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2018

We would like to thank Kostas and his family and staff for a wonderful time at his lovely hotel. We were in Crete for the first time, and were given a most lovely welcome even though we arrived after midnight. We were given help and advice e on places to see and eat. Also we had a small problem with our room which we voiced and were moved the next day. We cannot thank everyone enough for everything. Even checking up on us as I had misplaced my purse (husband pick it up) Kosta came to the pick up point to make sure I had it. I CANT THINK OF ANYONE ELSE WHO WOULD DO THIS. THANK YOU

Room tip: Outside corner rooms have bigger balconies. All roomies are slightly different
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2018

Me and my husband recently returned from spending 10 days at Malia Mare Hotel.we both enjoyed our stay here and would go back.All the staff were lovely and greeted us with smiles every morning at breakfast.I dont know what all the fuss is about the breakfasts reading other reviews because if you cant find anything you like you must be extremely fussy.It is not an English breakfast because your not in England it is a continental but they also included fried eggs, beans ,sometimes mushrooms and so much more.The pool area was great, nice and clean and quiet.Our room was dated and does need decorating with better Furniture but the beds were of top quality and slept very well despite being on the main road.The rooms were serviced every day and the towels changed every other.Their was so much to do and see in Malia and surrounding areas and i will definately go back .

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank corinnaseal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

We had read all the reviews before we booked and thought the hotel sounded perfect.. When we arrived we were very disappointed with our room, it was very dated and the bathroom wasn't very nice, we had to shower with the shower curtain open as it was so small and the door didn't lock, there was no extractor unit. We never had the bathroom cleaning in the 11 days we were there. The balcony was small but wasn't a problem, the view was of a screen with plants growing up not very nice. We read the breakfasts were lovely, again we was very disappointed, breakfast was from 8.30 to 10.00, one morning we came down at 8.40 and there was no bacon left and it was never replenished, only on Sunday we had beans and mushrooms, very disappointed. Malia itself was great, so many places to eat and the gift shops are endless, we went on the happy train to the Star Beach and through Stallis. We walked to Stallis on a few of the days and the shops are lovely, The Old Town is lovely in the evening our favourite was Tavern Odas, we did eat in quite a few. Also on the strip we loved the Red Lion and also the Kaza Pub not far from the hotel. We will definitely go back to Crete just not the hotel.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Thank sharonbP1380ZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

Just got back from spending a week at Malia Mare. It is such a lovely family run hotel and nothing is too much trouble to any of the staff. Only complaints were that the air con didn't work in our room until the day before check-out and the toilet seat wasn't fastened on properly so kept falling down. Otherwise no faults at all. Close to all the bars and restraints and only ten minute walk to the beach. Very clean and would definitely recommend to others and come again.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichola1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews