We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Malia Mare 4.6.13”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Malia Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malia Mare Hotel
Ranked #32 of 95 Hotels in Malia
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Malia Mare 4.6.13”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just returned from the Malia Mare .Stayed there for a week with my partner and son and had a very relaxing holiday
Hotel was very clean and the maids came in every day
The owner and his wife were really good and could not do enough for us
Breakfast was good and the food provided around the pool was excellent
Would certainly recommend the hotel from every point of view
The hotel is ideally situated for both the new and old town areas

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    49
    24
    17
    13
See reviews for
18
49
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks in Greece, when we first arrived we were staying in a hotel that we weren't happy with, while on the beach BIKINI BEACH we started chatting to yanis and billy were we got sunbed's on the most beautiful beach ever, within a couple days we had started talking to the bar men and the manager Mike, within 3 days we had moved to this hotel, our balcony had stairs leading down to bar and beach he had given us the best room :)
All the staff there were fantastic, unfortunately we were the only English people in the hotel, and found most of the other guests.... Pretty rude and arrogant so was grateful most of the staff could speak English!!!
I am hopefully returning this time next year with. A group of friends, and hoping that it may be more English by then, (a smile and a nod good morning does not cost anything)!!!!!
So thank u Mike and all your wonderful staff for making our holiday amazing :) xx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I went to Malia last year with two friends and my mum. This was the worst mistake we've ever made, Malia is amazing and I'm going back this year but personally I think its definitely not somewhere you'd take your mum or have a family holiday. There is so so so so much to do for young people and me and the girls had a great time but not a lot for parents.
The hotel itself was amazing, they went out their way to help us with anything we needed. I shared a room with my mum but wouldn't come in until 4/5 in the morning so to save my mum staying up, the hotel went and got us another key which was lovely of them! The food at the pool bar is good too, so many times we asked for things they didn't have or wanted to change certain things about the meal and they were happy to go get it or change it. Rooms were perfect except for the ants!!

All the staff were very friendly, there is an oldish guy who everyone says is horrible and scary.. he's really not, if you respect his hotel and his family, he'll do the same with you! Its not the best hotel if you are going to want to bring people back because its not aloud at the Malia Mare, oh and music has to be off by like 11 i think but other than that its such a nice place to stay! I would recommend it to anyone and will be going back but with just friends this time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrpx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Went in June 2012. Place was getting a freshen up at the time, loved every minute! Great location right off the strip but quiet at the same time. Really friendly staff and great food. Owner was a real good guy, always checking we were alright, drinking with us before we left. Could not have asked for better.

Definitely Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: Top Floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rbrazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Me and my fiancee stayed here about 2 years ago and we absolutely loved it, The staff couldn't be more helpful and they are more then happy to go out of their way to help you in anyway witch is why we decided to go back again this year. we went for two weeks and loved every minute of it Kostas and his family are so friendly and are willing to tell you were the best restaurants are in the old town witch is beautiful and only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. the rooms are very clean and tidy every room has a small fridge, a balcony and the maid comes in everyday to change the bedding and to make sure everything is ok. The Breakfast has various options of fruit, toast with a selection of different jams and honey, toasties witch can be filled with either cheese, ham and salami, juice, coffee, tea, cereals and occasionally a pain au chocolat. the location of the hotel is in a really good location if your a clubber and want the night life it is literary at the top of the strip, and even if you don't want the nightlife like my mrs and me you cant hear the music from the clubs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel many times now, nice location, Costas and Georgia lovely hosts, as is Maria. Rooms very clean, (cleaned every day) but basic, lovely pool and gardens and decent food at pool bar. Help yourself continental breakfast is more than adequate. Very close to the old town. Generally couples so not too loud around the pool during the day, at least it is in May and September. Will go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian21W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

stayed at malia mare hotel sept 2012 and realy enjoyed it . set just off the strip so close to everything but away from the noise .hotel clean and staff friendly .would i stay here again ? YES from yvonne & george newcastle upon tyne

Room Tip: higher floors then you would not hear chairs being moved
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.3 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#15 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
0.5 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Malia
Philoxenia Hotel Malia
#17 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malia Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malia Mare Hotel

Property: Malia Mare Hotel
Address: 10 Dimokratous Street, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 95 Hotels in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Malia Mare Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3-star family run hotel is conveniently located on the Malia Beach Road. Elegant interior, gives it an air of Cretan authenticity, yet at the same time offers all comforts of a modern hotel. 33 spacious and comfortable rooms have have a private bathroom and balcony, mini-fridge, safety deposit box and air conditioning.The pool area with pool bar provides a whirlpool bath and swim-up bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malia Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malia Mare Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing