We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kristalli Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kristalli Hotel Apartments
Ranked #4 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

This has been the third trip back to kristalli, and once again another wonderful holiday. Georgios, Katerina, Niccos and Eva were again the perfect hosts. A warm welcome, a great stay, entertaining at times with the practical jokes, and nothing is too much trouble.
The apartments and grounds are especially clean.
Should you come to Malia this is in the old town but close enough to get to the night life if you so wish to in downtown Malia.
You wont be disappointed.
Thanks for a great holiday guys, hope to be back soon, Alfie&Lynn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnNicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    49
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
62
130
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We've just returned from a week in the kirstalli hotel apartments, i booked this hotel upon all the good views it had and how lovely the pictures looked but dont be too decieved by the pictures on there! Basically if your put in a standard studio in the old non renevated block your in for a full week of complaining to get everything right when it should be right when you move in!
We started off in the old block a room above reception, when i first arrived i had a look around, pulled the curtains back the curtain rail fell off the wall and crashed to the floor, went to go hang my clothes up there was 2 coat hangers provided clearly not enough for two peoples clothes! Walking onto the balcony there was a wasps nest between our balcony and our friends balcony next door so we couldn't sit out on the balcony. No basic cutlery was provided only had 2 forks no knives at all and one spoon for the two of us! i reported all these problems to reception the next day i was told the rooms would be cleaned again and we would get some more cutlery but not straight away so we waited and waited until i then had to complain again. The hotel staff laughed at me when i started telling her i wasn't impressed basically we got moved rooms when i had threatened to complain to jet 2. Moved into another room still in the old block that hasn't been renovated and the problems just carried on from there. The cutlery and other kitchen equipment didn't have there own draw they was stored under the sink where there was lots of rust and an awful smell. The kitchen equipment provided put you off wanting to cook in there, the cullinder had been burnt and looked like it had been glued back together, the draws and cupboards were rotting away. The floors were again filthy as well as the supposedly 'clean' bed sheets had a large stain on them. The next day we expected these things to be cleaned and sorted out however the cleaners hadn't even entered our room but had everyone elses around! Therefore we hadn't been given any clean towels so i asked at reception and the women at the desk told me she could not get us any towels she didn't have access to the cupboard in their own family run hotel!! Basically we were been treated differently because we had complained, the staff are lovely when your not complaining but if you have anything to say to them its a different matter!
If your going for a fun holiday then just be careful on jet 2 it is advertised as a 'Late and Lively' hotel, if your entering the hotel past 12 and even making the noise of breathing you will be treat like school children and told to go to bed in ten minutes by the security! Not allowed to sit on the balcony and enjoy a few quiet drinks with friends!

I am not going to go on and on cause i have a very long list of problems with the hotel, facilities and the way these problems were dealt with however i will be complaining to jet 2 formally i would just hope if your going to go into this hotel, hope for the best you don't get put into the old block that hasn't been renovated!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rlh2511_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We've just returned from a week in Malia.

The Kristalli is a great hotel, run by a lovely family. Nico, George, Yanis, Eva and Catalina (hope I got all the names right) are perfect people, very welcoming and can't do enough for you.

We initially booked a small studio, but they are pretty small, so upgraded for a small fee (20 Euros a night) to an apartment. It was huge, and had two balconies (Room 207). Really good.

Pool is nice, food is great (we ate by the pool most days). Bar at night is nice, and great fun. Yanis does a mean cocktail with his iPhone apps!

All in all, a brilliant stay.

The hotel is close to a few great restaurants, are favourites (in order) were: Kalesma (best by a mile), Zorba's (great guy - really good food), San Giorgio, Elizabeth and Stablos. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Ham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Four of us arrived at the Kristalli on 15th May 2012 for 7 nights staying in a Deluxe Apartment with pool view. We were greeted with friendly staff and an ice cold beer on the house - which was very welcomed by us travellers! The room was spotless, tastefully decorated with a lime feature wall and flat screen TV's were on the walls in both rooms. The shower was lovely and clean. The garden area and pool were fantastic, had some nice open space to lay in the sun, and a decent sized pool to cool off in. Food at the bar was great and no job was too stressful for the staff either. The location is set in the Old Town of Malia which is about a 10 min stroll to the main strip with all the bars and restaurants. I preferred to be in the old town as it is a lot more peaceful that the hustle and bustle and you are guaranteed a decent night's sleep. For beach lovers, you are looking at a 15 min walk to get to the sea, which is actually very beautiful considering the fact i have seen some poor reviews about the beach. I would recommend this hotel to absolutely anyone who wants a holiday to malia. Staff and accomodation were both spot on!

Room Tip: I would definitely pay for the deluxe apartment with a pool view. Very modern inside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a week and in the end we wish we could have extended. The value we got for our money was unbeatable. Would come here again anytime. You are close to everything (main travel routs, shopping, bars, sights, etc.) Everything was very well kept. The room was clean and the staff really made us feel welcome. Always a smile on their face and always some good advice on what to do and where to go. The pool is great and there is loads of space and deck chairs to lie about and relax. But come and see for you self! Keep up the good work Nicos and Katherina.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Johannes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUGHTON REGIS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Excellent well maintained hotel/apartments in Old Town of Malia. Stayed in 1 bedroomed deluxe apartment for 8 days. Very friendly family oversee the running of these lovely apartments - nothing too much trouble. Bar and pool area well looked after, pretty flowers adorn the area. Apartment was like home from home, fresh towels as we required them and sheets changed regularily. Very tastfully decorated. Close to many excellent restaurants in the old town but also close enough to walk to strip if you fancy a lively nightout. We loved it and would return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LANDNHUMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, East Sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Myself and two girl friends stayed at this hotel from 29/04/12 - 06/05/12, we could not have asked for a lovelier place to stay, the hotel is family run and we were made very welcome from the moment we arrived, we were greeted with a 'hello babies' from the owners brother every morning!
The people at this hotel could not have been more helpful, advising us of places to visit and the best restaurants to dine at, nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were very comfortable and had every facility required for a self catering holiday (not that we used them). The pool although very cold at this time of year was well kept and clean.

The area in which the hotel sits is the old town which is very quiet and relaxed, but close enough to the 'strip' and night life without the late night rowdiness, the strip being a 10/15 minute stroll away.

Within the old town are some wonderful and 'typically' Greek restaurants which the locals also enjoy, these are not the same as the 'Greek' restaurants in the strip which seem to be touristy Greek if you know what I mean, so make the effort to visit the beautiful restaurants such as Toto Loto where they genuinely enjoy looking after their customers....

We did not arrange transfers with our holiday and found it very easy and relatively cheap (50 euros each way) to pick up a cab at the airport as its only approx 30 drive to Malia.

All in all this was a lovely holiday, I do not usually return to somewhere Ive been before but although we have just returned we are looking to go back in September this year for round two of some lovely Greek relaxation at the Kristalli Apartments.....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelleymh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.6 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.9 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#15 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
0.6 mi away
Royal Heights Resort
Royal Heights Resort
#5 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kristalli Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kristalli Hotel Apartments

Property: Kristalli Hotel Apartments
Address: 52 Mela Pavlou, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kristalli Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kristalli hotel is a family run hotel, located in Malia old town, in a picturesque environment, ideal for couples, families or friends. Escape to this beautiful hotel beside turquoise waters and close to historic mountain villages or savour the quiet life in tucked-away villages and tranquil island getaways. At Kristalli we believe that holidays should be a unique and relaxing experience to remember and cherish for the rest of the year. Our goal is to offer our customers the best of Cretan hospitality along with the tips to enjoy our beautiful island. We believe wholeheartedly in helping you create unforgettable and lasting memories for you and your family. For a relaxing holiday experience, attention to detail & love for quality, Kristalli should be your top choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kristalli Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kristalli Hotel Apartments Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing