We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach with nice sand and easy way to swim”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 90 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Riga
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beach with nice sand and easy way to swim”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We choose this hotel for one reason - sandy beach, not deep sea. It was a perfect for my child. We enjoyed animation activities and for first time my child was ready to stay with Julia ( animator) at the sea side without me. ( I could read a book!)
All pools were cold, even in SPA, but gardens, view and nice service was so good.
We had HB, but enjoyed lunch at the beach restaurant - Anna ( waitress) were so kind with us and always helped to pick up that, what we would like more.
It might be hard for families with baby prams, couse there are so many stairs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nika30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ikar0s, the ikaros beach team at Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Nika,

we are very happy to hear, that your family and you, did spend a nice vacation in our hotel.
Thank you for your positive review on our resort.
Maybe we will be able to welcome you again, someday in the nearest future.
Best regards,

the ikaros beach team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    168
    47
    8
    3
See reviews for
256
293
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a great romantic holiday at Ikaros. The highlight of the property is the fantastic landscaping and wide array of pools - allowing us to choose if we wanted to be in a more social or secluded area. Although we were situated in the main building, our room was still very clean, modern and the design made a good use of the space. The stone work of the entire complex was unique and added lots of ambiance to the property. The location is also just far enough from the hectic Malia to create a serene atmosphere. We'd very happily go back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelh0lic07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ikar0s, ikaros beach team at Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for sharing your impressions with other travellers around the word.
We are very happy to hear, that you absolutely enjoyed staying with us and spent a great holiday in the ikaros beach.
We are looking forward to see you again someday in the future.
Best regards,

the ikaros beach team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden/Schweiz
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This luxury Hotel and Resort is a top spot for families - also with small children. The hotel manager is first in the morning and last in the evening: he is everywhere, he talks with everyone he helps if you have a problem -wathever it is - there is no problem for him. He is absolut fantastic.
The hotel is very clean, the staff is very friendly, its very relaxing. There are great pools incl. pools for small children, playground - and there is a wonderful beach: you can walk slowly in to the sea - it's not deep in the beginning.
The food is very good: in the great restaurant there is a large joice of everything and every day an other theme. A must is the "Souvlaki" at the Crete evening. Delicious!

Room Tip: For couples without children we recommend the Seafront Suites with private pool. For families the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annemarie099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ikar0s, ikaros beach team at Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Annemarie,

thank you for your so valuable comment, concerning your latest holidays in our hotel.
We are glad to hear, that you spent a relaxing and joyful holiday here on Crete, in our resort.
Maybe you will choose us again for a vacation in the nearest future. We would be honored.
Best regards from the island,

the ikaros beach team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Very clean and beautiful hotel. We travelled with our 2 yr old son and went all inclusive. The staff were amazing throughout. From the much needed cold drink when we arrived at reception to the fastest ever check in, great room ( no 215), great pools and kids pools and playground, lovely sandy beach, drinks ready at our table when we ate ( they always remembered what we liked) and the onsite shop, relaxing spa, super fast service and excellent choice of food. Yes we didn't come across any Brits but everyone was so welcoming. Perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thedarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ikar0s, ikaros beach team at Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear guests,

We are very happy to read about your nice impressions, concerning your holiday in our resort.
Many thanks for this positive review, you truly help us a lot, by sharing your best moments with other travelers around the world.
Hopefully you will visit us again someday in the nearest future.
Best regards,


the Ikaros Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
161 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel in a resot with a long history and they know how to put the accent on this issue. Nice location, relaxing, in my opinion, cosy and welcoming. Location si good so you can reach different places. Renting a car is a good option as well if you don't want to book specific trips offered by the travel agencies. A must is a Santorini trip, which I recommend it because is a unique island and worth to be visited.
Rooms are clean, bathroom looks good, some of the rooms are equiped with a computer. Wi-fi is provided.

Room Tip: I believe the bangalows look more cosy and tidy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loredana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ikar0s, ikaros beach team at Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Loredana,

we enjoyed reading about the positive impressions, which you did get during your holidays in our hotel. Thank you for sharing it with others, here on tripadvisor.
Maybe you will also choose our hotel for another holiday in the future.
Regards from Crete,

the Ikaros Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

On arrival at the hotel we were given the wrong room and were told nothing could be done until the morning. The following morning we were given a twin room but this was still not what had been booked and paid for. We thus had already wasted half a day of our holiday with unpacking/packing and moving rooms.

Throughout the hotel, the staff were very rude, not just to us but to all English people, though they clearly favoured Dutch and Germans. To the point that if we were at the bar and a Dutch/German person arrived after us, they'd always get served first.

When we mentioned this, the rep essentially reported it to their head office with the comment "they have had an appalling time, the usual issue with the Germans being favoured".

We paid an extra fifty euros for a late check out but were told we could not have dinner. Given that we didn't arrive at the hotel until 1AM and thus had no dinner on that day, our seven nights and seven dinners turned out to be one dinner short of the full package.

Unless you follow the getting up at the crack of dawn and placing your towel on a sun bed, there is no chance whatsoever of getting a poolside spot until about 5PM.

Finally, Small Planet Airways - what a shambles airline this is, and watch out for their extra legroom scam. We were offered and took up the offer of extra legroom for £65 cash - only cash, and yet when we boarded we found others had not paid yet had the same extra legroom. One wonders who pocketed the £65 cash!

The toilets on the plane were blocked and we were only allowed to buy one drink, and there was no ice on board. Clearly this airline were chosen, by the tour operator, solely on the basis that they were cheap.

A good hotel but with dreadful staff.

Room Tip: It does not matter which room you book, the staff will give you whatever they want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peterdavidmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

After reviewing opinions from other visitors to Ikaros Beach Resort and Spa, we decided to book it for the following reasons:
1. The beach looked rather attractive (it actually was).
2. The location relative to several antiquities was to the more eastern part of Crete was good (distances are not very big).
3. There was an attractive pre-season Bed And Breakfast rate.

After staying there our opinion of the facilities and services is very high. The buildings are designed as you were in a Greek village (like Mykonos). Intitally you get lost in the curvy paths, but that does not take long. It is really very nice and well maintained. The rooms are very comfortable and we believe its 5-star rating is well deserved. It is a large facility for many visitors, but it does not feel very crowded. Personnel is extremely friendly and understands very well that you are having a vacation and it is important to have a good time. The breakfast that was included was superb. You can easily observe that the resort is extremely well managed.

We initially had an issue with the hard mattress on our bed. But this was resolved very quickly with a nice pad on top of the mattress. They did have experience with dealing with different preferences.

We did have some lunches in a kafenieon (next to the beach) that served good food. We did not have dinners since we went around in the area.

With the ever present Greek sun, nice clean sandy beach with sufficient chairs and umbrellas, this is a hard to beat resort.

Note however that it can be windy in Crete. During our stay in Ikaros we did not experience this and the beach was great. But much later we did experience this and the beach was rough. At Ikaros there is some wind protection of the beach, but not much. The resort is great though and has several very nice swimming pools.

Room Tip: We had a room at a second floor with a nice balcony facing west. Nice sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HenriKx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
4.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,654 reviews
7.0 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
51.1 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
5.3 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Beach Promenade, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Malia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malia
#1 Spa Hotel in Malia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malia
#2 Family Hotel in Malia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the northern coast of Crete, an island renowned for its unspoiled coastal charm, natural beauty and rich culture lies the picturesque Ikaros Beach Luxury Resort and Spa. The hotel is perfectly positioned on a rocky peninsula with sandy beaches, coastal flora and sweeping views overlooking the Cretan Sea. Our five-star hotel - steeped in the warmth of Cretan traditions and hospitality - brings luxury, romance and world-class services together to ensure an unforgettable holiday as our rich culture and unique traditions become part of your experience. Whether you want to have a romantic sunset stroll and feel the sand between your toes or indulge in a Mediterranean feast made from the finest products at one of our restaurants, sip on a signature cocktail, simply relax or get pampered in The Aura Spa, Ikaros Beach can make your dreams come true. With our eclectic mix of true Cretan architecture, outstanding services and amenities we bring you the best of both worlds; a chance to have an authentic experience with the option of choosing between our Bed & Breakfast, Half-Board or All-Inclusive packages as you enjoy our high-quality concierge and services. With welcoming open arms - next to the cobalt water and right by a sandy beach, 35 km from Heraklion - your tranquil Greek delight awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Ikaros Beach Luxury Resort And Spa
Lti Ikaros Beach Luxury Hotel Malia
Ikaros Village Plátanos
Ikaros Village Hotel Plátanos
Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing