We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
105
119
34
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
119
34
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe room sea view air conditioning and fridge pool bar nice clean hotel enjoyable week per day cleaned every day enjoy your holiday sandy beach perfect holiday stalis sunbeds euros chargeable german
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 264 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Stayed 27/7-6/8 and had a great holiday! Beautiful setting, right on the beach with a well kept pool and plenty of space in the grounds. It really is worth booking a superior room from the start to make sure you get; a full sea-view, air-con, fridge, TV & radio (which we never used) and double bed rather than 2 singles pushed together. The only extra was 17 Euros for the safe. Breakfast was the usual continental style buffet but there was enough variety to please anyone.
One thing we booked the 'Ariadne' for was the fact you paid for sunbeds. This stopped people who were going out for the day reserving beds but not using them. I've found this so frustrating on previous holidays! It meant there was always space on the lawns and the beach if you wanted a sunbed on the sands. The gardens and surrounding lawns are well kept and were still very green when we were there. The chap running the beach and pool area was very good and stepped in if people got rowdy around the pool or lawns. Like everybody else we spoke to in the hotel he was a proud Cretan and was able to tell you about local places and the island generally.
We hired a car for 2 days and got so see other areas of this beautiful but very mountainous island. Some of the local's driving is interesting as are the tourists wandering out in front of you on the beach road! We stuck to the Iraklion region and would love to return to the island and explore the western end of Crete but would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone.
Lastly we were also there when the lady in the hotel next door drowned but have a slightly different slant on things. The guy on the beach warned us on the first day about the rough sea and said "Stay away from the rocks and don't go out too far". We saw him waving people in and warning them about the rocks and tides. On the day she drowned he was involved in trying to bring her round and helped until paramedics arrived. He was very upset for the rest of the week and told us she had died. He asked us to warn other British families which we did. I don't think the hotel can be blamed in any way for this tragic incident.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank yorkieWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

At first glimpse this hotel looks beautiful witht he sunshine, large pool looking out to the beach and the sea.
However, the rooms are very basic and there's a strong sewage smell the comes and goes but is really strong.
The food is very basic and disappointing and the staff are not friendly.
The thing that is most important of all is HOW DANGEROUS the sea is. There is a deckchair man that works at the hotel that's frequent tells guests not to swim and read the flags etc but during our stay a lady drowned, it was a dreadful and so sad. The strange thing was the staff made out it hadn't happened and that she was ok. She wasn't my friend had attempted to give her mouth to mouth but it was too late. Please be warned and pass this on to anyone staying along that stretch of coastline the sea there IS VERY dangerous sweeps you to the right and there are hidden rocks.
I would not return to this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank happyme_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

- well presented,very clean hotel with beautiful, well kept gardens.
- hotel backs onto beach from large pool area which is also well kept.
- beach is lovely during the day and at night for a stroll, nestled within large cove. view from beach is out to sea,beautiful skies, white crashing waves.. awesome. no sound from planes.
- very polite, quiet hotel where you can find peace and enjoy a relaxing holiday.
- staff are not intrusive. they are well mannered, polite, friendly and helpful. they live nearby and were able to help me with travel decisions and advise.
- all rooms will be fine, with sea, pool or garden view. 70 euros/week allows for fridge, tv and air-con.(good idea)
- supermarket across the road excellent as is money exchange/excursion shop.
- sports beach to left of hotel, excellent, with lifeguard. 50euros for parakite ride for 2 kids 12 and 13 well worth it and safe. were taken out to boat on bannana boat and brought back to beach on a jet ski...they loved it.
- favourite bar/food place was"the beachcomber"at the sports beach. layed back, good food and service usual prices, live band in evening : hotel california etc.
- took bus stalis-ag nik,10 euros,single for 3 of us. went from ag nik to elounda return 10 euros, then back to stalis. allow a day,50 euros for transport and lunch.
- didn't like main road through stalis - no pavements, lots of hired beach buggies, scarey.
- thomas cook rep, smashing.
- all staff good at their jobs 10/10.

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gdhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Booked this holiday 48 hours before departure, on a Half board basis and as i hadn't read much into the property i was a little nervous.

We arrived on the 18.06.2010 at around midnight, and the hotel looked ok. When we checked in, the man took us to look around two different room types, the first, with twin beds, no nice view and no air con. The second room had a double bed, with a sea view. We did have to pay 6 euros a day for air con, 3 a day for the t.v, and 3 for the fridge, so after adding all this together can be quite costy.
Rooms are all very clean, and cleaned every day, and hotel is kept in very good condition.
The first day we spent by the pool, and the hotel is literally on the beach. Quite a strong breeze, therefore i got very burnt on the first day!!
Breakfast in the hotel was standard, continental breakfast - cold cheeses and meats.
As the food in the pool bar cost about 8-10 euros for a lunch, everyday we would go across to the shop opposite the hotel, which sold everything!! For a coke/lemonade at the pool bar you were paying 1.80 euro, and the shop sold them at 90 cent! Definatly a money saver! Dinner in the evening was alright, there were a choice of 7 or 8 dishes, but we ended up eating out twice as it does get a bit repetitive.

The hotel is situated in Stalis, and there are plenty of bars, shops and restaurants on the strip on which the hotel is situated. No noise when inside the hotel at all. Large swimming pool!

A couple of nights during our week holiday we walked up to Malia, which is a twenty minute walk, but taxis cost around 7 euros to get there.

On the last night, we went to an AMAZING chinese restaurant called summer palace, whichs is on the right hand side if walking down to the bottom end of stalis. The food is amazing, and Danny, the guy that works there is fantastic entertainment!! Highly recommended!!!

Across from the hotel, there is also a shop where you can book your excursions, and its definatly the cheapest one in stalis. They offer discounted rates to people staying at the Ariadne, and we went on a boat trip, which was fantastic, and the Aqua Plus water park...Not so amazing!!

Staff at hotel all friendly, hotel was nice, location of the property was Fantastic, the only things to fault are the extra charges such as air-son, t.v and you have to pay 1.80 euro per day each for one sun lounger!!

As a younger couple, we found the hotel was more suitable to older couples, but i was very happy with a nice, relaxing get away in a brilliant area of crete. Crete itself is rather expensive, so not for those wanting a budget holiday!!!

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nicnak11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

Me and my wife have just come from this hotel, when we first arrived we was asked at reception if we wanted to upgade our room for an extra 70 euros we declined but the was insisted we were shown before we made our decision. When we was show our standard room it was very basic and it was located on the roof of the restaurant with no view, must of been the worsed room in the hotel, then we was shown the other room that we had the option to upgrade to and guess what it was really nice, overlooking the pool/beach and had a/c fridge and sky tv. So we upgraded. Felt a little bit conned as it was quite when we went there so they must show you the worst room making you feel that you have to spend the extra cash and upgrade.

Rooms are very clean, but the beds are teribble, its like sleeping on the floor, woke up in the morning feeling like i had been kicked in the ribs!! Sky tv is a bit of a con as you pay extra for it and the only channels in english are Sky news, and mtv (not that we go on hol to watch tv)!! Also no drink making facilitys! Shower cubicle was small so we removed the curtain and just soaked the floor!

The pool area is nice and clean but you have to pay to use the loungers at 3.60 euros a day for x 2 and extra if you want a umbrella.

Food is catered for the germans/french as breakfast i found a real struggle, hard boiled eggs, or a peperami cocktail sausage is the only warm food available. Plenty of fruit, cakes, yes cake for breakfast!! Evening meal was better nice selection but food didnt seem warm enough and half the time you didnt know what you was eating as nothing was labeled, so you could and i was eating octopuss without really knowing!! So be carefull.

Good location on the edge of stalis and edge of malia.

No entertaiment at the hotel so going out for a drink around the towns at night is areal struggle to get passed the 'English' touts trying to drag you in to there bar for a drink and they donk like being told no for a answer!!

I prob would go back to this hotel but i would stay self catering next time as the food in the local resturants looked and smelt amazing!!

Good weather (90's), good location, clean & tidy, very close to the beach

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gav79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews