We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we love this hotel :) :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“we love this hotel :) :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

me and my boyfriend stayed at drossia palms last year and not long come back again this year we couldnt fault it in any way we love it and we love everyone that works there 2 they really help make our holiday amazing so thank you for that :) :) im already arranging to book for next year already cant wait. its the perfect location , its close to everything you need and want. The room are very clean as always , the food is great and barman antonio is a legend we love him and his fab cocktails hes great, if you booking for malia BOOK HERE :) its fantastic xx hales and ash x

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank halesash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    49
    5
    6
    8
See reviews for
23
99
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

I have stayed at the Drossia twice now. The first time with friends and the second time i took my son. I wouldn't feel safe taking my son anywhere else he had freedom to run around and i didn't need to worry because there was always a member of staff at the front of the hotel. The hotel is set back from the main strip so it's safer and less noisey. Manos and Froso are always on hand for any complaints (which i never had). Charlie who work during the day made the best snack food and was always friendly and Antonio well what can i say he is such a top bloke. Always friendly! Always smiling! Would chat to anyone and my son fell in love with him. He makes the best cocktails i've ever tasted. I will definatly be going back!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jaysmum2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Drossia Palms is a great place to stay.
It is really close to the beach and all the bars & clubs but it is still quiet.
The pool is always clean as are the rooms and whole hotel.
Antonio is the best barman which I see:))), He made you feel really welcome.
All in all we had a brill time and hope to be there again soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank x_hamidreza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Brian and family from London
We just got back from the drossia palms hotel, we stayed in a 3 bed studio it was clean but very basic indeed a tiny bathroom with a toilet crammed in, very limited clothes storage, only had 1 wardrobe for all 3 of us with one draw in it , my son had to live out his suitcase, beds were very uncomfortable had back ache for the last 3 days of the holiday, the staff were lovely though manos and frosso could not do enough for you, antonio the barman was very helpful as well, the hotel is well situated on beach road in malia the beach was 5 mins walk away the pool area was spotless, never known a place where you could get a sunbed anytime of the day with no problems, supermarket was 2 mins walk away no noise at all at night aprt from the crickets, the weather was lovely everyday, dont think i would go back there again well over priced for what you got.

Room Tip: ask manos to move you if your not happy we did he moved us right away
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian-Game
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed here for four nights on a girl's trip with a friend. The staff of this mainly family run hotel are really friendly and helpful, especially Antonio who is on night shift usually. The hotel itself though situated pretty close to the night-life centre of Malia is quite and peaceful at nights. The rooms are cleaned and towels changed daily. It is five minutes walk from the beach but rather unaccessible from the main road where the airport busses drop you off ( takes around 20-30 minutes walk along a rather long road. The only downside was the shower which was very small and you would run out of hot water often enough for me to mention it here. Also the beds were a tad old and you cloud feel the springs when you tried to sleep.
If you are in Malia, i would definitely recommend this hotel but if you are over 22 and don't want to be partyibg with young British teenagers all night and then driving quads at crazy speeds all day, I strongly recommend you stay somewhere else in beautiful Crete. Malia has gorgeous beaches (but then again so does pretty much anywhere else in Crete) but not much else besides that for the majority of holiday makers beyond the age of 22.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northwind2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

I never normally write reviews, but thought I had to write one for Drossia as it is a brilliant family run hotel, and I want to 'correct' some of the bad reviews below.

As said before in other reviews, location is A*. Beach is a 3 minute walk, Red Lion pub is almost directly outside the entrance, McDonalds is a 3 minute walk and to get right to the top of the strip (past ALL of the clubs and bars) is about a 10 minute walk. Despite being in this prime location, it is quiet enough to sleep if you have your balcony doors closed. In the middle of a concrete jungle? hardly - there is one hotel that borders the Drossia but has closed, so no one will be looking down on you whilst in the pool. you can see the sea from most of the upper room balconies, and the view from the bar area (with a pool table) is of the mountains behind Malia. There are no buildings that tower over you, around the hotel.

Antonio is a top bloke, the people who are saying he is a bit of a pervert and doesn't talk to you for the rest of the holiday, need to grow up. Very friendly guy, always said hi to us as we were coming and going. Always smiling and always got a story to tell. On more then one occasion we witnessed him talking to people sat on their own keeping them company (all ages and both genders). And to boot he can speak many different languages.

The strict rules people have been complaining about - we had music playing on our phone (not mega loud but loud enough) and no complaints from the staff. The only time they ask you to be a bit more considerate, is if you are really taking the mick and disturbing everyone. Just have a bit of respect for your fellow guests who don't want to hear you slamming doors and singing 'Oh Ah Malia' as loud as possible at 5am.

The family that owns Drossia also has a restaurant around the corner. The food is unbelievably good, I honestly can't recommend it highly enough. Also the food that is actually served at the Drossia hotel is also very very good and reasonably priced.

Pool is really nice - palms trees all the way around (which really helps with shade if you got burnt like me), large area for sunbathing to the side without any trees if you want to sunbath and it's cleaned every night.

So basically if you want somewhere with an excellent pool, fantastic food, in a brilliant location and somewhere you can actually sleep, Drossia is your best bet (also for you clubbers there are loads of bars right out the entrance to pre-drink in).

Already getting a group of mates together to return to Drossia next summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harlowlad24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

location of hotel is excellent as its right on the strip, pool area and bar is also excellent just no entertainment at all and the music is really quiet. Antonio the bar man that everyone seems to go on about in these reviews is definatlely not what you expect. He's great the first night then doesn't talk to you the rest of the holiday unless he's stopping you from playing music in your room talking too loudly or even being on the balcony, very strict rules considering the location of the hotel is in one of the busiest parts of malia, would definately recommend malia to young people and this hotel would be recommended if it wasn't for the rules he set out to us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank malia1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.4 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.1 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Malia
Philoxenia Hotel Malia
#17 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
High Beach Hotel
High Beach Hotel
#7 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
0.2 mi away
SunVillage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drossia Palms Hotel Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drossia Palms Hotel Studios

Property: Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
Address: 133 Dimokratias, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Drossia Palms Hotel Studios 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drossia Palms, located in down town Malia Crete, is not just your regular three star hotel; In addition to a top-quality accommodation standard, Drossia Palms offers excellent guest services as well as a perfect, inviting home from home on your summer holidays in Malia Crete. The 31 upgraded rooms and studios of Drossia Palms are situated amidst a delightful garden where all facilities and common areas are centred: an extensive swimming pool with adjacent sun terrace and gorgeous palm tree garden, our snack bar that serves breakfast, meals and refreshments all day long and a relaxing lounge area with internet corner and free Wi-Fi internet access. Drossia Palms' excellent location close to Malia's entertainment district and steps away from Malia's central beach strip easily allows you to explore the interesting area of Malia by foot: Enjoy our delightful sandy beaches, visit the unique archaeological site and the cozy Old Town of Malia with its romantic taverns. And last but not least, dive into the awesome nightlife scene of Down Town Malia. We hope to welcome you soon at Drossia Palms for a wonderful holiday in Malia Crete! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drossia Palms Hotel Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drossia Palms Apartments Hotel Malia
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing