We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Real Palace
Nearby Hotels
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$175
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$109
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$43
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$177
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$83
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
113
55
18
16
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
55
18
16
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoilet rollbad reviewsvaried reviewsdrink rakiold townplane journeyself cateringminute walkset in beautiful gardensthe main striplate checkafter midnightgreek hotelshire quad bikesbasic greekpool bargyros
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 225 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2012

When me and my 11 friends turned up at real palace, Manos the owner informed us he had accidentaly over book the hotel, he said there was a nice enough hotel just around the corner where we would stay for our first 4 days before returning to real palace, on the wednesday. The hotel we were sent to, appeared to have not been open in around 4 years, and there was no reception, no pool bar, and the only staff we came in contact with was a women who appeared to want to fine us for every little thing we did, and a security guard. The hotel was basic at minumium and was more like a hostel than anything, with no air con, towels and sheets changed only once in 11 days. The night before we were due to return to Real Palace, we went down to their bar for a drink and dry and find out when we would be returning, only for Manos to say he would check if there was room, and never actually giving us a straight answer. Manos had also stopped answering the phone to our travel company so there was no way they could get in contact with him. In the end we had to stay in this hostel for our full 12 nights out there, and were joined by around 2 to 3 other groups who real palace had done the exact same thing to. Manos is quite haooy for you to go sit round his pool and spend money at his bare during the day though, however the genral idea was that no one would be giving him any more of our money. On our final day the cleaner (manos' cousin) informed us there would be 10 rooms being used for the next week, not bad for a hotel that Hasnt opened in 4 years.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
10  Thank huddersfieldtownfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I would never usually write a review but I feel I need to defend the owners of the hotel after a brilliant week here. As a group of 7 young girls we were pretty rowdy but never had a problem and the owners couldn't do enough for us, they were really friendly and gave us free shots every night. Everyone played loud music in their rooms before going out and no one was ever told off! We also didn't hear of anyone getting anything stolen, even when we left valuables lying around by accident they were always still there when the maid had been.

As for the security guard, yes he is a bit grumpy and doesn't speak English but as long as you're nice to him he's fine! We were also pretty glad to have him around as 2 of our group were followed home by a group of lads one night and he got rid of them straight away.

Basically if you respect the hotel and owners you will have a brilliant time, and if not you deserve everything you get!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eleanor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

After having time to think about my stay at the Real Palace last week I have decided to write a fair and accurate review with no exaggeration - this is it:
Firstly people need to understand that it is probably possible to stay at the Real Palace and have a pleasant time. After reading some negative reviews before our trip we, as a group of 10+ lads, were obviously a bit nervous and therefore genuinely made a conscious effort to show respect to Manos and Kostas. We consistently purchased their overpriced food and drink and payed for the air-con and safe, which we had already made plans not to use due to stories of the maids stealing from them. We were, however, initially surprised by the general cleanliness of the hotel as well as the friendly nature of the staff (but please do not drink the free 'shots' from Kostas if you want to spew your insides out on to the walk to the strip, which incidentally has been massively exaggerated on this website - we did not encounter any problems other than our friend being spat on by a quadbike passing by!! - MSG)
The air-con in my opinion is a joke, we already had enough trouble with it not working when they decided to cut our electricity completely - I do not understand how they can complain about us being out on balconies early in the morning when the rooms were simply unbearable to sleep in. To the person that claims we are lying, I can confirm that the security guard does in fact carry round a bat, I have photo evidence (attached), perhaps some people who stayed at the hotel encountered a different side but the majority of people we met were 17-21 who were all aware of this. Although we were aware of the issue with the security guard, we remained polite to him for the duration of our stay and this is the main reason for our sinister reviews, to throw 2 groups of lads out the day before changeover day without reason all seemed a little coincidental and almost ruined our holiday.
Here's the irony though, I actually had a better, carefree time on the last day of my holiday when we found another hotel, with patient and tolerant English-speaking owners - this is proof enough that the real palace is NOT WORTH THE RISK. Even if you're in the position we were in a few months ago and promising yourself its probably not as bad as it seems, trust me, if you're a group of lads/girls it is WORSE!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Matty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed here last week and was part of the group who were kicked out, admittedly we were loud however no louder than the other 9-10 groups of young people there but Malia is an 18-30's resort and therefore some levels of noise are expected and coming home late is expected. And in complete honesty the security guard does in fact carry a baton (rounders bat) he does not speak any English and therefore cannot understand any of the holiday makers. The hotel itself is a nice place and well kept with a nice pool and bar but is held back by its owners, if you are a couple or family then this hotel is not bad you just have to watch your belongings. However if you are young people then do not come here as the hotel managers are glad to take your money for the booking but then quick to kick you out and provide no reason. Kostas did not actually cause any problems but manos persistently told us he would phone the police on us for having music on in our room! pretty much the hotel is nice but it does not accomodate for young groups, and to the guy below I did infact try and talk to the owner like an adult and come to some resolution but all I was told was 'i dont speak english' even though he was fluent during the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank stevie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The security guard is a joke, he carries round a bat if your loud coming back in the early hours, he cut our electricity off when we were out on the balcony, but when my mate confronted him about it he turned it back on. If your getting rowdy at about 6 in the morning after a heavy nights drinking and want to be assaulted then stay here. The accommodation is extremely basic, pretty shocking really, Manos and Costa are helpful but we personally didn't have any problems with them, the maids and the groundsman (security guard) are about as useful as a banana skin. To be honest if your after basic accommodation and your not too rowdy here is a decent place to stay. Strip is about a 10 minute walk, shops and supermarket about 5 minutes. Made some friends at the hotel and had a good time despite the few problems we had. Buy aircon as well otherwise you'll average 4 hours sleep a night. As for Malia itself - it is insane, enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews