We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the strip”
Review of El Komi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Komi
Ranked #30 of 91 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Visited July 2012. This hotel couldn't get any closer to the lively strip! Which yes is the bonus for my holiday as this was number one priority. But the hotel owners hate noise .. So when you want a few pre drinks in your room with a bit of music was a bit of a fail. So we soon hit the pubs pretty quick .. Or when coming in at 5ish you kinda had to go straight to sleep or they'd be knocking on your door to shut you up! Yes this is good for the other people staying in this hotel but what do you expect on a girls holiday aged 18-19 and on the strip? Would maybe go back.. But this time not bed & breakfast because all breakfast were was toast with some different spreads. Owner lovely person though and helped us out ringing a friend in hospital! And also rearranged our rooms so they were next door to eachother. We were the only girls in that hotel tho! Pool is nice, small but very nice as its new.
P.s If you don't like male attention ladies don't go Malia!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 123 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here 14th-22nd august 2012. We arrived early in the morning and was greeted by the security guard. he was polite enough and said the receptionist would be there from 7am and he could only give us access to the room. The room we were given was a twin room and being a couple wasnt really practical. 1st thing in the morning I met Tina the manager/owner she was very friendly and so helpful, nothing was to much trouble for her. She moved us straight away to a room with a double bed. Here on out we had no problems, you do have to pay 50 euro for a safe for the week which is non refundable which is a bit steep and 50 euro for air con but we done without this as our room was quite breezy and we were hardly in it.

The hotel itself is small in comparisaon to others and is a small family run hotel. Breakfast is served until 10am and is continental (toast, ham, cheese etc) we never had it though we were never up early enough lol but there is a restaurant directly across the road that serves brekkie for 2.50 euro (full english) they are really friendly too.

The location is prefect right on the strip, well just off it really. its right next door to the Safari club but noise was never an issue. Make sure you stop off at the Castle and Moat bar as well and say hi to Alison and Lindsey the scottish sisters that work there (love those girls) we were their regulars, went there every night for pre drinks and a night cap on the way home lol.

The hotel has just been recently renovated, but please people this is a 2* rated hotel please do not expect the Ritz!!!!! but for what you pay and the location its brilliant, its clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms were cleaned every other day and towels changed etc. The rooms are basic yes and the shower is more a wet room, but you learn to live with it. They have a brand new pool which is lovely and is cleaned every night and morning and the beach is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel but its a nice walk.

At night a security guard patrols the hotel, ok he mainly sits in reception but there is a gate at the front which he ensures is always closed and if anyone comes in you have to go through him, but hes nice and will always conversate with you if you talk to him. I cant stress enough how nice Tina nd her husband are they were always giving us a local drink (shots) which are killers, they can get you really drunk lol. Tina and her family would sit on the front porch with us having chats and telling us their plans for the hotel and just general chit chat, if you were interested in talking to them they would alway give you the time of day and tell you all the local gossip lol.

in a nutshell thats it, if i ever returned to Malia i would defo stay at the El Komi again!! Malia itself is a party area with lots of clubs and bars to suit all tastes so have fun and stay safe!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 201, which had ok views of the pool and local landscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annicia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Me and friend stayed here while on a girls holiday this year and were more than disappointed.
After traveling for nearly 12 hours we arrived at half 5 in the morning. We were met by a security guard who spoke no English, he took our passports off us and ushered us to a room.
On entering the room, the bed wasn't made and the sheets dirty. We had to wait till 9'oclock to get to speak to somebody, when I explained about the room, she shrugged her shoulders at me and told me that the room had been cleaned and it wasn't her problem. We then only got our room cleaned twice while we were there!
We had to pay 50 euros for aircon, which I would recommend as the rooms were so hot.
We were told that when we came in from a night out to be respectful to other people and be quiet which I thought was fair, until I was rudely awoken at half 6 every morning by the hotel workers outside my room shouting.
We paid for bed and breakfast as we thought it would save us some money. We were wrong! We spent all but one morning eaten breakfast at cafe. I know the hotel is only basic but we were brought cold toast and slices if some form of meat. (which if I'm honest I wouldn't feed to my dog)
The only good thing about this hotel was that the strip was on the doorstep so saving a lot in taxi fares.
I would come back to Maria in a heartbeat as I had the most amazing time, I would just be very careful about where I stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I went with 3 other friends as a 'lads' holiday for 8 days. At first we were a bit worried about the 2 star rating expecting something rather crappy but we were pleasantly surprised.

The staff were friendly and very helpful. There is a bodyguard at the door at night so no randomers can get in the hotel. A bit annoying when you want to bring back 'friends' but befriend the guy and its not that hard. The rooms were basic but clean and the cleaner came round every 2 days replacing towels etc... Don't leave anything on the balcony though because the cleaner will clean that right up as well. Breakfast was nothing special. Slices of toast, juice and ham and cheese but no worries, there is a really cheap restuarant across the road from the hotel where you can get cheap English traditional breakfast until 4pm. The pool was lovely and the people really friendly.

Air conditioning is not included and costs around 50euros. You'll have to pay for damages as well if you break anything.

The location is perfect, just off the main strip. Noise wasn't a problem.

All in all the El Komi was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the strip side. It's fun to chill on the balcony wathcing life go by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed in El Komi for a weeks holiday and couldn't have asked for any more from the hotel. Located att the heart of the strip, El Komi couldn't be placed any better for us to have the full Malia experience! Rated as a 2 star hotel, it felt more like a 3. Very clean rooms, a great pool and wonderful hospitality, El Komi is a bargain for the prices you pay. The only downside was that you had to pay around 60 euros for air conditioning when it would have been nice if that was added in for free.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jackson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Had a weeks holiday in Malia staying in El Komi, the hotel was absolutely fantastic. It's practically brand new with everything working well. It's located practically on the strip so perfect for those of you going on a clubbing holiday with friends. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We left all our valuables on show in the room and nothing at all was taken. The security guard at night makes sure there's no trouble from the outside. Would definitely recommend to all holiday makers!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

this hotel is bang central in Malia, therefore it was perfect for us going for a boys holiday. The hotel itself if ideal for that you will be looking for if you are going for a lads/girls holiday. I must stress if you are going with partner/family this is not the hotel for you, but if you are going to be out every night this is perfect. Will definitely be back if ever in Malia, very cheap for that you get!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OurLiz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.3 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#19 of 91 in Malia
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malia Mare Hotel
Malia Mare Hotel
#27 of 91 in Malia
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Frixos Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Komi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Komi

Address: 46 Democracy Str, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Malia
Hotel Class:2 star — El Komi 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Komi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Komi Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing