We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday from start to finish.”
Review of Cretan Malia Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cretan Malia Park
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at this hotel. We were a party of 5 adults and one child. (6 months old)
First of all I feel I must start with the flight out from Manchester, the cabin crew were very friendly and made the flight quite enjoyable and the pilot gave regular update which was good now there is no in-flight entertainment.
On arrival at Heraklion airport we received our bags very promptly.
The transfers to the hotel are by taxi but as we were a large party the Thompson rep had arranged a mini bus so we could all travel together. This was very welcome as we had quite a large amount of luggage. (Thanks Mr Parry)
On arrival at the hotel we were made very welcome and given ice cold drinks. (We found the reception helpful at all time during out holiday)
As we were the only people who arrived at the hotel the check in was very swift. 3 of the party were allocated rooms in the main hotel block. (Which was fine) and the other 2 with the child were allocated in a ground floor room in the gardens.
The rooms are basic but during our stay were kept clean with clean towels, if needed, left every day. Beach towels can be changed daily if required.
The hotel grounds are a joy to see with every type of flower, shrub and cacti you can think of and are kept in an immaculate condition.
The pool areas are also kept very clean and there is no shortage of sun beds. The beach area is good with a life guard patrolling during the day. Whilst we were there the red flag was flying on the beach and to his credit he did his best to keep people out of the water (even so a small minority did ignore his instructions) so that meant he was stuck watching these people to make sure they were safe.
We booked the all inclusive option which is well worth the extra.
The food was good but did become repetitious over the 2 week, but on saying that there was quite a good choice at every sitting.
While we were there we had the lobster meal which was served in the Al a carte restaurant. Well worth a try.(It is at an extra cost)
The beach area is quite nice with a seating area on the beach, the service in this bar was very good and the barman very friendly and helpful.
The lobby bar again offered good service with the waiters priding themselves in remembering you order.
For the second week the couple with the baby were upgraded to a beach front bungalow which was a very nice gesture. The others were offered upgrades to pool view rooms.
Over all a good hotel that we would consider revisiting in the future.

Room Tip: Beach front bungalows are well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripper088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 404 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

I spent a dream holiday in July 2012 at this hotel with my whole family thanks to a family legacy there were 18 of us altogether my children their husbands wives and the grandchildren, what a good choice it was, it is great hotel the staff were very helpful and friendly our rooms were near to the beach which is a bonus when you have young children, the food was good with plenty of choices and enterainment in the evenings sometimes we all had a lovely memorable time and I hope that I will return sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I am at this hotel now, booked through Thompson's. Nice location. Very disappointed. We have a bungalow and a single room for our daughter. Both bathrooms are tacky broken floor tiles, stained toilet seats. Air conditioning is a very noisy fan over the doorway not enough to cool the rooms. Our double bed is two single beds put together so you end up in pain when you sleep in the middle. Did not tell us about the resident cats roaming around the restaurants and the dog chasing the cats around while you are trying to have your meal. Staff is friendly, pool area is clean, grounds well kept.Food is good if you are not a vegetarian, they seem to put pork in everything.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

As a widow an travelling alone my room was spacious had a double bed tea/coffee fridge free safe beach towels provided a lovely view it was clean staff excellent i would go back its about 20 min walk to malia plenty of places to go visit an you can walk on the beach either way didn't have to go far for drinks or snacks as there was a beach bar went allinclusive it was worth it knossos palace spingalonga an 4x4 trip into mountains brill bus outside hotel just ask at reception

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Don't let the fact that this hotel is close to Malia put you off as it is well away from the town in a quiet location. This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel and will definitely return! Food in Buffet restaurant has improved since our last visit 3 years ago; all the staff were as friendly and helpful as ever and are a real credit to the hotel. Love the beautiful gardens and the space, could always find a sunbed at any time during the day. Very peaceful, relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We almost decided against this hotel because of Malia's reputation but we are delighted that we eventually ignored that. In fact 'Old' Malia is delightful with several excellent tavernas! But do avoid the strip unless you are a party animal.
The hotel itself is very, very good and is a few kilometres down the coast from the town. Its gardens are beautiful and extensive. Its private beach is blue flag. There is an abundance of space to offer all guests privacy to sun bathe, and enough sun beds and mattresses.
The staff is excellent. The food is good. The rooms are comfortable. The all-inclusive option is good value. The daytime and evening entertainment is good.
This is a hotel for families and couples.

Room Tip: Be aware that the Thomson 'bungalows' are not necessarily ground floor. Choose the best room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The perfect thinghs are: sea, air, sun, staff. The staff is extremely kind - every questions were resolved fast and friendly. The animator's team is great! Our child, who always walks by herself, loved to spend time with Katrina.
Not critical but unpleasant: menu of restaurant.
Bad things are: bathroom had to be renovated 2 years ago (at least); the beach has a small peace of sand entrance to the SEA. But again n the sea was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Father_Aleks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
7.6 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 173 in Hersonissos
770 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Heights Resort
Royal Heights Resort
#6 of 91 in Malia
423 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kernos Beach Hotel
Kernos Beach Hotel
#14 of 91 in Malia
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 173 in Hersonissos
3,210 reviews
0.9 mi away
High Beach Hotel
High Beach Hotel
#7 of 91 in Malia
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carolina Mare
Carolina Mare
#13 of 91 in Malia
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cretan Malia Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cretan Malia Park

Address: Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malia
#8 Family Hotel in Malia
Price Range: $113 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cretan Malia Park 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cretan Malia Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cretan Malia Park Hotel Malia
Cretan Hotel Malia
Cretan Malia Park Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing