We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“avoid nikos” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nikos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nikos Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Malia B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“avoid nikos”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

this hotel is full of young people who make a lot of noise at midnight. Hotel's location is poor. There aren't any noise isolation in the rooms. It is hard to sleep at nights. Wifi is poor and only in hotel's lobby.

Pool area is the only good thing in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jereppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    8
    12
    6
    10
See reviews for
3
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Honestly me and my group of friends booked this hotel despite reading the reviews as it was 50% good/decent (probably written by hotel staff) and 50% bad (probably actual visitors).

Firstly the hotel manager a guy called Nikos, is the rudest most impolite host you will ever EVER come across.

He does not like young people AT ALL, he Swears at the guests.
The only positive is his daughters are very nice.


I would seriously think very hard before you choose to book here, as I hope your holiday is not as miserable as ours was.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnB52London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malia hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Being the organisor of our lads holiday, I made a very bold choice to pick this hotel over one on the strip. Easily the best decision I have made for a long time!
Nikos hotel is about 15 minutes from Heraklion airport.
A bareable 20 minute walk down to the strip mixed in with a few cheap taxi journeys as well costing around 2 euro pp.
The rooms were very basic but satisfactory for the nature of the holiday. The family who run the hotel were very attentive and extremely friendly.
The hotel was nicely situated in the fact that you are far enough not to hear the noise of the strip for a decent nights kip.
The pool is small but suitable, with the bar overlooking it and sunloungers surrounding. Always had room to chill there.
When i went there was a nice amount of guests, id say it was only about half full but it was perfect because the food waits were very short and there was a real chilled atmosphere there. They allow you to play your own mmusic on the speakers there with no complaints and there are also two decent snooker tables.
All the guests were in the 18-30 range so it was full of young people to socialise with.
Food and drink prices were very fair and of good quality. The range of food was sufficient for a 10 day stay.
Relied heavily on reviews for our hotel choice, but this hotel will certainly not disappoint!
10/10 from me

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MikeyHethers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton In Ashfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Me and my friend stayed here in the first week of June and couldn't rate the hotel highly enough, the staff were so helpful and friendly to us, our room and the pool area were both spotless. If you fancy getting drunk quick have a dogs b******s!

Room Tip: If you're fit and able get your suitcase up to the top floor (no lifts) then request a room up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaRad85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I travelled here with 4 other girls in mid-July, this hotel is prefect for clubbing holidays/hen-nights etc due to the great nightlife and daytime atmosphere! The owners are very friendly and relaxed with noise as there are no surrounding hotels, they played music by the pool everday. Also as Nikos isn't in the centre on Malia it means you will get sleep when you need it, but its still just a cheap taxi fare or 20 minuite walk into the town. The facilities are clean and there is a poolside bar/restaurant.

However be warned they will charge you alot for air-con and if you have booked" bed AND breakfast" there isnt a formal breakfast arranged, I can only assume they want you to buy it from the bar (little cheeky) but as we insited that we had paid for breakfast already they weren't hasstled to put us together a continental breakfast each morning, but we did have to specifically ask.

On the whole, it was worth the money and we met alot of friendly poeple at the hotel and had a great week! Would return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharine92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

5 lads stayed in mid July 2012. Arrived to a free shot and a warm welcome. The rooms were basic but ideal. They did however charge for aircon which was 40 euros and the rooms had no cooking facilities although this didn't matter as you could fill yourself up on a meal, pizza, burgers ect., from the hotel costing around 5 euros each. The bar, also where the food is served, is reasonably priced in general although the most popular drinks is one of the most expensive...the famous dog's bullocks for 5 euros.

The bar, hotel and pool are all fairly small and close together but this meant there was a chilled, friendly atmosphere allowing you to get to know others. Met up with a group of twenty or so lads also staying in the hotel and we walked to the strip with them most days. The walk is fairly long, around fifteen minutes into the town and another five to the strip straight down one road which is lit and has a pavement. Although this was hard due to the heat during the day, at night when drunk it seems like no time at all.

The strip will live up to your expectation. The standard deal is 5 euros each for x amount per person, the bar reps are very annoying and at times confrontational so the best thing is to completely ignore them if you don't want a drink at that point. The spirit measure isn't particularly generous so try to avoid shots as they are often mixed with juice, the same goes for fish bowls. I would recommend starting at a bar called heaven which can offer you a ridiculous amount of alcohol if in a big group, a drink called the "Gary Neville" is good. Once you're suitably drunk head to any of the big clubs, they're all pretty similar and free entry unless special events. They're all pretty packed so they're best for when you want to dance like a lunatic. The music was mainly pop/Hip-Hop. The strip towards the beach isn't lively and the beach itself is small and narrow although water nice. A lot of people congregate on the strip itself which has got a good vibe and feels safe. Like all similar destinations there were a lot more males than females.

We got in around five and slept till 12. Hotel does a 5 euro fry up which is decent . Chris, the barman loves to play Lil John etc. even when you've just woken up but a few hours by/in the pool and you start to feel better. You can plug in your own ipod to the speakers behind the bar, there's a pool table and PS3. We were too hung over/broke to do any water sports or anything during the day. Went into the town in early evening, where we occasionally ate out to buy spirits and mixers for pre drinks along with big bottles of water as taps not recommended by staff, water was dead cheap as you'd imagine. Vodka is not much cheaper than UK in the supermarkets or you could opt. for sambuka/raki which is cheaper but tends to make you forget the night! Fridge is small and only works, like the air con, when the key is in its holder.

Get to know the hotel staff as its run by a friendly Greek family who seem to love their jobs. They do a BBQ every week which is worth it with Greek dancing which is fun. One of the family named Yanis was helpful and even drove us to Chania airport (on the other side of Crete) as my mate booked the wrong airport!

Overall its the perfect hotel if you don't want to be on the strip and want a chilled, friendly atmosphere filled with 18-30's. Malia is a crazy place and you'll leave with so many memories and funny stories. Would highly recommend Nikos hotel and Malia!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JWebs_212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stedham WSx
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were staying in this hotel with 2 friends in September 2012.The good thing about this hotel is, that it is 20 minutes walk away from noisy Malia town.The swimming pool is a good size, clean and plenty of sunloungers .
The rooms are basic, there were old stains on the bedvalances, which had not been cleaned.The shower rooms had plumbing problems, even after we changed rooms. Similar problem.Breakfast was poor. Toast , jam, cheese, pink sort of ham(spam) and the choice of an egg or yoghurt...not both, coffee or tea ,and we were the only four guests.
We could get to the beach and nice clean sea within 10 - 15 minutes. . Local buses stop almost in front of the hotel, although the fare is quite pricey. Carhire is reasonable.The owners were friendly , but perhaps overwhelmed by the present economic state of Greece.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank stardancer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
2.8 mi away
Real Palace
Real Palace
#30 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
2.6 mi away
Malia Mare Hotel
Malia Mare Hotel
#32 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#11 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
2.8 mi away
Nikos Apartments
Nikos Apartments
#12 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikos Hotel

Property: Nikos Hotel
Address: Venizelou Eleftheriou, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Nikos Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nikos is a family run hotel situated in the most peaceful area of Malia. In a short distance of 1km(east) of the center of the lively Malia's downtown. The location of Hotel Nikos is an ideal base for you to get to know the beautiful island of Crete as it's located right in the middle of the island so you can make a trip to all the directions with ease. The area of Malia has beautiful sandy beaches that are a short distance (1km) from the complex. Hotel Nikos offers you a nice and warm accommodation while you are on your holidays in Crete, our hotel is situated just outside of the village in a quiet area that you can relax and enjoy your stay. Each of our rooms has view to the pool and the sea or to the native mountains. Also there are all the necessary facilities and servises to make the ideal environment for your holidays. Below is a quick list of the services and facilities that are your disposal while you are a guest at Nikos Hotel Services WIFI Internet In Room Radio Safe Box In Room Gadgets PS3 Area Internet Corner Room Cleaning 24/7 Reception Desk Sports Coverage Doctor in a call Facilities Pool Jacuzzi 24/7 Reception Parking Area BreakFast Area Internet / Gaming Area Fast Broadband Connection Air Condition Garden Area Big TV Screens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Nikos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikos Hotel Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing