We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Frixos Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #10 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Very nice hotel in the perfect place close to the strip but far enough to get away from the busy atmosphere as well! Really friendly staff and was welcomed by all as soon as we got there by Hollie (Rep) and the Bar staff! Reasonably priced in the hotel aswell for drinks and food! Only let down was we were Bed & Breakfast (toast cucumber tomato boiled egg) Apart from that everything was all good get what you pay for! Very clean hotel, never had a problem at this hotel. A little treck to the beach but really enjoyable hotel to stay in!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sdk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    49
    24
    11
    15
See reviews for
19
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Not long returned from Malia and missing it already. Basic rooms but clean enough and great location, close enough to the strip to walk but not so close to be kept up all night with loud music. If you are looking for a party holiday you should definitely book events with Hollie the rep .. she is fantastic and will make sure you have an amazing holiday, she treated us like a sister and really will go out her way to do anything you ask.

Little warning ... be careful with any dirt you get on towels, bed sheets etc as the hotel will charge you for this. We were charged 15 euros for a dirty towel.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend to others staying.

Room Tip: Do not book any excursions with VIP Malia, we booked with them for an event on the last night as 2we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Frixos was a very last minute decision for us but what a good decision it was! We stay from the 27th of May til the 10th of June and travelled here with Thomson from Gatwick and I'm not going to lie, 2 weeks is 2 long.

I expected the worst from reading some of the reviews, but not once did we or any others experience some of the things mentioned in previous reviews. Our rooms were cleaned every day without fail, changed towels every day if not every other day, and there was always an endless supply of loo roll lol


First impression were good. Nice clean rooms, thankfully the fridge had a tiny freezer where we could make ice, because boy, does it get hot in Malia. Even in May. So that was a plus. I was so thankful that we didn't have one of those awful greek showers aswell, it was actually pretty normal, shielded by glass so no wet room type things that other reviews were talking about. Beds weren't too bad, me and my partner both slept fine. Pool was nice, quite deep and still a good size. Liked it. Really clean aswell

Hollie our rep was lovely and really helped us if we had any problems and stuff, not pushy at all! A really down to earth cool girl. Joker really

The staff at frixos were nice even though we didn't get to know them too much as we kept ourself to ourself, but Stelios, Nikos, Gorgi boy and the old woman (who I think is Nikos' mum) were really nice. Even when at one point we dropped our bloody wallet somewhere in the hotel, Nikos found it and gave it back to us, all intact nothing missing!

We did get b&b but never bothered with it as we'd go out to eat and would normally wake up when it had all gone.

I'm sure there's things I've missed but I really cba to think any more lol

Pictures should do it justice.


Oh yeah btw, the first week wasn't too empty but nowhere like it'd be in July. I'd recommend come from the 3rd of June+ if you're coming for a lads/girls holiday.

AND! Family's are definitely welcome, there were loads of family's here with kids that were well looked after along with some older couples also.

Would recommend it here, defo coming back to Malia but would probably venture to another hotel as there are so many. But this is a safe option.


Ps. Strip is 5 mins away, along with a large supermarket and the best pub for food and wifi, GALAXY PUB!! - speaking of wifi, hotel has good wifi which can act up but overall it was decent. The beach is not far at all in my opinion, 20 min walk tops. Sounds long but because you're walking through the strip to get there, time goes fast as there's always something going on about.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The place was okay but it did the job. we werent there often but it did the job. the beds were nice and the rooms were kept tidy by the everyday room service whilst we were at the pool or strip. it was a chilled enviroment with relaxed staff. recommend for any lads holiday in the future for somewhere to keep you ticking over!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Hotel needed updating, it was very old fashioned with really cheap beds.
Lovely staff, Nicos at reception could not do enough for us,
Breakfast was very basic, bearing in mind we did not pay a great deal for the package holiday through Thompsons.The rep was fantastic. Holley was there all the time for us.
We expected a mini kitchen in the room, it was a bit disappointing when we didn't have one but we did have a fridge. The apartments had a mini kitchen. Photographs of the rooms with a kitchen are a bit deceiving when we looked at the hotel on the net (not a Thompsons brochure)

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea and also pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleyharries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Even though the apartments are fabulous they are fine if you're going for a lads/girl holiday!! I'd definitely recommend it... they play music around the pool and it's a good location cos it's not too far of a walk to the strip but far enough away that you wont be kept up by people screaming and shouting and music playing!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Myself and two other girls stayed in the Frixos hotel from the 20th till the 28th of Setember and we had the best time, Malia had calmed down at this point and wasnt as busy but was still busy enough and by the sounds of things July and August were two busy, we had the most fantastic time. There were only 4 other rooms full at this time due to the time we went so this may have been the reason are rooms were always cleaned, fresh towels everyday. We left are room in a mess everyday and everyday the cleaner tidied up our stuff.
Nikos the owner is such a nice man made us feel so welcome, was always there to help us if we needed anything and was always there to have a chat with us in the morning when we were feeling slightly delicate. We were aloud to choose are own music on the pool side bar and he pretty much let us away with everything we done, never moaned about us jumping in the pool in the early hours or having people back to the hotel from others hotels.

We got a really good deal with the reps to, all the hotels mixed together due to it being the quieter part of year but if im honest made it alot more fun, we paid €79.00 for 4 nights out (its alot more expensive mid season though ive heard) we had a fish bowl party a quiz night(sounds worse than what it was) water park and skint, they were all great fun and are rep Marg was around every morning and evening incase we had any problems.

I really dont have anything bad to say about this hotel i would definetely recommend and would return again but a week or two earlier!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.0 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.5 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Heights Resort
Royal Heights Resort
#5 of 90 in Malia
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malia Mare Hotel
Malia Mare Hotel
#29 of 90 in Malia
183 reviews
4.0 mi away
Castello Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frixos Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frixos Hotel & Apartments

Property: Frixos Hotel & Apartments
Address: Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Frixos Hotel & Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Frixos Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frixos Hotel And Apartments
Frixos Hotel & Apartments Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing