We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
96
57
12
4
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
57
12
4
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree transfernice small hotelbeach pool towelsold townbeach minutesminute walkrelaxing holidaylovely apartmentthe main beach roadrooms cleaned every dayviews of the mountainspool viewrestaurants and barscleaned dailysofiastalissunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 181 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2008

went here a few years ago and loved it. Was a big family thing and we all had seperate rooms etc. On leaving the airport we dropped off a few passengers to different hotels, but were praying they werent ours, turns out we had a surprise in store, on arrival we were impressed with the layout which was very spacious and clean, and were met in the lobby by George, the night barman, who is an absolute angel. Our rooms were very clean and had all the amenities we wanted, after all, we weren't there to cook but to enjoy ourselves.
Air conditioning was a tad expensive, but if ya dont want to pay dont, but believe me, you will swelter as it gets very warm in the evenings. We had a double bed and a single bed in our room but it was still fairly spacious. Bathroom was clean and tidy and you have a safe in your room you can hire quite cheaply, also to be recommended.Food and alcohol was available from the pool side bar , the food is delicious and the wait was never too long, tho you do pay a little more for english drinks, but the servings are so large it is worth the money.
The pool area itself was lovely, the pool was rarely overcrowded and it had a smaller safer pool for younger children, and a shower in one of the grecian columns to help you cool down or rinse the chlorine off.
The staff were helpful, friendly, and the maid service was excellant, though we also kept our rooms tidy anyway...who wants to be thought of as a slob !!!
Local attractions were very good, theres a few sites which arent too far, and you can hire quads, mopeds and cars quite reasonably.
those with small children should be made aware that the route back to the hotel was down a small lane which can be quite dark in the evenings and the local drivers pick and choose what side of the road they are going to drive on, and whether or not to have their lights on.Also there arent any real pavements , so again, keeping an eye out for your children running about is essential, especially when the evening sets in,
the location is down a small lane but literally 2 mins walk from the main beach road, the brochure does state it is in stalis, but its actually closer to Malia, this may be due to there being a Socrates 2 in Malia so it avoids confusion.
There are several trips that can be arranged locally, and they do tend to be fairly inexpensive. We went to Dias Island on a boat trip, and apart from a slight mishap with my daughter and sister getting stuck near the beach due to little stinging sea urchin type things , the day was extremely pleasant, and the day trip to the waterpark is highly recommended, was a very good day out for everyone.
Overall, this was a pleasant hotel, nice staff and fairly inexpensive. Would i go back? Yes, i think I probably would.

  • Stayed: August 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank morgannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

hotel was clean and rooms nice and tidy with a small balcony , table and 3 chairs , but no toaster which wasnt convenient , you have to supply you own toilet rolls , which wasnt mentioned to us by any of the staff. We had a problem with a hire company and wanted the hotel to call them on our behalf as we didnt speak greek ... but the language barrier seemed very difficult to bridge and we ended up having to sort it out ourselves .
apart from that it was a well kept hotel with nice gardens and would go again to socrates2.

Stalis was nice despite the idiots on scooters and quads about
would recomend gorgios for breakfast .. what a lovley friendly man he was ... made us feel very welcome
for a chinese jasmine gardens in stalis you cant beat ... always full and no one trying to get you in the place!!
for drinks all pretty much the same for prices and had a huge tv to watch if you wanted to.

for excursions the junglesafari 4x4 you cant beat ... had a really great trip and time well worth the money .. but stay away from thomsons greek night ... a true horror story and way over priced
as well.
creta hire in stalis great for quad and vehicle hire we got 2 days quad and 2 days car for 90 euros , .. so try and haggle ... but make sure you ask for excess waiver ,. it costs 5 eruos per day as well or you could end up with a huge unwanted bill to pay. we heard of one tourist having to pay 3000 euros after crashing his car.
watch out for the touts at malia beach wont take no for an answer and you have to be very firm with them .

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bootneck64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

The Socrates Apartments advertised as being in Stalis are not, they are in Malia. Why Thomson call it Stalis when the postal address is Malia, taxi drivers get annoyed when delivering fares to the wrong town and the staff all say it is Malia I cannot understand. Maybe they can charge more for Stalis than Malia. Is this an offence under the Trade Description Act or something?
This was our first trip to Crete and our first experience of self catering so we checked all we could about facilities etc provided. Generally equipment etc provided was sufficient and of good quality. Rooms are generally comfortable but we found the beds a bit hard. Only one toilet roll is provided (on arrival); from then on ou buy your own! This we have never met before.
Air conditioning is expensive at about £50 per week and we were disappointed that toasters were not provided and not available for hire. Everything is kept very clean and towels etc are changed frequently.
Pool and garden areas are very well kept and a delight. The snack bar and the staff running it during the day (9.00am to 6.00pm) are very good but from 6.00pm the night barman takes over and he has obviously been taught by someone to swear copiously in English and also told that this is the way the British speak to each other all the time. Despite regular requests to tone it down he persisted, which seemed to us a lack of respect for the guests. Needless to say he did not get our custom as much as he might have had.
Beware the dreaded quad bikes on the roads around Malia and Stalis. The area seems populated by mad young people who have as little care for other people's lives as they have for their own. To see three of these things in line abreast heading towards you on a narrow crowded street is truly terrifying.
We hired a car for a week and escaped the coastal strip into the mountains, we even made it to the south central coast for a day. Wonderful.
Restaurants - try old Malia. San Giorgios (Greek dancing etc Sunday night, must book), Totto Lotto. Beach road try Zorbas and Camelot (proper table napkins) and in Stalis the Creta Restaurant, All give free drinks etc at the end of the meal.
If you can get up to the village of Mochos on Wednesday night. It's a traditional village about 12 km up into the mountains which holds a Greek evening for tourists (but no tourist coaches). Booking in one of the four tavernas in the village square is essential.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jayteedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2008

These apartments are set back a little way from the main road along a well lit side road and are in easy walking distance of both Malia and Stalis. They are in a quiet part of the resort but there are a number of bars and restaurants within a few hundred metres. Rooms were very clean as were the pool and surrounds. There was an excellent pool bar which was open from about 9am selling all the regular meals and drinks and all the staff were very friendly.

BEACHES. Nice and sandy. 2 sunbeds + an umbrella for around 4 to 6 euros. Sea was warm but if it gets windy the sea can become quite rough, so obey the warning flags. While we were ther we saw 2 holidaymakers who had to be rescued by the excellent lifeguards. We mainly went to the beaches in Stalis and particulary liked to 'park' ourselves in front of the Bar Themis where the friendly and helpful Branco was in charge.

RESTAURANTS. Plenty to choose from in both Stalis and Malia, we didn't have a bad meal in the 2 weeks we were there. We particularly liked eating in Malia old town and can highly recommend the Kleftiko in 'San Georgio' . Also had nice meals in 'Petrino', 'Stablos & Elizabeth', 'Milos' and 'Taverna Odas'.
In Stalis, restaurants 'Creta', 'Sergiani' and 'Dianomes' were good also.

BARS. Loads!

We went on and enjoyed the trip to Spinnalonga Island which included some free time in Elounda and a beach barbeque.

We enjoyed our holiday in Crete and would recommend Stalis/Malia and the Socrates.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OutOfTheValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2008

We stayed at the Socrates in July 07 and was great!

As soon as we got off the coach, we were greeted by the barman george (who by the way is a total legend but will explain about him later!) and given our keys.

The hotel is small but very clean! We got to our room which was on the ground floor. The rooms are pretty small compared to the normal holiday studio room i have come across, but very clean and to be honest we only slept in there so it didnt really matter!! There was a fridge, microwave, hob, sink, cutlery, plates, pans etc so well equipt! 3 beds, with drawers and a wardrobe with a say that you pay like 25 euros to use, but well worth it. Aircon about 100 euros but would suggest you get it if you are going in th summer!! We also have a small terrace with chairs and a table which was very nice!

The pool area of the hotel was lovely,very clean with lots of sunbeds and never very busy!! The pool bar was lovely where they served food from 9 in the morn till half 9 at night and drinks most of the day and night!!! Try the tuna club sandwich....yummy!

At night, george the barman works there, serving drinks, hes prob the nicest guy ever!!! was forever having drinks with everyone and always giving me and my boyfriend free drinks! on the last night he even let us go behind the bar and help ourselves to whatever drinks we wanted for free haha legend! hes so sweet though and will give you tips on where to go aswell!

the hotel is situated down a lane along the stalis to malia beach road. some people say its nearer to malia but i recon its slap bang in the middle so perfect for whatever you want to so. we went mainly into stalis, which has some lovely restaurants, i reccomend sergios, the one just before the alexandra bar (expensive bum ammmaaazing!!) and there is one down by the beach but i cant remember its name. loadsa great bars but get down to the Beachcomber - live music every night (gota love peter and demitris, and nico and manos!!!!) Nic the barman waits on your tables so you always have drinks and you get free popcorn all night! woo!

Will add photos later.

In a nutshell, amazing!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauren1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews