We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, Excellent Location, Great Sevice,”
Review of Socrates Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Socrates Hotel
Ranked #21 of 91 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked the hotel and later on seen some negative reviews here on trip advisor regarding the room booking. We emailed the hotel got very quick response from Eva & George, and decided to go for it. We were very happy with our decision! Eva arranged airport transportation free of charge for all 4 of us, and for BOTH ways! The rooms are large, comfortable and modern with fully equipped kitchen. The hotel and rooms are very clean -- rooms are cleaned daily. The pool is very nice with a gorgeous view of the mountains, IMHO much nicer than that of near by hotels. The hotel is at a great location - just 2 minutes walk from the beach, 2 min walk to the main road (with public transportation, etc), 5-10 min walk from the busiest area of Malya (forgot the name of the street but full of restaurants, pubs, etc) -- yet very quiet. We never took a Taxi in the week we stayed there --- there was no need....
The hospitality of Eva, Elllison & George is exceptional! They were very patient, gave us numerous good tips and recommendations (what to do, where to eat, how to get to other parts of the island, etc), and nothing was too difficult for them.
Thank you Eva, Ellison and George for a wonderful stay - we will definitely come again!

Room Tip: Pick rooms with terrace facing the pool - the view is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hadara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 165 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

We are a family of 4, 2 adults & 2 children aged 13 & 6 who recently had an unpleasant experience with this hotel. We booked the Socrates as the location seemed ideal, the pool looked great and they also had 2 bedroomed apartments. I was slightly wary due to previous reviews by groups saying that the hotel had overbooked their rooms and moved them elsewhere, I (wrongly) thought that as a family we would get the 2 bedroomed apartment we had booked. Firstly despite emailing Eva direct to arrange for the hotel minibus to collect us from the airport (confirmation from Eva was swift) when we arrived at Heraklion a taxi was there to pick us up which cost us double the price we had agreed with Eva. When we arrived at the hotel we were told that there had been a change to our rooms as they had overbooked. This was despite me emailing the manager Eva prior to our arrival and she confirmed that a 2 bedroomed apartment was booked for us. On asking to look at the room we found it was very small and only really suitable for a couple. Eva then tried to tell us that it was a 2 bedroomed apartment with one bedroom also being the kitchen/dining area.The 1 main bedroom was ok but two of us were expected to share the small kitchen area where a camp beds had been put up with the dining table moved to the balcony to make room for it. Totally unacceptable for a two week holiday for a family of four, My son could even open the fridge whilst lying in bed!! The sound insulation is very poor as we could hear every word and footstep outside the room, there is also a constant noise (day and through the night) from quad bikes and motor bikes as the hotel is situated right on a cut through road from the main highway to the beach road. The only good thing about it is the pool and bar area, where the bar staff are lovely and food is fine. We were offered an alternative hotel the following day (much nearer the strip) which we had no choice other than to accept as the four of us could not have stayed here for the two weeks. I couldn't recommend this hotel to anyone other than couples & only then if you take ear plugs & don't mind the noise that'll make sleeping difficult & don't believe when they say they can transport you to/from the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JT1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We are a family of 3, and booked a 'two bedroom superior apartment' via lowcostholidays.com several months in advance. When we arrived we were told by the receptionist that they had overbooked the rooms, and that we would need to move to a smaller room after 3 days. When we were shown to the room which had been allocated us, we found it to be a 1 bedroom apartment (not the 2 bed we had booked and paid for) with another bed placed within a small kitchen area. We complained to Eva, explaining that this was not what we had booked, particularly as they were wanting us to move to an even smaller room after a few days. Eva told us that this was the only type of room she allocated to customers who booked via lowcostholidays or bookings.com. We said this was not acceptable, so Eva said she would try to find us alternative accommodation in Malia the following day. After a sleepless night in a very hot and noisy apartment (air conditioning was not switched on and I had to unplug the fridge as it was so loud it was preventing my son from sleeping. There was also a lot of noise from quad bikes on the road outside) we were told by Eva that she had found us alternative (larger) accommodation, which we accepted. Georges transferred us to the new accommodation in the Socrates' own mini bus, and told us that they would transfer us back to the airport for our return flight free of charge, due to the problems they had caused us. When I tried to make arrangements for the return transfer we were told we would need to get a taxi instead. The only good point about the Socrates is the nice pool/bar area. I would not stay here again. Beware anyone thinking of booking a two bedroom superior apartment via lowcostholidays or bookings.com, as you will actually be allocated a small 1 bedroom apartment with another bed within the kitchen area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amber0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice now and will definitely be returning back here, a very friendly family run hotel who make you feel welcome at all times of the day, wether it's morning,noon or night. Situated very close too all activities and amenities available in Malia. Couldn't of asked for more.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickya22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Me and my family have stayed at Scorates many many times, we really love it...10minute walk from the centre of Malia, lovely rooms, lovely pool, great pool bar and very friendly and helpful staff!Perfect for a relaxing holiday for couples or families! Very highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SIredale2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times, The location suits us fine ( 10 mins walk to main strip.) Hotel is set in lovely surroundings with nice pool and friendly pool bar. 5 mins walk to beach. The family who own this hotel are lovely and nothing is too much trouble to them. This hotel is ideal for relaxing holiday with family and friends..... Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were a group of friends staying there for 1 week.
The owners of the hotel Eva and Georges are very friendly and helpful, they helped us manage our program and the picked up from and to the airport. The hotel is quiet, rooms are good, it is very clean. It is 5 min away from the beach, and close to malia's downtown.
I wish there was a breakfast buffet, it would have been perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.9 mi away
Notos Heights Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
0.2 mi away
LaPlaya Beach Hotel
LaPlaya Beach Hotel
#39 of 91 in Malia
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SunVillage Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Malia
Philoxenia Hotel Malia
#16 of 91 in Malia
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Socrates Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Socrates Hotel

Address: Beach Road Malia to Stalis, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Malia
Price Range: $57 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Socrates Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
✔ Free transfer from / to the port or the airport ✔ Free Wi-Fi Access ✔ Pool Area ✔ Snack Bar ✔ Luxurious Rooms ✔ Kid's Equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Socrates Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Socrates Hotel Malia, Crete
Socrates Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing