We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
101
58
12
4
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
58
12
4
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free transfer nice small hotel beach pool towels old town minute walk beach minutes hire cars relaxing holiday the main beach road lovely apartment rooms cleaned every day views of the mountains malia beach bottled water pool view restaurants and bars the air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 187 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was a member of a group of 8 girls. after being moved by another hotel to Socrates and reading several reviews online about group bookings being fobbed to other hotels, i was very skeptical as to whether this would happen to us. And sure enough, once arriving at 3 in the morning after a long flight, the stories of other group reviewers started to unfold. On arrival, the manager was amendment to find out whether we were the' British group' of girls supposed to be checking in. As stated by others, we were then told by the manager that the hotel was fully booked, although, when we returned to see the pool another day, the hotel was clearly empty and only contained foreign visitors. Instead we were moved to a hotel called Pyrgos, which happened to be closer to the strip and was right on the beach, yet was clearly not of the same value as Socrates and constantly moved members of our group into different rooms on several occasions. Being an easy group, we didn't let this spoil out holiday, however we were ripped of money wise, as well as being victims of prejudice. As a result i urge groups looking for a 'Party' holiday NOT TO BOOK HERE unless you are willing to pay extortionate prices in return for poor service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Francesca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I didn't stay here but instead used the pool and bar facilities. A meticulously laid out outdoor area with real attention to detail. The pool is set out in the garden so that it's totally open to the elements which means you can enjoy the pool whilst getting a great breeze at the same time. Often pools in this area have building very close to them so can a bit claustrophobic with no breeze.

Staff really friendly- real pleasure to visit and I hope to stay there on my next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

June 2013 we stayed at Socrates for 17 days and loved every minute of it.
The owners (Eva, George and their family) make you feel very welcome and at home. George was waiting for us at the airport and also made sure we where there in time for our return flight. And Eva creates a relaxed, easy going atmosphere while helping you with everything and running the hotel very efficiently behind the scenes. (Important detail: we've never been in apartments as clean as these.)
The hotel, garden and pool area are in real life exactly like the beautiful photo's you can see on the internet. At the poolside, the comfortable wide loungers, the relaxing music, good food and drinks, make you feel you're in in paradise. (Tip: start your day with a delicious 'super energy breakfast')

The location of Socrates is perfect. You can walk to the centre of Malia or Stalida but it is just far enough away to enjoy very quite days at the pool and undisturbed nights.
The best beach of Malia is just a few minutes walk away. (Tip: When you rent your beach loungers at Windmill, you can use their swimming pool, showers and toilets as well).

Ideal for a relaxing holiday on Crete!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoenZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Lovely 3 star style hotel, 10 mins walk from the bar strip so lovely & quiet, staff speak good English & are very helpfull & frendly. Only 5 mins walk from the beach.
Hotel has lovely pool & small restauraunt over looking that, room cleaned everyday & clean towels provided, as well as beach/pool towels..Rooms decent size & good size balcony, have a/c, fridge, kettle, & free wi-fi in room, bathrooms could be better.
I just turned up & got a room for 50 Euro a night ( room only)
I would say its a hotel for familes & couples.

Malia is a busy party town, & popular with the younger guys/gals who like to party in the busy bar strip.
Agios Nickolias & Elounda are much nicer resorts, but also lot quieter.

Room Tip: A pool view room is nice
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dickieg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was a very pleasant stay with everything needed at the doorstep. The hotel was clean, with lovely views and situated close to amenities, a short walk away to a buzzing center, yet quiet at nights. The room was cleaned every day and fresh towels were provided. This hotel has a nice pool with a fair depth. The staff were accommodating and friendly. A very nice stay overall.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jana380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews